10 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I'm a vegetarian so I used 180g of TVP which gave 1 lb worth of 'meat' [which is cheaper and low fat compared to real mince] and threw in a little olive oil with the onion so it wouldn't burn. Laurie's recipes are quite different to what I normally make but that just added to the challenge. And it passed the taste test and my toddler ate it too! Next time I make this I would probably add some mushrooms and some spices to the mince to suit my tastes as I am used to lots of spicey ethnic foods but it is a perfectly good recipe as is. Thanks Laurie!

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Missy Wombat January 25, 2003

I gave this five stars because I think the recipe would be awesome for the kids. I doctored up the recipe to make it more to our tastes. Instead of tomato sauce I used spicy red pepper spaghetti sauce. I added a couple tablespoons of italian seasoning, some salt, and crushed redpepper flakes. I also added spinach, mushrooms, zucchini and red and green bell peppers. I think it's awesome. I'm getting ready to take it to a party now.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kimmy_Dobro January 03, 2015

We loved this casserole. It was not too cheesy or creamy - just enough of everything. It had a great balance. I have 2 kids who just loved it! We will be making this again. Thanks for sharing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mumoftwo January 31, 2009

We really enjoyed this casserole. I made it with my leftover spaghetti sauce;it was so good.Added some cooked spinach on top of chesse layer and topped it off with some grated cheese.Thanks so much for posting.I will make this again for sure.Good enough to serve to company. Sage/Rita

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sage May 01, 2008

we enjoyed this very much, leftovers lasted two days and there are only three of us.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Grandma2boys February 06, 2007

Excellent creamy casserole. A nice change from regular spaghetti and easy to put together.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CountryMama October 12, 2006

No stars so I won't mess up your rating,but none of us liked this. We all like sauce on our noodles and more meat. I think that if I made this again,I would add some sauce to each noodle layer and then an extra layer of meat sauce over the cheese,then noodles with sauce,then meat sauce.We're all fat and this may have something to do with it. We just like ALOT of sauce and meat. I also added extra Italian seasoning to the meat which was really good. We all enjoyed that layer. I will try it again.Thanks for the idea.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mydesigirl July 28, 2006

This made a wonderful Friday night dinner. This will be going in my keeper file and into my daughters cookbook that I am making for her. I did make a few adjustments, added parmesean to the cheese mixture, some italian seasonings and mushrooms to the meat sauce also topped it with grated cheddar cheese. This is super yummy! One that I will make again. Thank you Laurie for posting. :)shirley(:

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
:)Shirl(: May 06, 2006

Easy to make at the end of the day. I left out the butter and used fat-free sour cream and cottage cheese to make it lighter in calories. A very nice creamy, cheesy taste, but not heavy.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kmdipaolo May 03, 2006

YUM!! This was very rich and satisfying to the whole bunch! I was amazed at how easy it was to prepare -- yet the addition of the cream cheese gave it such a subtle richness that it didn't even taste like a casserole! I did add a sprinkling of grated parmesan cheese to the top, and some dried oregano to the hamburger sauce, but it really didn't need it. It's a 5 star all the way with my own kids and a friend of the kids, so much so that I don't even have any leftovers for tomorrow's lunch...Wish I'd have tried this a lot sooner! Thanks for sharing this easy and comforting meal Laurie!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Stacky5 May 01, 2006
Dreamy Spaghetti Casserole