Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Drunken Apples - Like Famous Dave's Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Drunken Apples - Like Famous Dave's

    Average Rating:

    11 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-11 of 11

    Sort by:

    • on November 29, 2009

      Just an FYI: Famous Dave's also uses butter and orange juice in their recipe. Plus they use amaretto, not rum. These were good the recipe way and the og/butter/amaretto way :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 18, 2011

      I really hate to rate this since I didn't follow the recipe very well. Here's what I did. I used about 6 apples off my tree into an oven save dish, added 1/3 cup sugar, 1 t. cinnamon and some ground nutmeg, then poured in rum, I think at least 1/4 cup. I mixed in 1/4 c water with 2 T cornstarch so it thickened, dotted with 4 T butter, loosely covered with foil and put it in the oven at 350 for about 50 min. I think this was pretty close to Famous Daves. It was a great base recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 06, 2011

      Yumm! We modified this a bit, as we only had 3 apples (and it made the perfect amount for 2 of us). We used 3 apples, a little less than 1/2 C sugar, a little less than 1/2 T cinnamon, 1/8 t nutmeg, and 1/2 oz run. I ate mine plain, and DH said it was amazing over vanilla ice cream. We'll be making this often.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 23, 2010

      These tasted awesome! After a certain amount of cinnamon however, these start getting pretty powdery and grainy...so for next time I'll definitely use less cinnamon. Otherwise, the taste was right on. Thanks. :)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 04, 2009

      3 stars because the recommended 4 tablespoons is WAY too much cinnamon for my taste, but I like the concept. I used 4 teaspoons of cinnamon instead of 4 tablespoons and it was perfect. I actually canned this recipe using 20lbs of apples, 3 T. cinnamon, 2 1/2 t. nutmeg, 8 C. sugar, 2.5 cups rum. Boil 20 minutes. Makes 7 quarts. Superb with pork chops!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 28, 2009

      I really like famous Dave's and thougtht I would give these a try. This was quick and easy and would taste great over ice-cream. Next time I will reduce the cinnamon...it was just a bit overpowering for my taste.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 31, 2009

      These were the perfect side dish to go with Slow Cooker Barbecued Ribs and Caribbean-Style Rice Pilaf. The cinnamon and nutmeg (I used freshly ground nutmeg) were just right in this recipe, and the hint of rum was a great addition. Made for ZWT5.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 10, 2007

      FANTASTIC! We loved these apples! I used the low end of the sugar amount and they were wonderfully spicy and just sweet enough. The rum adds a great touch - thanks for sharing!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 06, 2013

      I'm going to be honest and say I followed BMac's recipe from their review. It turned out fabulous!! I didn't use this recipe from Mommy diva cause I don't have 20 apples to use nor do I plan to make that much. BMacs recipe was perfect

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 03, 2013

      They were pretty similar tasting to famous dave's, but whether they were or not, they were fabulous!!! Made them tonight for my future mother-in-law's birthday dinner and everyone loved them and were super impressed!!! and it was super easy!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 27, 2012

      Made this last night. Cut down the recipe to 4 apples and used Captain Morgan's Spiced Rum. Did adjust the cinnamon accordingly and served with Vanilla Ice Cream. This was absolutely delicious. Think next time I will make the full batch and jar any that I don't use. Thanks for a great recipe Chelle.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Drunken Apples - Like Famous Dave's

    Serving Size: 1 (639 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 823.8
     
    Calories from Fat 12
    57%
    Total Fat 1.4 g
    2%
    Saturated Fat 0.3 g
    1%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 9.0 mg
    0%
    Total Carbohydrate 204.9 g
    68%
    Dietary Fiber 20.3 g
    81%
    Sugars 175.6 g
    702%
    Protein 2.1 g
    4%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites