12 Reviews

Just an FYI: Famous Dave's also uses butter and orange juice in their recipe. Plus they use amaretto, not rum. These were good the recipe way and the og/butter/amaretto way :)

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
akmae November 29, 2009

I really hate to rate this since I didn't follow the recipe very well. Here's what I did. I used about 6 apples off my tree into an oven save dish, added 1/3 cup sugar, 1 t. cinnamon and some ground nutmeg, then poured in rum, I think at least 1/4 cup. I mixed in 1/4 c water with 2 T cornstarch so it thickened, dotted with 4 T butter, loosely covered with foil and put it in the oven at 350 for about 50 min. I think this was pretty close to Famous Daves. It was a great base recipe.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BMac September 18, 2011

Yumm! We modified this a bit, as we only had 3 apples (and it made the perfect amount for 2 of us). We used 3 apples, a little less than 1/2 C sugar, a little less than 1/2 T cinnamon, 1/8 t nutmeg, and 1/2 oz run. I ate mine plain, and DH said it was amazing over vanilla ice cream. We'll be making this often.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kohtzy June 06, 2011

These tasted awesome! After a certain amount of cinnamon however, these start getting pretty powdery and grainy...so for next time I'll definitely use less cinnamon. Otherwise, the taste was right on. Thanks. :)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Renira May 23, 2010

3 stars because the recommended 4 tablespoons is WAY too much cinnamon for my taste, but I like the concept. I used 4 teaspoons of cinnamon instead of 4 tablespoons and it was perfect. I actually canned this recipe using 20lbs of apples, 3 T. cinnamon, 2 1/2 t. nutmeg, 8 C. sugar, 2.5 cups rum. Boil 20 minutes. Makes 7 quarts. Superb with pork chops!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lisaquast October 04, 2009

I really like famous Dave's and thougtht I would give these a try. This was quick and easy and would taste great over ice-cream. Next time I will reduce the cinnamon...it was just a bit overpowering for my taste.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cook4_6 August 28, 2009

FANTASTIC! We loved these apples! I used the low end of the sugar amount and they were wonderfully spicy and just sweet enough. The rum adds a great touch - thanks for sharing!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
loof December 10, 2007

I madebi this last Saturday and it was well worth the aching arthritic hands for an evening, we had apples for a week and they get better with time as well and a bit more rum.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Rebecca O. September 13, 2014

I'm going to be honest and say I followed BMac's recipe from their review. It turned out fabulous!! I didn't use this recipe from Mommy diva cause I don't have 20 apples to use nor do I plan to make that much. BMacs recipe was perfect

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Stephsupermom March 06, 2013
Drunken Apples - Like Famous Dave's