112 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

My God Donna! do you realize what you have here? This is a basic recipe that can be taken into 100 directions! I followed your recipe exactly, used mild cheddar, they were okay, but the cheese I selected was too mild. Next time I'm using sharp cheddar. You could also throw in a little onion, dill, green peppers, etc. Or you could use swiss cheese instead of cheddar, maybe with chopped almonds. (just ideas) Make them a tad smaller and you have an excellent fast, easy appetiser. This recipe is a definite keeper and it's going in my recipe box immediately. BTW I made 30 appetiser sized puffs out of this recipe and only had to grease the pan once.

59 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Satisfied Kris January 14, 2003

These are fast and easy. A great snack or appetizer if you can stop eating before you are full. I followed the recipe except I added a few dashes of tabasco and a little garlic powder. A winner in my book...recipe book that is.

25 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
~SwoR~ January 16, 2003

The fact that other reviewers rated this so highly made me want to play with this right away. These are so easy to whip up and taste glorious. I made 2 batches; the first one as the recioe is written, and to the second one I added 1/4 c. each chopped black and pimento stuffed olives and a good dose of cayenne pepper. SO GOOD! It was like the cheese pastry olive balls without the work! The cheese of choice was a sharp Cheddar. Thanks Donna for the recipe. I will make this often!

22 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Michelle S. January 27, 2003

After I saw this recipe I just HAD to try it. Needless to say, they were excellent. I'm going to use suggestions from Kris and add other things the next time I make them...which will be soon. A good snack for in front of the tv, or jazzed up as appetizers. Thanx Missy!

16 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Babyoil January 15, 2003

These were absolutely wonderful Missy,thankyou for posting it,i`m going to make them again Sunday night to accompany "to die for pot roast" I mixed mozzarella,cheddar cheese & a sprinkle of dried onion flakes. Wonderful recipe & so very easy to make!!

11 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bubblegirl January 28, 2003

I made these Friday night. I followed the recipe exactly, but mine got a little too brown on the bottom. I also used mild cheddar, since that is all I had on hand. I think a stronger cheese would be much better. I'm not rating this, since I really didn't get to taste them the way they should be. I think I'll lower the temperature next time and try Swiss cheese.

7 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
keen5 April 14, 2003

These were wonderful, I added chopped anchovies and it was great!!! Can't wait to try more variations on a very good recipe.

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kitina February 22, 2003

These are so easy to put together! The first batch I made exactly as stated. The second time, I added an extra cup sharp cheddar, butter buds, Mrs. Dash, garlic & onion powder and a little italian seasoning and pepper. THOSE were a really big hit! Great snack for the guys, and so much fun to play with. Thanks, Missy!

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
yogi February 15, 2003

These are great, Missy. straight into My Cookbook. And the suggestions made by Kris and Michelle have got my brain going. I made the olive ones this morning, only a few left hidden in the fridge. Thank you for thise one.

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Nelly January 30, 2003
Downunder Cheese Puffs