Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Dried Cherry Scones Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Dried Cherry Scones

    Average Rating:

    8 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-8 of 8

    Sort by:

    • on May 19, 2003

      I made your recipe yesterday afternoon and all I can say is that they turned out super-great. They very lightly browned on top and were so delicious, as I had the first one while it was still hot and naturally, with some butter. I also found that I had to add 2 teaspoons of water to the dough when I was kneading to hold the dough together. Otherwise, very tasty. Had one this morning (cold) and with butter, and my oh my, so good. Thank you for sharing this recipe with us. "Uncle Bill"

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 04, 2004

      These were very tasty scones. Straightforward instructions with excellent, flaky results. The warm cherries and pecan combo tastes so good. I needed the full 15 minutes cooking time in my oven.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 05, 2010

      GREAT recipe, one of the best scones I've made by far. I had one when they came out of the oven and I wasn't crazy about them because I thought the Brandy was over-powering, but after cooling overnight, WOW!! Delicious!! Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 08, 2007

      These tasted really good. I didn't have any brandy so I reconstituted the dried cherries in Grand Marnier. I made these for Easter breakfast but I wouldn't all the time...they are very fattening! Maybe I'll try to reduce the fat a little and see if they taste as good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 11, 2006

      this recipe was so great. It took me scarcely half an hour to make it and clean up!! I used chopped marashino cherries and soaked them in brandy for just ten minutes. I found this made the recipe a whole lot moister and I didn't have to add any water or anything to make the batter hold. Thanks again for a great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 01, 2006

      Oh my, these turned out so nicely! I doubled the recipe and followed the directions and, as others have mentioned, needed a little more liquid to hold the dough together. I served the scones to houseguests who ooooh-ed and aaahhhh-ed over them... and polished them off in no time! I love dried cherries and they were perfect in the delicious scones. Definitely a keeper! Next time I think I will nuke the cherries in the liquid to speed up the re-moisturization process a little more. Thanks for sharing this wonderful recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 30, 2005

      I made your recipe for Mother's Day, Keen 5, and it was just delicious! I used unsalted, dry-roasted almonds instead of pecans, and butter instead of shortening. Next time I make these I will add a dash of almond extract. I found that applying the half-and-half and sprinkle of sugar to the round of dough before cutting it into wedges made the process easier. I also found that a bench scraper worked really well for cutting the dough. Thank you for this classic of a recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 09, 2005

      Such a plain name for the best scones I ever had. Flaky and delicious, easy to make. I needed to add a tablespoon or two more of liquid, probably because my flour was a little dry. I make these at least once a week, have used different dried fruits and nuts. All super. Thanks to keen5 for the recipe. It's a keeper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Dried Cherry Scones

    Serving Size: 1 (73 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 373.8
     
    Calories from Fat 172
    46%
    Total Fat 19.1 g
    29%
    Saturated Fat 4.9 g
    24%
    Cholesterol 41.1 mg
    13%
    Sodium 297.5 mg
    12%
    Total Carbohydrate 41.4 g
    13%
    Dietary Fiber 1.5 g
    6%
    Sugars 8.0 g
    32%
    Protein 6.2 g
    12%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    dried cherries

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites