9 Reviews

I was looking for diabetic-friendly, low-carb treats and I've always liked macaroons. These are good; I've made them a couple times. I usually use xylitol instead of sugar and put craisins and pecans in them. Thanks for posting.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kelfling July 30, 2009

Great recipe! These are probably the simplest, quickest cookies I've ever made, and really tasty. I used dried cherries, and substituted chocolate chips for the nuts. I had to use my fingers a bit to form the cookies since there was more dried fruit/chocolate than coconut/egg mixture to hold it together. If I would suggest anything, it is maybe to add more coconut/eggs, but they turned out fine as is. I used parchment paper on the sheets, and the cookies came right off. Thanks for a great recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ames Shaps May 16, 2009

FANTASTIC :) These were a hit at my get-together. Everyone brought dessert items and I brought these... they scolded me for not bringing more. Thanks for the wonderful recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ugottalovecarmen March 15, 2009

Now this recipe does up A GREAT TASTING TREAT, & it was a joy to make! This time around I used dried apricots, mango & pineapple along with macadamia nuts, & should have doubled the recipe, 'cause they were gone in no time! Wish I could give you more than the 5 stars! [Tagged, made & reviewed in Zaar Stars Tag Game]

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sydney Mike October 19, 2008

Excellent cookies. I used a mixture of dried cranberries, mango, pineapple; and a combination of almonds and walnuts. This is a recipe for non-bakers (like me); it's almost foolproof. I liked the vanilla flavor instead of the usual almond extract. Wonderful recipe, thanks for posting.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kathy228 February 04, 2008

These were very good! Used a mixture of dried cherries & golden raisins, roasted-unsalted almonds, non-fat egg replacer, reduced the sugar to 1/4 C, increased the vanilla to 1.5 t, and added 1/2 t of almond extract to the mix. It didn't seem to 'bind' well, so I added an extra 1 T of flour to the mixture. Will be making these again with other dried fruits. These were awesome! :-]

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
oneprimalscream January 11, 2008

A mini-bakeathon and I needed an easy cookie that did not require chilling or a mixer. Had all the ingredients on hand and decided this recipe would complement the other treats on the tray. My particular batch included chopped dried ginger, cranberries and apricots along with macadamia nuts which gave the cookie a nice tropical flourish. Because mine were a wee be larger (about 1 1/2 tablespoons) they took about 18 minutes to cook, but well worth the wait. The cookies had a beautiful golden exterior with a characteristic soft and sweet inside. The addition of the fruits and nuts were just wonderful and made for a terrific variation on a classic. Thanks.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
justcallmetoni October 19, 2007

YUM! I made these using dried apricots, and dropped them by tablespoons instead of teaspoons, followed the recipe exactly only I used almond extract in place of vanilla, thank Kel!...Kitten:)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kittencal@recipezazz March 17, 2006

I liked these alot! I used 1/2 bing cherries, 1/2 cranberries, and it worked great. Thanks Kel Bel!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Carianne December 17, 2004
Dried Fruit and Coconut Macaroons