12 Reviews

I made this dish for our towns Christmas pot luck. I live in an old mining town and got great comments on it. To make it more as a dish than individual servings, I cut the squash up and just put the cramberries over it. I tripled the recipe with no problems.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jeromesherri December 24, 2005

Bergy, Bergy, what an interesting way to serve up two wonderful additions to a Designer Thanksgiving Dinner. I did use whole cranberries, and followed your recipe, increasing the cranberry quantity, however, to ensure there was plenty to enjoy with Evelyn's turkey... Each squash half was packed well with the cranberry mixture, and the result was a magnificent flavour. Two cooked squash served eight people comfortably. I did cook additional squash... just in case somebody wanted seconds... Thank you, Bergy for not keeping this recipe to yourself. The cranberries were sweetened with Splenda so I could enjoy as well.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
TOOLBELT DIVA October 12, 2005

I just haven't got around to rating this wonderful recipe....have made it twice and loved it both times. The first time I forgot the cinnamon and to be honest, I think I prefer it without. Either way it's a keeper!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mabers October 06, 2005

Really enjoyed this Bergy! I didn't really measure and I forgot the cinnamon, but still was very happy with the results. The squash was flavorful and was enjoyed by all :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Tish February 05, 2013

Delicious Autumn dish!! DH ate his up, including the cranberries! DD (toddler) doesn't like squash but she doesn't count here. I used sweet butter (unsalted), Craisins (sweetened dried cranberries) so I cut down the brown sugar but still used some for it's flavour, and I like sweetness on squash, I left out the cinnamon by choice and would do so again like another reviewer. I made both a large acorn squash and a small one and both were equally delicious. Do be careful not to burn the cranberries under the broiler, I did a little bit. I served this with Another Pilaf, plain 3 % yogurt Rocket (Arugula), Pear and Walnut Salad and fresh juice for a delicious Autumn meal. I would make this recipe again even as a snack!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
UmmBinat September 29, 2011

This was AWESOME!! I have delicata squash from the garden, so I used that. I spooned the cranberries into the squash cavities, then sprinkled on the brown DiabetiSweet and cinnamon, and dotted with butter (saved washing a small bowl). I used a covered Pyrex pan, so no need for foil. I'm adding this to my menu for Thanksgiving this year, but I think I will take Chef #86331's idea, and make it into a casserole. I only hope I still have delicatas by the time Thanksgiving rolls around- I can totally see myself making this every time I harvest squashes!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Pami225 August 15, 2010

Delicious! love the dried cranberries with the squash. I used a small butternut squash. We will be making it again, thanks for another keeper Bergy! Oct 21/08 back again, delicious for supper tonight, used becel instead of the butter and again small butternut squash, thanks again Bergy for a good one!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Derf October 21, 2008

This was really tasty. I didn't use the sugar as the craisins are so sweet by themselves. Next time will reduce the amount of butter to control the fat content.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
GSMontana December 30, 2007

I only had one squash, so I halved the recipe, and actually used raisins instead of cranberries. It worked really well! I think my squash was just small because it cooked a lot faster than I had estimated and the squash came out on the mushy side, which I didn't care for. My fault, of course! It was still delicious and I'm sure I'll make this again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
yamakarasu December 07, 2006

Mmmmm, Mmmmmm. Great recipe Bergy! I used patty pan squash and just chopped them up, added the rest of the ingredients and into the oven it went. Wonderful taste!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mrs. Duncan Mahogany September 10, 2006
Dried Cranberries and Squash