10 Reviews

Quick & easy recipe. :) I make these using melted coconut oil instead of vegetable oil. I have even made these with freshly ground soft white wheat berries & the cookies were still soft & moist. I like the fact that this doesn't make a huge batch - using a size 40 scoop, I get 2 dozen cookies of equal size. Thanks for sharing!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Goji Girl March 19, 2011

Although good, they were more cake like than cookie like.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mommasweets December 24, 2015

I always look for new reciepts. Keep looking.The dough was too stiff, the cookie was tasteless and I'llnot make them again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Aunt Hattie May 14, 2012

I just made these because I needed a recipe that didn't use solid fat. (was out. :-( ) The texture on these is fantastic! I found the temp and time perfect. I rolled mine in cinnamon sugar before baking. I did find the taste a little bit flat and was very glad I rolled them in something. I will definitely make again but will take the advise of another reviewer and add additional vanilla as well as replacing some of the oil with butter.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
dlsarmywife October 30, 2011

horrible recipe. Had to revise it as the dough was far too tough, and they were not sweet at all! Temp was WAY too high as the bottoms were burnt by the time they were not doughy

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Andrewsgirl81 October 06, 2009

This is a great recipe! I'd give these cookies 5 stars if you make these changes...add extra vanilla (I let the tablespoon over flow for a few seconds) and decrease the oil to 1/4 cup and add 2 T. softened butter (before adding the dry ingredients). Doing this give the cookies a little more flavor, but it's still subtle. Definitely worth trying!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
pumpkin9831 June 23, 2009

I'm not much of a sugar cookie person, more like a chocolate anything lover, but I was in the mood to make cookies and I had all the ingredients on hand for this recipe. On that note, I was pleasantly surprised at how soft and chewy they were, which I love, and not too sweet like some sugar cookies can be. I made the cookies a little larger, and added some cinnamon to the dough. Goes great with a good cup of coffee. Great simple, easy and quick recipe...Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
biomarcie February 05, 2008

I've made this twice now, the first time as written. I really like that I don't have to wait for butter to come to room temp. and the texture was nice, but the first batch was lacking in flavour. This time, I doubled the recipe but used about 1/2 cup oil and 3 tablespoons of soft butter, and added some "buttery sweet dough" flavouring I had. Much better - these will definitely be made again - this batch is for decorating with my neices for Hallowe'en and I think they will be great with and without frosting! Thank you!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
wax lion October 29, 2007

i originally reviewed this and gave it 3 stars, and wasn't too crazy about these cookies, but now i just ate one a day later and they've definitely grown on me! although they *are* chewy, and i wanted a soft fluffy cookie, they are very good. i would make them again if i was looking for a chewy, pancake-y sweetness type of cookie.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
s. anne May 30, 2007

I tried these today and they are very good. I followed the recipe as posted ~ I wasn't sure where to add the vanilla so I added it after the egg. I am giving 4 stars because I like my sugar cookies a little sweeter so if you are looking for a cookie that is not too sweet ~ this will fit the bill. Thank you for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lvs2Cook April 15, 2005
Drop Soft Sugar Cookies