Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Droog’s Diabetic Dog Food With Vitamin Therapy Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Droog’s Diabetic Dog Food With Vitamin Therapy

    Average Rating:

    9 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-9 of 9

    Sort by:

    • on May 22, 2010

      Thank you so much for posting. Have been making food for our dogs on and off for several years, but now that one is having health issues, my bet agreed that this would be healthier than canned food. I am going to adjust qtys/ratios of proteins, etc for our needs, but it has all the things that they eat and are good for them. Thanks so much for posting... ps. I hope people will learn to mind their own biz and not busy-body into things where they don't know or don't have all the information.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 18, 2009

      I've had a terrible time with my diabetic dog's appetite. I never had any problems with him before his diagnosis. I've tried every trick out there to get him to eat, including home cooking. It can be so frustrating. he's got recurrent infections and feels lousy because I can't keep his insulin levels up. I made this tonight for my buddy and he was head butting me for a taste as it was cooling on the countertop. He slurped it down and asked no demanded seconds. It's been a long time.... I left out the garlic, and subbed brown rice for all of the kashi and the barley. Fast and easy to make, cheaper then primo canned, and the "pour over" juices are to die for. I used different vitamins. Whatever. Most dogs are on one of 2 types of insulin - Vetsulin or NPH. Vetsulin users need lots of carbs to help them metabolize the insulin well, and NPH needs a very low carb diet to do the same thing. If you're using Vetsulin, look into the carb counts for the Kashi and the Barley and see if it works for you. I use NPH so I used the brown rice which is a better choice. I think the two posters (or one person coff coff) that felt they needed to take the author to task were way out of line. I'd love to take it up with them personally off site. First point being - truly neither one of them has ever known nor had a diabetic animal. And that's just for starters. Anyway, if you have a diabetic dog and the good old standby shaker cheese, fish chunks or tuna juice aren't working, try this. Hey if all they will eat are turkey dog bits and American Cheese (personal experience!!) then you're way ahead with this recipe! PS love the pic of Droog licking his lips... too funny!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 26, 2006

      Our dog loved this food and the recipe was a life saver! When he got home from the hospital he would not eat a thing. Finally this recipe helped him get regulated. He went from 18 units to 14. God speed Droog. You are missed!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 30, 2013

      Thank you so much for posting this recipe. I still cannot get my dog regulated and I know it is food. Figuring out what is skyrocketing his sugar is sometimes not easy. The bad ingredients they put in even "good" dog foods is amazing. Thank you again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 02, 2013

      Thank you very much for taking the time to post this recipe. It is a little time consuming to prepare, but I made a big batch and froze individual portions (in ziplock bags) that I can remove from the freezer as needed. I have a diabetic dog and a another dog that recently had part of his jaw removed due to a tumor. They both gobble up this food, and I feel confident that they are eating healthy. This seems to be an extremely well balanced diet for any dog. I used brown rice instead of Kashi since I am in Europe and don´t have Kashi readily available. I also added shredded oat fiber to the mix since I was told that a high fiber, low fat diet is especially good for diabetic dogs. I am going to recommend this recipe to all my friends who have fussy eaters. Great, great, great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 13, 2008

      As a dog/pet lover, I sympathize with your loss. I am not an expert on nutrition for diabetic dogs but I would like to comment for others considering using it that this recipe is way too high in protein, especially for an older dog. Too much protein is hard on many internal organs, particularly the kidneys. Upon carefully reading the "nutrition facts" on the left-hand side of the page, I see that the beef, liver and dog food are not included in the analysis and even without these, the protein level is over 22 g. To add to another poster's comments, garlic is on many professional's lists of doggie no-no's although I'm not 100% convinced a small, occasional amount is a concern. Other banned foods are anything containing caffeine, avocados; salt is best avoided as well as sugar. While not difficult to formulate, devising a balanced diet for an adult dog is a tricky time-consuming undertaking. One should avoid serving home cooked meals to puppies as they have unique dietary requirements best left to professionals. Factors to consider when formulating a diet for a healthy adult dog include: breed, sex, average exercise, type/length of coat, environment (i.e. indoor or outdoor dog), current weight and ideal weight (too many of our 4-legged friends are overweight). Dogs, by nature, are not 'picky' eaters; when they get hungry, they will eat. Us humans are guilty of applying 'human' food qualities/preferences to canine cuisine. Humans 'eat' with our eyes and taste buds; dogs 'eat' with their noses: if it smells good to them, they'll eat it. I am an advocate of homemade canine food but only if one takes the time to learn as much about doggy nutrition and how their anatomy functions.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 17, 2008

      Liver in very small amounts is good for your dog but 1-2 cups is far too much. Garlic is also not good for our furry friends. Although we all think of spoiling our dogs with lots of flavoring please keep in mind the crazy things that dogs eat every day. They do not need to be inticed to eat. Although the recipes on here sound good enough to eat ourselves our dogs do not digest or process these househole foods the same as we do. Common foods can be toxic to our lovely four legged friends. Onions, mushrooms, potato peels, macadamia nuts, grapes/raisins, chocolate, alcohol etc. Please do your homework.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 03, 2007

      I haven't tried this but wanted to applaud you all for your courage and devotion to your furry angels. My heart goes out to all my fellow animal lovers. May your hearts heal quickly and my you never forget the love and happiness our four legged furry angels bring into our lives. Blessings to all!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 25, 2006

      My dog loved this and I miss him very much. 11/2006

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Droog’s Diabetic Dog Food With Vitamin Therapy

    Serving Size: 1 (65 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 30

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 55.8
     
    Calories from Fat 13
    24%
    Total Fat 1.4 g
    2%
    Saturated Fat 0.4 g
    2%
    Cholesterol 24.6 mg
    8%
    Sodium 29.3 mg
    1%
    Total Carbohydrate 3.0 g
    1%
    Dietary Fiber 0.5 g
    2%
    Sugars 0.6 g
    2%
    Protein 7.3 g
    14%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    Kashi

    brewer's yeast

    dog food

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites