Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Drowned and Massaged Standing Prime Rib Roast Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Drowned and Massaged Standing Prime Rib Roast

    Average Rating:

    23 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 23

    Sort by:

    • on November 24, 2008

      I have used this recipe with many different types of beef roasts and it always turns out good. I have always used whatever wine we have open, so I can tell you it also works well with any wine that you like to drink. The toughest cuts of meat are completely tenderized by the drowning mixture within 24 hours. We use this so much that I have modified it for the crock pot for the days when I can't be at home to get it in the oven on time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 02, 2014

      Great flavor, thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 08, 2012

      One of the most FUN recipes I have come across in a long time!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 15, 2011

      This prime rib recipe is wonderful! We loved the flavors of the "bath" and the rub. I was a little disappointed that the meat wasn't as tender as I'd hoped (after 24 hours in the bath), but it might have been the quality of my meat...? idk? Regardless, the dh and I would definitely recommend this recipe if you're looking for high-end restaurant quality prime rib!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 21, 2009

      Easily doubled this recipe for a crowd at Christmas last year. My BIL said, as it was being sliced to reveal a perfect med-rare, "That's the best looking piece of meat I've ever seen." Doing it again this Christmas with a 12 pounder.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 27, 2009

      Not good. Followed the recipe exactly. The wine overpowered all other flavors, though the meat was very tender.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 15, 2009

      Loved it:) Nice and juicy, but the marinade and rub did not overpower the taste of the meat.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 06, 2009

      WOW! This is now our new Christmas dinner tradition. Delicious! I overcooked it slightly... went for the medium temp and it seems to have cooked a bit more as it "rested". Next time, and believe me, there WILL be a next time, I will go for the rare temp. I allowed my roast to "swim" over night and then gave it a good massage right before roasting (and YES, I did hear it moan slightly in pleasure!). Thanks for a fantastic recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 02, 2008

      My mom used this recipe. She totally overcooked the roast (it was a little beef brickette) but the flavours were so good! I'll have to try this one again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 28, 2008

    • on February 05, 2008

      awsome

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 04, 2008

      I made this for New Year's Eve, and even my very picky 10 year old loved it. I didn't have an especially dry red wine, so I used a semi-dry cabernet.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 31, 2007

      While our daughter and family were here I made this 6 lb. roast precisely as written. Our SIL loves prime rib and asked for the recipe. I added quartered potatoes, celery, carrots and onions around the roast with a sprinkling of salt, pepper, and Italian seasoning the last hour of cooking. The roast was done at medium rare before the vegetables were roasted so I simply pulled it, covered with aluminum foil and pumped the oven temperature up to 425F. With a green salad, good bottle of red wine and family together, it made for a perfect meal and evening. Thanks for posting Mille. We will have this again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 27, 2007

      This was amazing. Made it for Christmas dinner and everyone raved. Great flavor, not overpowering, just perfect. Thanks for the recipe!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 24, 2007

      My hubby made this. We thought it was really good, but he thought that if he cut a few slits in the meat and put some of the rub in the holes it would give it a little more flavor. It was still reallllllllly good though!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 03, 2007

      Excellent recipe. One of the best dishes I've made.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 02, 2007

      This was excellent! I "drowned" it for about 24 hours, then "massaged" it well at about 6a.m. on Sunday morning. I had a 7 pound rib roast, and we like it well done. I let it roast until 11:15, after church. My parents were very impressed! Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 11, 2007

      Made me feel like a 5 star cook! I used hot paprika (what I had)so regular pepper instead of cayenne. I thought it worked out great. Had a nice kick.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 28, 2006

      didn't have time to drown it for so long,but it was still delicous,can't imagine how good it would have been if i started the night before, which i will do the next time i make it for a special occassion

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 31, 2006

      This had wonderful flavor made Twice Baked Potatoes #25502 to go with it for hubby's birthday, he said he enjoyed it more than going out. Thanks Mille for another great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Drowned and Massaged Standing Prime Rib Roast

    Serving Size: 1 (102 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 63.7
     
    Calories from Fat 3
    50%
    Total Fat 0.3 g
    0%
    Saturated Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 47.1 mg
    1%
    Total Carbohydrate 7.2 g
    2%
    Dietary Fiber 1.3 g
    5%
    Sugars 2.1 g
    8%
    Protein 0.8 g
    1%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    rib roast

    lemon pepper

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites