Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Drop Sugar Cookies Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Drop Sugar Cookies

    Average Rating:

    73 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 73

    Sort by:

    • on October 19, 2009

      Very good cookies! I did think there was too much salt in them though, so I would reduce the salt down to 1/2 tsp. or maybe even a bit less. Also, I didn't use the Crisco, but all butter. YUMMY!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 24, 2009

      This is a great Recipe! I added a teaspoon of almond extract. Adding food coloring is a good touch to make them more festive. I used red for a batch and green for another.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 27, 2009

      Really tasty! However, mine did not come out like the others; they looked more like halved muffins and were more cake-like than flat, chewy, and crispy cookies. Regardless, we still enjoyed them with our tea :]

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 18, 2009

      completely wonderful. i love sugar cookies but loathe the business of rolling them out, etc., etc. these taste just as good, are chewy and perfectly delicious.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 09, 2008

      I was looking for a sugar cookie to use with Kisses. I rolled these into uniform balls, rolled in colored sugar, then pressed a Candy Cane Hershey's Kiss (white choc. with red stripes) in the center of each when they came out of the oven. Very pretty and just what I was looking for!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 17, 2014

      I want to give this recipe 5 stars but i changed a bunch. But I didn't change it because I wanted to, just because I was working with what I had. I had to change the sugar to brown sugar, threw in some random cinnamon, nutmeg and a little clove. Then i didn't have any measuring spoons or cups so i just kinda guessed (and i don't bake very often lol). then I also only had a bunch of butter so threw that in instead of the Crisco (with shoddy measurements again) So the reason I want to say this recipe is amazing because you just can't mess it up. It is perfect for someone like me who doesn't bake very much and just throws stuff together. It is the *perfect* base. Thanks so much!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 28, 2014

      Light buttery flavor. This recipe makes a good base for the creative cook who wants to add their own touch or the decorator desiring to add a little flair to the finished dessert. Using a #40 disher, this recipe yields 25 cookies that I baked for 15-16 minutes on parchment to reach that golden brown crispy goodness.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 18, 2012

      These are very good and very easy! I used all butter and added 1/2 cup of unpacked brown sugar (as I wasn't sure whether we were going to frost them). The cookies were still not overly sweet and my kids are loving them! These are crispy on the edge and chewy in the middle, just as I had hoped! Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 20, 2011

      This is just the recipe my grandmother used 50 years ago. She used lemon flavoring instead of vanilla.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 13, 2011

      They are good cookies, but i agree with everyone saying that they are not very sweet- they also look sort of muffin-y. I put crushed mint candy on top and it helped with their flavor a lot.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 09, 2011

      I love sugar cookies and have always wanted to make them, but most recipes call for rolling them out. I love the simplicity of these and the flavor was incredible. My 6 year old daughter and I just made them today and boy, was she excited. These turned out great. The only thing I might do differently is decrease the baking soda down to 1/4 teaspoon so that they won't turn out as puffy. Great cookies.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 01, 2011

      For me these always come out in a dome shape, but that is fine with me. They are sort of cakey, but not overly sweet. My favorite way to have them is with some strawberry frosting and colored sugar on top. Makes a wonderful combination! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 16, 2010

      Were really easy to make and came together quickly. Not really sweet tho...almost couldn't taste the sugar at all.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 23, 2010

      These are fantastical sugar cookies! They taste just like the butter cookies that come in the blue cannister, so glad I found them! Thanks kc!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 17, 2010

      This is an excellent sugar cookie and so easy to make. In fact, it reminds me of a pre-Civil War sugar cookie recipe, which isn't too sweet, that has been handed down for generations I rolled the dough into balls and mashed each ball once with a fork before baking. It took the cookies 14 minutes to bake in my oven. The salty taste of the cookies will mellow as they cool and the flavors mingle. Thanks so much for sharing this recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 21, 2009

      Easy to make and delicious to eat. Thanks

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 19, 2009

      The perfect sugar cookie for kids and Christmas. We made these, rolled in balls and then rolled in colored sugar. Little kids can do this easily and enjoy the participation. They are very yummy! I did add 1/4 of brown sugar but other than that did not alter the recipe. These have been placed in my keeper file! Thanks much!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 15, 2009

      Note to myself: i have to try these

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 29, 2009

      A good recipe. Just what I was looking for. I used 3/4 c. Crisco and 1/4 c. butter because I wanted to be sure they would stay soft/chewy. I also used 2 tsp. of vanilla for extra flavor. I chilled the dough and hour before dropping bits into colored sugar. Quick and easy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 14, 2009

      These were great! I halved the recipe for a half batch and used 1/4 cup margarine and 3-4 T. of Smart Balance Omega oil (olive, canola blend). My daughter and I had some leftover sprinkles that we put on top of them and put miniature chocolate chips on some of them to decorate. They were slightly crunchy, very chewy. Very good with a little cup of milk. Thank you for a wonderful (and easy) sugar cookie recipe! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Drop Sugar Cookies

    Serving Size: 1 (818 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 103.7
     
    Calories from Fat 50
    49%
    Total Fat 5.6 g
    8%
    Saturated Fat 2.5 g
    12%
    Cholesterol 12.0 mg
    4%
    Sodium 91.0 mg
    3%
    Total Carbohydrate 12.2 g
    4%
    Dietary Fiber 0.2 g
    0%
    Sugars 5.5 g
    22%
    Protein 1.1 g
    2%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites