Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Drip Coffee Maker Cleaner Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Drip Coffee Maker Cleaner

    Average Rating:

    78 Total Reviews

    Showing 41-60 of 78

    Sort by:

    • on July 07, 2007

      Can't thank you enough for sharing this FANTASTIC recipe with us. We have a thermal coffee pot and after using your recipe the inside is once again all nice and shiny. Will use this from now on.....goodbye vinegar.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 04, 2007

      It really does work better than the vinegar method. The film inside the carafe just evaporated! No scrubbing required. Will try to do weekly, God Willing ! Thank you for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 25, 2007

      Outstanding! Like a previous reviewer remarked, I could not believe the"crud" that came out of my coffee maker. Thanks for an easy solution!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 22, 2007

      This worked wonders on my coffeemaker and did a far better job than the standard vinegar method. I could not believe the crud that came out of it. The water never looked so dark when I used vinegar in the past. I used a filter in the first go-round and it caught alot of sediment and then removed it for the rinsing steps. In order to avoid clogging, I made sure the baking soda was completely dissolved when I poured it into the water well. I also ran water through about three times just to make sure it was completely rinsed. I used 1 cup of Baking Soda and filled the entire pot with water.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 18, 2007

      liked this alot

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 16, 2007

      Can't believe how well this cleaned the whole system out! I always put off cleaning my coffee maker because I hated the vinegar smell....this worked perfectly for me! Had no clogs as some other reviewers stated. Ran 2 full pots of water afterwards but was planning to keep running pots through until it ran totally clear! Coffee tastes wonderful...I guess I I was drinking "dirty" coffee all this time! Thanks so much for the great tip!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 06, 2007

      I don't think our coffee pot ever had such a good cleaning and definitely the coffee tasted better.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 20, 2007

      Usually we clean the coffee pot by running a pot of vinegar through it, followed by another pot of fresh water. This worked just as well, and did not leave that strong vinegar smell! Thanks for a natural home cleaner that we can use over and over again for mere pennies.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 13, 2007

      Ewwww gross, my coffee pot was discusting. I ran this mixture through twice, the second batch was noticably lighter colored but still gross. I am going home to my mom's this weekend and am going with a box of baking soda, they drink a lot of coffee and I am sure they will need this. Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 12, 2007

      There were actually chunks of STUFF coming off the coffee pot. I am a clean freak, and was shopping around for a new coffee maker b/c I couldn't get this pot clean. This worked like a total charm, although, next time I may put in more water with the stated amount of baking soda just because it took about 4 clean cycles to run really clear. Still, this was OH SO wonderful. Just what was needed. Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 30, 2007

      I love it. It even gets most the spots off of my white cheap plastic machine. My husband appreciates the taste afterward also. Thanks

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 02, 2007

      I used this on DH's 5 year old Capresso that he thought needed replaced because the coffee wasn't as good anymore. I paid a $$$ for that machine and thought - no way are we buying a new one. Since he's the coffee drinker I've always made him tend to his machine which ofcourse he never did anything other than rinse the basket and caraffe with some water! I was a little leary about the machine plugging up so I used 2 cups of cold water and the baking soda and made sure to stir and really disolve it before putting it in the machine. I did this about 2 times until everthing came out clear and then ran 2 full pots of clear water through a cycle. DH couldn't belive how good his coffee tasted. So I've now started doing this to his machine once a month and 3 months later he's very happy with his coffee and we don't have to buy a new machine. I like that this doesn't get that horrible smell like it does when you use vinegar. Thanks for posting Hadice!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 17, 2006

      this worked great for my coffee maker however i put it only in the brew basket itself & let it sit in the about 10 minutes without the coffee pot in place & then poured a full coffee pot full of water to brew & it got out all the yucky out of the basket..( here is a tip..if you do put this through your coffee pot like the directions say & it becomes cloged, take the hose off the hose holder in the water holder only & not from the brew basket..fill halfway with water & turn it on too brew then off..do this several times.. this allows water to to go down the input hole & help the bakings soda to absorb water & will help realease the baking soda.. it will take awhile..be sure to put a small towel over the top of the coffee pot to keep water from spattering everywhere.. i learned this the hard way when it clogged my coffee pot when following the directions) then i ran a coffee pot half of hot water & & the 1/4 cup to making sure it was dissolved enough to run through again then followed thru with two full pots of clean water to rinse out...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 08, 2006

      I used this cleaning method yesterday. Until then I'd always used vinegar. The coffee does taste better afterward! I'll have to 1 - buy more baking soda and 2 - get a cookbook together for household hints and tips and put this in it! Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 17, 2006

      Ok. I followed the directions. Even followed Littlemomma's unclogging instructions. My coffee maker no longer works!! I am not giving this a rating, as I know that my maker was a few years old, and a cheap one, too. So there is a possibility that Murphy's law came into effect here.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 04, 2006

      I couldn't believe what I saw come out my coffee maker. I had never cleaned it out like that (2 years). I will definetly use and share this recipe, but I don't think I will be using it once a week. I had no clogging problems and I didn't even pay attention to how it disolved. Maybe will use this method once every 3 or 4 months. Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 03, 2006

      I, like others, only put the solution in the brew basket part. It cleaned my stainless steel coffee pot so well it looked almost new! My only advice is that after it's done running, pour out the majority of the hot water and scrub away any risidual grime. Thanks! This is really fantastic and cheap!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 02, 2006

      Sorry I forgot to review this. I did it last week. DH said there was a real difference. I'm going to Sams for a commercial size box of baking soda. Will do this weekly. Thanks. Gloria

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 24, 2006

      This worked really well to clean the coffe maker, but it does nothing to clean the lime from hard water. You still need to clean with vinegar from time to time to disolve the lime. But, as I said, for cleaning, this works great

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 24, 2006

      This smelled a lot better than using vinegar and water and was a ton cheaper than buying the coffee maker cleaner. I too ran two pots of water through after to make sure it was thoroughly rinsed. Thanks! UPDATED TO SAY: even my DH noticed how much better the coffee tasted this morning and commented on it!! I will use this often from now on!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Drip Coffee Maker Cleaner

    Serving Size: 1 (293 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 0.0
     
    Calories from Fat 0
    %
    Total Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Saturated Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 0.0 mg
    0%
    Total Carbohydrate 0.0 g
    0%
    Dietary Fiber 0.0 g
    0%
    Sugars 0.0 g
    0%
    Protein 0.0 g
    0%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes