40 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

A friend of mine swears by fireball (cinnamon) whiskey to knock out a bad cold. It's powerful stuff but in my opinion took the typical hot toddy up a notch! Not sure it really cures a cold but it sure makes it a more enjoyable experience. ;)

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
stacie296 April 04, 2013

My mom used to make these when she was sick with a head cold or chest cold all the time. She swore by it and it was her family recipe as well. Great one for relief- a guarenteed way to sleep through the night.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Luv2cook4friends February 12, 2012

Just what the doctor ordered..I used Glenfiddich and was probably a little heavy handed on the whisky but being a good Scottish girl its how my Granda would expect me to have it. Cheers!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Evie* July 07, 2010

Yum - very tasty. Instead of a slice of lemon - try a chunk of crystalized ginger. Great anti-oxidant.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Stoicbro December 06, 2014

A friend introduced me to the "Hot Toddy" years ago when I got sick on my vacation, so naturally tonight I fell back on an old favorite...with your recipe! I am in foreign country right now and cold medicine seriously, does not exist here. People just "deal" with colds here! I am so glad for you, my friend! Thank you for thinking of others in posting this recipe, it is because of you tonight that I will get a good night's sleep tonight! And for that, I thank you :)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jemoiselle December 10, 2010

i didnt really care for this much. i added double the honey & it tasted less whiskey-ish. i think perhaps this is just my personal tastes.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
chef amelia bedelia March 19, 2010

Great ratio of ingredients. I didn't have any lemon in the house but I had limes; half a lime of juice worked well. I used Jameson for the whiskey and probably put in a little more than I should have ;) It has relieved my chest cold symptoms for tonight and will help me get some good rest. Thank you and rest in peace, Dr. Pat!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
erikjohnnn March 30, 2015

It relieved the sinus pressure in my head relatively fast, along with the chest congestion and runny nose. My nose is still stuffed up. DISCLAIMER: Be sure to blow on the Hot Toddy before consuming so you don't burn your tongue/mouth.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Anonymous March 10, 2015

I'm snowed in with no cold medicine and this recipe was an INSTANT relief for a sore throat and stuffy sinuses. I used two teaspoons of lemon juice (fresh squeezed) instead of one. Perfect!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bardma February 17, 2015

A sinus infection (or something) has quickly set in and zapped me. Came home from work and looked up this. Relief! Due to supplies on hand, I had to sub brandy for whiskey and orange for lemon, but this is making me feel better than I have all day.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Eleanor Nesbitt February 06, 2015
Dr. Pat's Hot Toddy Cold Remedy