Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Dreamy Low-Fat Fettuccine Alfredo Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Dreamy Low-Fat Fettuccine Alfredo

    Average Rating:

    8 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-8 of 8

    Sort by:

    • on September 13, 2009

      This recipe rocks my world. I have tried several low fat fettucine recipes that all leave something to be desired. I made this using 1/2 cup 1% milk and 1/2 cup fat free half and half (trader joe's.) I didnt have garlic cloves at home so I used garlic powder. I upped the butter just a smidgen. It was really really good and I'll definitely be making this again and again. I served it over spinach fetuccine (fresh made) and it was better than any restuarant version (less guilt too!) Thanks so much!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 20, 2008

      Update Nov 08 - I make this recipe quite often now so have attached a photo. I double the sauce and add seafood because we love it so much. Mar 13/08 --What a fabulous recipe this is! I can't believe I am the first to rate it. Alfredo is one of my favourite dishes and to be able to eat it without guilt is wonderful. (I looked at a lot of other recipes on Zaar but the fat content of some recipes is shocking.) I used 1/2 C of 2% milk and 1/2 C of half and half cream as I did not have the "whole milk" on hand. I also used only 3/4 C of parmesan as that was all I had left. This totally rocks! All four of us give it 5* (or more if we could) Thx so much Chef V!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 21, 2013

      Thankyou so much for this recipe! I can't begin to tell you what a reduced guilt Alfredo means as a treat to us! :) I added slightly undercooked shrimp and cooked chicken breast to the sauce at the end. What a great baseline recipe, I won't be looking for another! Also try my fave variation, melt some blue cheese into the sauce as written, then add steamed asparagus cut in 1 inch pieces, and some cubed toupie ham for the last minute. Delish!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 07, 2013

      This recipe was fantastic and will go into the "keeper" file! My daughter asked for fettuccine alfredo for dinner and I cringed as the tried and true recipe in my files is loaded with bad stuff. I remembered saving this one to my list of things to try so I pulled it out and gave it a whirl. I didn't have any heavy cream or half and half on hand, so rather than running to the store I upped the butter/flour roux amounts just a bit and used all 2% milk. I also added a bit of parsley just because I like the color it adds. Great recipe, will use it again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 21, 2013

      I am not a fan of fettucine alfredo, its too rich, my family does though. This was the perfect compromise, we all loved it. I sauteed some broccoli, onions, asparagus , and peppers and added it as well as some cooked chicken. Fast easy delicious meal. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 19, 2011

      I made this last night for some friends. I made a few slight changes though and it was a HIT!
      I used a 1/2 cup of 2% milk and 1/2 cup of fat free half and half. I also added a bit of low fat cream cheese to thicken it up just a little since my rue wasn't really working. Cheating? Yes.

      The main thing was that it was delicious! We also baked chicken breast in some OJ, lemon juice and olive oils. Peppered it up and added a hint of salt.

      All in all it was a delicious meal that took 2 minutes to make (except of course baking the chicken) and cost less than $30 for four of us. Budget conscious AND healthy! Great combo! Will be making again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 28, 2011

    • on September 16, 2009

      My son is a picky eater and loves this - I add a bit more butter and flour to make the roue and add chicken. Going to add broccoli tonight!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Dreamy Low-Fat Fettuccine Alfredo

    Serving Size: 1 (155 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 361.1
     
    Calories from Fat 116
    32%
    Total Fat 12.9 g
    19%
    Saturated Fat 7.1 g
    35%
    Cholesterol 83.0 mg
    27%
    Sodium 425.6 mg
    17%
    Total Carbohydrate 41.5 g
    13%
    Dietary Fiber 0.1 g
    0%
    Sugars 2.5 g
    10%
    Protein 19.2 g
    38%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes