Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    Holiday Central >

    Top Holiday Finger Foods

    Top Holiday Finger Foods

    Do You See What I See? #PartyBites
    28 Ultimate Holiday Desserts

    28 Ultimate Holiday Desserts

    You Saved Room For a Reason
    DIY Holiday Food Gifts

    DIY Holiday Food Gifts

    57 Homemade Gifts From The Kitchen
    You are in: Home / Recipes / Drop Doughnuts Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Drop Doughnuts

    Average Rating:

    36 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 36

    Sort by:

    • on December 16, 2010

      To those frying this recipe in 3 tablespoons of oil---The 3 tablespoons of oil is an ingredient. Make the recipe and fry in in a pan of oil.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 14, 2013

      These were delicious. Crispy on the outside and soft on the inside. I like the fact that I don't have to use yeast and wait to make the doughnuts. Great rolled in cinnamon sugar or plain! The best part is that my 3 year old daughter gave them a thumbs up and she can be picky! We'll definitely keep this recipe and my mom has already asked for it. Thank you for sharing.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 03, 2013

      I was making my traditional buttermilk doughnuts (Buttermilk Doughnuts Donuts) for guest when additional people showed up. I decided to also make some drop doughnuts to make sure there were plenty to go around. This recipe was very quick and easy and tasty. Everyone enjoyed them even though they preferred the raised doughnuts. One big plus, these definitely kept better and were just as good the next morning.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 23, 2014

      Ok, my daughter made this recipe twice. The first time, she followed the recipe exactly. They were bland so before she continued frying the entire batch of doughnuts, she added vanilla. They were very dense, but tasty. The second time she made this she added another egg, and whipped both egg whites until stiff peaks. She then folded this into the batter along with 1/2 c. less flour and 1 tsp. more of oil and some vanilla. This was a winning combination. It was awesome. They increased size x3 when they hit the oil. In general a good recipe that needed some tweaking. Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 06, 2014

      Came out great!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 24, 2013

      Delicious

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 25, 2012

    • on July 27, 2011

      Exactly what I expected! Easy and quick. I did add a little bit of van to my batch. My boys gobbled them up:)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 05, 2011

      These donuts were so soft inside! They were great! I need to perfect a glaze and they would be outstanding!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 11, 2011

      They were very good. I thought they would have problems since I am high altitude. They turned out great. My family really loved them. I used a icing sugar glaze that I made up as I went. sugar, milk and vanilla.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 01, 2011

      This was my first time making donuts and I was impressed! The flavor and sweetness were just perfect even without any sugar coating, though I added some vanilla to boost the taste. I used soybean oil and baking powder (I just double the amount called for baking soda), since that's all I could find (living in rural India currently). Also, I didn't have a thermometer, so had to test a few donuts before knowing that it was hot enough. A go-to recipe to satisfy future cravings of America!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 30, 2010

      This was pretty good. Added about 1/8 tsp. almond extract and liked the effect.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 04, 2010

      I never made doughnuts before and these are awesome! Soft interior and crisp exterior with just the right amount of sweet. I used a small sauce pan and about 3/4 cups of peanut oil for frying.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 31, 2010

      I added lemon zest and used a bit more oil than specified. Num.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 13, 2009

      Yummmmy! I added 1 tsp of vanilla, could even add more I think. These were fantastic! My husband was very happy, it was just what his taste buds wanted. I also had to work with the temp as I couldn't find my thermometer, but kept it right around medium and it worked great. I cooked in veg oil and shortening mixed and was very pleased with the results. Thank you so much for this simple and wonderful recipe!! I had to share, they are so good, so our neighbors are on their way over as I type, to enjoy some of these doughnuts.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 25, 2009

      Well, I made these and rolled them in powdered Sugar as we are not cinnasuger fans. My biggest issue was that the finish product (when plain) tasted like a pancake, don't get me wrong they were good just not expected. I did add some lemon extract and I was thrilled. I did drag my shorting out to fry in cause the 3T was just not enough not me, with the volume provided by the shorting they poofed into balls, with the 3T they were disks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 22, 2009

      I always made them triple batches,coz my kids want them everyday all thru the day! Today I made for a customer's daughter bday as a thank you,they looooved it including their guests! Thank U! Ur recipe make me look good ;)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 20, 2009

      'Simply' amazing! Didn't know how hot 365 deg. F was on the stove, so I put it on at Med-High heat to get the oil at the right temperature, then lowered it to Med when I started to deep-fry them. Worked out great!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 23, 2008

      wonderful! They turned out light and fluffy in the center with a lightly crisp outside. I made a simple glaze and we had glazed doughnuts. They definitely won't make it through the day.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 26, 2008

      Light and fluffy! I added a teaspoon of vanilla extract and they were awesome. Better then pancakes every morning!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Drop Doughnuts

    Serving Size: 1 (16 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 36

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 47.8
     
    Calories from Fat 13
    28%
    Total Fat 1.5 g
    2%
    Saturated Fat 0.3 g
    1%
    Cholesterol 5.8 mg
    1%
    Sodium 67.1 mg
    2%
    Total Carbohydrate 7.4 g
    2%
    Dietary Fiber 0.1 g
    0%
    Sugars 1.8 g
    7%
    Protein 1.0 g
    2%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes