Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Dr. Pepper Cake Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Dr. Pepper Cake

    Average Rating:

    17 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-17 of 17

    Sort by:

    • on June 29, 2010

      Very good recipe! I made 24 cupcakes. Since I am the only chocolate lover in my family, I left the cocoa out to make them vanilla Dr. Pepper cakes. I put 1/2t. vanilla and a splash of Grenadine in the icing - delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 04, 2007

      I've been making this for years and love the uniqueness of it compared to coke/7-up cake. Believe it or not, the recipe I have also includes mini-marshmallows in the batter, just in case there wasn't enough sugar, lol. The frosting is very sweet and oftentimes I just sift powdered sugar over it or make half a recipe of the frosting, heat it and drizzle like a glaze to get a touch of extra flavor without the gooey sweetness. :o)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 19, 2010

      Made this cake yesterday and thought it was just okay. Would have given it maybe 3. But we tried it again today, and it tastes a lot better. Quite a lot better, in fact. The cake kind of solidified into a denser yet still moist cake. My hubby who absolutely detests Dr. Pepper and claims that he can taste it in the cake loved it. I guess this is one of those cakes that you just have to try for yourself. Didn't use all of the sugar called for in the frosting and I added a little vanilla. With a cooked frosting you just need to make sure you get it on the cake right away. The longer you wait the more difficult it is to spread. I liked the consistency of it after it set.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 14, 2011

      awesome recipe! fun to make with the kids & tastes great!
      Thanks for sharing

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 24, 2010

      WOW!!! Just made this tonight and it was amazing! I didn't have any cocoa powder so I ended up using hot cocoa mix and it turned out wonderfully! I also added some cinnamon and salt to the frosting cause it was too sweet for me at first. Definitely a keeper, will be making this again!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 24, 2007

      I made this cake into 24 cupcakes for a birthday party we were hosting. The cake was very rich, chocolatey and delicious. I found the frosting to be a bit sweet, but it was still very tasty. I couldn't really taste the Dr Pepper clearly, but the cake had a definite punch of spice to it, which I can only assume came from the Dr Pepper. These cure a chocolate fix, that's for sure! We'll be making these again. Thank you!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 30, 2005

      I used old fashioned pure cane sugar Dr. Pepper, available only in Texas. I also only used a half a box of powdered sugar in the frosting. Great cake. I prefer coconut but had a guest request this cake and boy did they love it. I chose pecans as the nut in the frosting.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 21, 2014

      The instructions weren't very clear, after following them to the letter our cake took at least 30 minutes more than the written baking time. Once the cake cooled it proceeded to fall apart as we tried to take it out of the pan. The frosting was very runny, even after adding a whole bag of powdered sugar and letting it sit. The cake tastes like a lovely chocolate cake, but the lack of Dr. Pepper was a let down. All in all I might make this recipe again if I am in need of a good chocolate cake, but I will definitely be searching for different Dr.Pepper cake recipes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 25, 2014

      I think it's really nice. It reminds me of a chocolate sheet cake I always make, but with a slightly different flavor. I'm most pleased to have alternatives to the plain chocolate cakes that I get sick of eating at birthday parties. I dropped about a cup of powdered sugar from the icing--I don't like it too sweet. Maybe next time I'll only drop 3/4 of a cup because I'd like the icing to be a little thicker, but don't worry about not having enough icing. This was plenty.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 28, 2014

      I made this cake last night, and I'd have to say that I wasn't very impressed.<br/>Now, mind you that I did not follow the step of heating the soda and the butter, this may be why the texture of my cake was off. I also decreased the cinnamon amount from 1.5 to 1. <br/>Without heating the butter and soda together, the cake was a little too airy and difficult to remove from the buttered sheet pan. Even on the surface, the bubbles from the carbonation are visible. I imagine that heating the soda takes away some of that carbonation.<br/><br/>However, it's the flavor that makes me give this recipe 3 stars. The flavor of this cake is more cinnamon and chocolate than anything. Even with the decreased cinnamon, the flavor very much over powered the rest of the flavors in the cake. I will eventually try this again with a few modifications, but wether or not it goes into the recipe box is still to be seen. I don't need another chocolate cake recipe, I wanted something with a big Dr. Pepper flavor, and this cake is NOT it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 05, 2013

      My brother posted a recipe for this on my facebook timeline and so I said to my son, "hey lets make that!" so we checked and I had all the ingredients on hand, and what you see in the picture is the results. My son is eating a piece in my ear here....the results are in: "Really, Really, Really Really good!" hehe. <br/><br/>A couple tips: The batter will be REALLY runny when you finally put it in the oven. Dont worry about it, it comes out fine. <br/><br/>The frosting is really thick, dont make it until you take the cake out of the oven so it will still be warm come time to frost your cake.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 22, 2013

      I love Dr Pepper and was excited to try this cake. It turned out well but I'm not crazy about the cinnamon. It is really moist and the frosting is tasty. If I try it again I think I will decrease if not leave out the cinnamon. Fun idea and recipe, thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 01, 2013

      OMG I love Dr. Pepper and I have been trying to find a Dr. Pepper recipe and nobody has had but then you have I thank you very much you have made my day!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!:)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 24, 2013

      this tastes like hot choclate instead of dr. pepper.i have made dr.pepper cake before and this cake doesn't even look like dr. pepper cake.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 13, 2008

      My son, who requested this cake for his birthday, loved it. It wasn't my favorite cake and I think that was the feeling of the majority. It wasn't terrible but it has an odd flavour. To be fair I don't like the taste of Dr. Pepper so shouldn't be surprised that it wasn't for me. On the positive side it was lovely and moist and rose nicely. Most important of all, my son loved it!! Thanks for sharing your recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 19, 2005

      I really couldn't taste the Dr. Pepper in the cake, but I could taste the cinnamon. It is a very good and moist cake. But my family just thought it was okay. Different tastes, thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 07, 2005

      I loved the flavor of the cake!!! It was soooooo good. The frosting was a little too sweet for me, so I think next time I will just make the cake and eat it as is. Thanks so much for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Dr. Pepper Cake

    Serving Size: 1 (2025 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 6425.6
     
    Calories from Fat 2221
    34%
    Total Fat 246.8 g
    379%
    Saturated Fat 149.9 g
    749%
    Cholesterol 986.9 mg
    328%
    Sodium 3584.7 mg
    149%
    Total Carbohydrate 1027.4 g
    342%
    Dietary Fiber 15.8 g
    63%
    Sugars 802.9 g
    3211%
    Protein 52.2 g
    104%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes