22 Reviews

I thought these were amazing! Delicious and impressive looking. I used ground beef and can't wait to try it with other meats as well. I used one small jar of chopped roasted peppers, drained,and thought it was the just right amount (about 1/2 cup). The flavors all blended very nicely. Be sure to add enough salt and pepper - I was pretty lighthanded with the seasonings and next time with be more generous, but that is no fault of the recipe. I will definitely make this one for guests if I know they are zucchini fans. Great recipe!

10 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
HeatherFeather November 12, 2002

Absolutely wonderful!! This was so delicious...I made mine with ground beef mixed with ground pork, and used store-bought roasted peppers, and also, I used way more fresh garlic than called for, (about 1 heaping tablespoon!) and added about 2 Tbsp grated Parmesan cheese to the hamberger/pork mixture for an extra kick!...otherwise made as directed. I baked hem tented with foil for about 35 minutes, uncovered them and put under the broiler for a couple of minutes. These were to die for, thanks so much Canary Girl for sharing such a wonderful recipe, I will make this again!...kittencal:)

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kittencal@recipezazz July 24, 2004

I had some left-over roasted red peppers and I wanted to use them with zucchini. I found this recipe and used it as a basis for a very delicious side dish! I replaced the green pepper with mushrooms and omitted the meat. Since I was in a bit of a hurry and the "stuffing" was still very hot, I thought the egg would scramble if I added it, so I left that out too. I kept the seasonings the same and they were delicious. Once I got the "hang" of getting the zucchini flesh out, while leaving the skin intact, things were great. I put the stuffing back into the zucchini boats and gave a liberal sprinkling of parmesan cheese. 15 minutes in the oven and then a couple more under the broiler and they were absolutely delicious. They looked wonderful too! Thank you, canarygirl, for a very versatile recipe!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Paja April 27, 2003

I'm a real stuffed zucchini fan and have been making it for years, ever since I first grew it in my garden. This recipe is a keeper and slightly different than mine. I don't pre cook my zuccini. For my stuffing I use cooked sausage and mushrooms along with my veggies of choice. I also save some of the seeds and mix them into the mixture with some grated cheese. Top with tomato sauce and bake.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Anonymous July 25, 2016

I made this with Ground Venison! It was Awesome!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
TTRON June 17, 2016

very nice recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Alf W. April 22, 2015

We thought this was delicious! I used ground beef, topped with shredded Parmesan and thought the flavors melded together perfectly. Although it is a bit more tedious than the recipes I usually make, I would recommend it. Do be sure to season with salt and pepper (I rec. at least 1/2 teaspoon salt added to the meat mixture).

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Delicious as it Looks August 28, 2014

Unfortunately, my family and I found this recipe bland and tasteless. I even used fresh herbs from my garden and doubled the garlic to add extra flavour, to no avail. Sorry, but I don't see how I can rescue this one. Not a make again :-(

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Northern Ontario Cook August 21, 2014

I followed this recipe to a T. It turned out dry and kinda tasteless. I don't understand all the rave reviews. If I make it again I would put some broth in the bottom of the pan and cover it with foil to make it more tender. Maybe I didn't cook the zucchini enough in water but they were in the pot for way more than 15 minutes. It took me an hour to prepare...I had to refridgerate it for 2 hours before I baked it because I made it earlier in the day. Maybe that was the problem. I sprinkled it with parmesan cheese then covered with colby/jack.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lisastock415 August 18, 2009

This I made for my carnivorous housemates/in-laws. We had HUGE zucchini sitting around, fresh from our garden. I'm of the opinion that zucchini and squash must be hidden in foods in order to eat 'em, and since they're virtually oozing out our pores here, I am trying every recipe I can find... Anyways, I used the cuisinart for most of the chopping, save for the green pepper, remainder zucchini, and fresh herbs. I added fresh mushrooms and feta for extra volume and kick. I withheld the roasted peppers; I'm thinking the jarred peppers help with the oil content to carry the herbs and salt. They said it was good stuff, I wouldn't know since I'm a vegetarian. But, there's plenty for the next day, and lunches for work!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Tetris Master! July 18, 2009
Drop Dead Delicious Stuffed Zucchini