80 Reviews

This works well, much better than just vinegar. Thanks for the post. For those with Hamilton BrewStations, this has a good chance of clogging your coffee maker. Make sure to mix the baking soda and water extra well! Also, if your Hamilton BrewStation does happen to get clogged, do what I did: 1) Dump out excess baking soda + water mixture. 2) Pour in 2 cups white vinegar. 3) Attach two large size Wendy's straws, end to end, to make one super long straw. Having big straws is critical! 4) Place straw in water reservoir of your BrewStation and aim for the place where the water is pulled into the water heater. 5) Blow down into this water inlet hole, occassionally sucking in the vinegar until it almost reaches your mouth, then blowing it back into the water inlet hole. 6) Repeat this until unclogged. I was worried, but the above method unclogged my BrewStation.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
A Painter November 21, 2008

Truthfully, this just made a mess in my coffeepot's water tank which I ran a gallon of fresh water through in order to clean it out. I finally had to spray it with my faucet sprayer. I won't try it again. 1/4 c soda does not dissolve well enough in 1 c of warm water.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
atlantakc February 08, 2012

This worked great! It cleaned out a lot of gunk I didn't know was in there. It was actually really gross looking but after 3 pots of clean water ran through the coffee maker it was coming out clean and clear; it even cleaned the pot. Will have to do this more often! Reviewed for I Recommend Tag.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
AZPARZYCH September 14, 2011

thanks for a quick and easy solution to a dirrrrrrty coffee pot!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef GreanEyes May 30, 2011

I give this 5 stars because the wife purchased a name brand cleaner and used it the other day so I thought well lets see how clean it really is, so I tried this and WOW!!! it was amazing the first full pot of water came out BLACK as if I brewed coffee but it was just tap water and then I ran a second pot of tap water through it and it came out BLACK my gosh the name brand cleaner did nothing so after the fourth pot of water it came out clear. I decided to repeat the cleaning process and man it made so much difference. Now it only take 5 minutes to make a full pot of coffee where as before it took almost 30 minutes Thanks for posting this cleaning method I will use it weekly from now on TWO THUMBS UP!!!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Half-Elf October 09, 2009

I guess it worked. My coffee pot must not have been very dirty. I made sure the water was pretty warm and that the baking soda was dissolved well. I ran vinegar thru after I did it just to be sure I got it all, since I know some people had issues. I will see how the coffee is in the am. It did not clean the pot itself, however.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chele D April 21, 2013

Wow! As others have already said, I didn't realize my coffee maker was that dirty. It took 4 pots of water to get a clean pot, but it really made a difference! Thanks so much Hadice for sharing this easy keeper. Made for Zaar Chef Alphabet Soup tag.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lazyme March 10, 2012

Works great!!! Cleaned my drip right up!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
fishguru January 15, 2012

Worked great for me, i didn't have vinegar available so i used this method and it cleaned out the pot too, with the stains that the dishwasher wouldn't remove, Thanks!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
shaunaosullivan November 06, 2011

I really wish I knew what I'd done wrong!! I whisked the mixture nicely but my machine got clogged & I'm still running water thru the machine to "undo" itself. I think I will stick to the vinegar method. although I may have done something wrong when I tried this, I don't have the time to devote as to "what" exactly went wrong! Am very glad it worked for others tho

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LUVMY2BOYS February 27, 2010
Drip Coffee Maker Cleaner