Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Dressed up Italian Green Beans Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Dressed up Italian Green Beans

    Average Rating:

    48 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 48

    Sort by:

    • on July 02, 2002

      This is a tantalizing inexpensive sidedish that works well for potluck suppers and for company dinners. A little roasted garlic "kicked it up" for my family.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 08, 2002

      Loved these beans - I cooked the beans in the AM got everything else ready and then just before dinner did steps 8, 9 and 10 - this recipe adds a new dimension to one o my favorite veggies Thanks yooper

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 01, 2003

      This is a fabulous way to cook green beans. I used Italian flat green beans that I got from the Farmer's Market. The mild flavor of the beans went very well with the other vegetables and Italian seasonings. Thanks for sharing this as my whole family enjoyed it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 21, 2002

      Wonderful beans! I didn't have any water chestnuts so I used slivered almonds - and I did use frozen beans - terrific!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 31, 2010

      I was looking for something different for green beans and I stumbled across this gem. I made one modification and added minced garlic. Thank you for posting this yooper.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 16, 2005

      Awesome! Who needs anything else to make a meal? I did steam the green beans over chicken broth rather than boil them in the water. Will make again and again. Thanks for sharing this recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 07, 2004

      Amazing vanishing green beans! I looked at my 2 1/2 y.o. daughter's plate just moments after serving her these and it looked like I never gave her any! I didn't have the water chestnuts and I forgot the cheese but these were just great! Hubby wasn't thrilled (he's REALLY picky when it comes to veggies)but he's going to have to live with the appearance of these on a more regular basis. Thanks for a great veggie dish!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 07, 2003

      Delicious! Loved the flavors blending (even more in the leftovers overnight) and the crunch of the waterchestnuts. Thank you for a great way to use our summer crop of green beans!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 06, 2003

      Wow, Yooper! I am still iffy-iffy when it comes to green beans. It takes a great recipe like this one to make me love them. I followed the ingredients/directions exactly, except I only had canned sliced mushrooms on hand, which I used. My mom loved them as well. In fact, she asked for this recipe and is interested in using it as a vegetable to accompany entrees; she is a caterer. This recipe is going to go a long way! Great recipe, thanks for posting!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 20, 2003

      flat italian green beans are my very favorite! I can never find them fresh, just the regular string beans. So, I halved the recipe (just 2 of us) using the servings guide on upper right of page and used canned beans. They were so good! Next time I go to "the big city" I will look for fresh italian beans. I will make this again for sure, and take it to the next family gathering also! Just added it too my cookbook too! I try to put only tried and family approved ones there. Thanks so much yooper!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 17, 2003

      This is a great recipe--I make these green beans frequently with our meals. The only change I make is a steam the green beans and then add them to the oil mixture and stir. Thank you!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 04, 2002

      This is the tastiest green bean dish I have ever made! Thanks for the recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 27, 2002

      Yooper, these green beans were AMAZING!!! Being the crazed veggie-lover that I am, I love to find new ways to make different veggies. This is my absolute FAVORITE way to make green beans that I have come across so far. Thank you so much for posting a recipe that I know I will be making over and over and over..well, you get the point...I love it!! Thanks! ~Manda

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 19, 2002

      We love fresh from the garden green beans. You gave us another way to enjoy them. Such a wonderful combination of spices and ingredients. Really jazzed them up. The water chestnuts gave a great crunch. The basil is star of this show. Thanks yooper.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 24, 2014

      I made these today for a family gathering and they turned out great! I first cooked the green beans in chicken broth and drained. I love mushrooms and I had a lot of green beans so I used two packages of sliced baby bellas. I also used more onion, added about a tablespoon of minced garlic, no water chestnuts, a little less oil and pretty much doubled the seasonings. I put fresh grated parmesan on the top and that added a lot of flavor. Will definitely make this again since it was very flavorful and really easy to put together. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 19, 2012

      Very good. I followed your recipe entirely except for the parm. cheese(DH doesn't like it), I served that at the table. I will make again, the spice went well with teh green beans. Thank you for sharing your recipe with us.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 23, 2011

      Great tastes! Made with fresh from the garden beans, skipped the chestnuts because I didn't have any, used baby portabellas.... delicious and nice presentation!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 15, 2010

      Very, very good!! I had to leave out the mushrooms but other than that, followed the recipe. Loved the italian seasoning and basil flavors. Will make again!! Made for Cookbook Tag Game 2010.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 24, 2010

    • on January 10, 2010

    « Previous 1 2 3

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Dressed up Italian Green Beans

    Serving Size: 1 (287 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 208.0
     
    Calories from Fat 123
    59%
    Total Fat 13.6 g
    21%
    Saturated Fat 2.4 g
    12%
    Cholesterol 3.6 mg
    1%
    Sodium 276.6 mg
    11%
    Total Carbohydrate 19.3 g
    6%
    Dietary Fiber 6.3 g
    25%
    Sugars 7.7 g
    30%
    Protein 5.8 g
    11%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    dried Italian seasoning

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes