73 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Very good cookies! I did think there was too much salt in them though, so I would reduce the salt down to 1/2 tsp. or maybe even a bit less. Also, I didn't use the Crisco, but all butter. YUMMY!

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sillyelmo October 19, 2009

This is a great Recipe! I added a teaspoon of almond extract. Adding food coloring is a good touch to make them more festive. I used red for a batch and green for another.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
brandylynnlewis December 24, 2009

Really tasty! However, mine did not come out like the others; they looked more like halved muffins and were more cake-like than flat, chewy, and crispy cookies. Regardless, we still enjoyed them with our tea :]

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Barbell Bunny December 27, 2009

completely wonderful. i love sugar cookies but loathe the business of rolling them out, etc., etc. these taste just as good, are chewy and perfectly delicious.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
freckledfoodgirl October 18, 2009

I was looking for a sugar cookie to use with Kisses. I rolled these into uniform balls, rolled in colored sugar, then pressed a Candy Cane Hershey's Kiss (white choc. with red stripes) in the center of each when they came out of the oven. Very pretty and just what I was looking for!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
2CsMom December 09, 2008

I want to give this recipe 5 stars but i changed a bunch. But I didn't change it because I wanted to, just because I was working with what I had. I had to change the sugar to brown sugar, threw in some random cinnamon, nutmeg and a little clove. Then i didn't have any measuring spoons or cups so i just kinda guessed (and i don't bake very often lol). then I also only had a bunch of butter so threw that in instead of the Crisco (with shoddy measurements again) So the reason I want to say this recipe is amazing because you just can't mess it up. It is perfect for someone like me who doesn't bake very much and just throws stuff together. It is the *perfect* base. Thanks so much!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
misslissalove1 July 17, 2014

Light buttery flavor. This recipe makes a good base for the creative cook who wants to add their own touch or the decorator desiring to add a little flair to the finished dessert. Using a #40 disher, this recipe yields 25 cookies that I baked for 15-16 minutes on parchment to reach that golden brown crispy goodness.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
B. E. Thompson May 28, 2014

These are very good and very easy! I used all butter and added 1/2 cup of unpacked brown sugar (as I wasn't sure whether we were going to frost them). The cookies were still not overly sweet and my kids are loving them! These are crispy on the edge and chewy in the middle, just as I had hoped! Thank you!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dwynnie October 18, 2012

This is just the recipe my grandmother used 50 years ago. She used lemon flavoring instead of vanilla.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
morgan_dl_12607592 December 20, 2011

They are good cookies, but i agree with everyone saying that they are not very sweet- they also look sort of muffin-y. I put crushed mint candy on top and it helped with their flavor a lot.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
corelila November 13, 2011
Drop Sugar Cookies