Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Drop Dead Delicious Stuffed Zucchini Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Drop Dead Delicious Stuffed Zucchini

    Average Rating:

    19 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-19 of 19

    Sort by:

    • on November 12, 2002

      I thought these were amazing! Delicious and impressive looking. I used ground beef and can't wait to try it with other meats as well. I used one small jar of chopped roasted peppers, drained,and thought it was the just right amount (about 1/2 cup). The flavors all blended very nicely. Be sure to add enough salt and pepper - I was pretty lighthanded with the seasonings and next time with be more generous, but that is no fault of the recipe. I will definitely make this one for guests if I know they are zucchini fans. Great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 24, 2004

      Absolutely wonderful!! This was so delicious...I made mine with ground beef mixed with ground pork, and used store-bought roasted peppers, and also, I used way more fresh garlic than called for, (about 1 heaping tablespoon!) and added about 2 Tbsp grated Parmesan cheese to the hamberger/pork mixture for an extra kick!...otherwise made as directed. I baked hem tented with foil for about 35 minutes, uncovered them and put under the broiler for a couple of minutes. These were to die for, thanks so much Canary Girl for sharing such a wonderful recipe, I will make this again!...kittencal:)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 27, 2003

      I had some left-over roasted red peppers and I wanted to use them with zucchini. I found this recipe and used it as a basis for a very delicious side dish! I replaced the green pepper with mushrooms and omitted the meat. Since I was in a bit of a hurry and the "stuffing" was still very hot, I thought the egg would scramble if I added it, so I left that out too. I kept the seasonings the same and they were delicious. Once I got the "hang" of getting the zucchini flesh out, while leaving the skin intact, things were great. I put the stuffing back into the zucchini boats and gave a liberal sprinkling of parmesan cheese. 15 minutes in the oven and then a couple more under the broiler and they were absolutely delicious. They looked wonderful too! Thank you, canarygirl, for a very versatile recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 28, 2014

      We thought this was delicious! I used ground beef, topped with shredded Parmesan and thought the flavors melded together perfectly. Although it is a bit more tedious than the recipes I usually make, I would recommend it. Do be sure to season with salt and pepper (I rec. at least 1/2 teaspoon salt added to the meat mixture).

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 21, 2014

      Unfortunately, my family and I found this recipe bland and tasteless. I even used fresh herbs from my garden and doubled the garlic to add extra flavour, to no avail. Sorry, but I don't see how I can rescue this one. Not a make again :-(

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 18, 2009

      I followed this recipe to a T. It turned out dry and kinda tasteless. I don't understand all the rave reviews. If I make it again I would put some broth in the bottom of the pan and cover it with foil to make it more tender. Maybe I didn't cook the zucchini enough in water but they were in the pot for way more than 15 minutes. It took me an hour to prepare...I had to refridgerate it for 2 hours before I baked it because I made it earlier in the day. Maybe that was the problem. I sprinkled it with parmesan cheese then covered with colby/jack.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 18, 2009

      This I made for my carnivorous housemates/in-laws. We had HUGE zucchini sitting around, fresh from our garden. I'm of the opinion that zucchini and squash must be hidden in foods in order to eat 'em, and since they're virtually oozing out our pores here, I am trying every recipe I can find... Anyways, I used the cuisinart for most of the chopping, save for the green pepper, remainder zucchini, and fresh herbs. I added fresh mushrooms and feta for extra volume and kick. I withheld the roasted peppers; I'm thinking the jarred peppers help with the oil content to carry the herbs and salt. They said it was good stuff, I wouldn't know since I'm a vegetarian. But, there's plenty for the next day, and lunches for work!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 01, 2009

      This was awesome! My husband loved it and he doesn't normally go for anything with zucchini!! I added a bit of water in the bottom of the glass pan to prevent burning and sticking. I used ground turkey breast and skipped the chopped zucchini in the filling since my husband says it 's "slimy" and added an egg, I also only did 1/2 the onion and a full green pepper, added fresh mushrooms, and a jalapeno with the seeds removed. Topped with pepper jack cheese (and shredded some into the filling as well)... So good!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 16, 2009

      Loved it. And I made it for my dad, who's rather fussy - and he liked it too. Very easy to make. I changed a couple of things only because I didn't have all the ingredients. So instead of putting in red or green pepper, I diced some raw carrots and one small tomato, and added them with the onions and orgegano. I added fresh parsley, fresh rosemary, a touch of cinamon and giner, and didn't add the egg. And topped it with mozarella cheese, then put some oregano on top. I didn't cook it in the oven, just browned it in the broiler, as I'd let the zucchini boil about 5 minutes more than required. It looked like the photo. Oh, and I don't think the photo mentions that you can put a bit of water in the glass pan before you place the zucchini in it. Anyway, THANKS for posting this recipe. It was grrreat.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 03, 2008

      I used the basics of this recipe and changed it to match my taste. I elimated the roasted red peppers (only because I forgot to buy them), I will probably try this with the RRP. I used italian sausage for the meat, and once all of the vegetable and meat were combined in the sauce pan, I added about 1/2 can of tomato sauce and combined the mixture. I used Munster cheese as the topping. They got rave reviews.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 16, 2008

      This was great! I swaped the meat for portobello mushrooms that I ground in a food processor. It made for a good vegetarian option!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 04, 2007

      This was really a tasty way to fix zucchini. I left out the green pepper and added 2 Tbls of tomato paste. I didn't have fresh thyme sprigs so I used dried. I was a little light-handed with the seasonings so next time I will add more thyme and oregano.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 27, 2007

      Very good and fairly easy to make. I had trouble scooping out the guts... maybe I was a little too impatient to wait for them to cool! Next time I'll leave out the green pepper (not a favorite.)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 22, 2007

      great for the family,easy,and most satisfying.Tastes even better with shredded carrots,extra Thyme + oregano,and extra garlic and onions. from th 10 year old chef,Chef#518237

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 06, 2007

    • on June 02, 2005

      This is one of those recipes that DH looked at me sideways over(He is not a fan of zucchini)but all in all it was very easy to prepare and had nice flavor. Even got DH to eat his veggies with not a leftover in sight. Thank you for sharing the recipe Canarygirl.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 16, 2004

      Well I tried your stuffed zuchinni and am still alive and kickin'! We all ate it up fine which deserves at least a four stars when there is no complaints. I didn't have roasted red pepper. I used a mixture of green yellow and red bell peppers and sauteed them with the onions. Thanks for sharing!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 19, 2004

      I was wondering what to do with a huge zucchini my mom-in-law gave me, so big it didn't fit into our largest pot. I was forced to clip the end off and didn't use the scooped out part because the seeds were too large. I used a can of home-grown tomatoes (drained) instead of roasted red peppers, added some grated parmesan/romano to the meat mix, topped with shredded parmesan and sliced provolone. I was surprised that it turned out great and is requested again soon. Kudos!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 25, 2004

      The easiest thing to use when scooping out the flesh is an oval shaped ice cream scoop. That is what we use at work to scoop out the middle of baked potatoes to reuse them for baked potato skins or twice baked potatoes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Drop Dead Delicious Stuffed Zucchini

    Serving Size: 1 (507 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 694.9
     
    Calories from Fat 443
    63%
    Total Fat 49.3 g
    75%
    Saturated Fat 23.9 g
    119%
    Cholesterol 177.0 mg
    59%
    Sodium 1868.1 mg
    77%
    Total Carbohydrate 21.3 g
    7%
    Dietary Fiber 3.3 g
    13%
    Sugars 6.4 g
    25%
    Protein 43.0 g
    86%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    thyme

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites