Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Downunder Cheese Puffs Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Downunder Cheese Puffs

    Average Rating:

    110 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 110

    Sort by:

    • on January 14, 2003

      My God Donna! do you realize what you have here? This is a basic recipe that can be taken into 100 directions! I followed your recipe exactly, used mild cheddar, they were okay, but the cheese I selected was too mild. Next time I'm using sharp cheddar. You could also throw in a little onion, dill, green peppers, etc. Or you could use swiss cheese instead of cheddar, maybe with chopped almonds. (just ideas) Make them a tad smaller and you have an excellent fast, easy appetiser. This recipe is a definite keeper and it's going in my recipe box immediately. BTW I made 30 appetiser sized puffs out of this recipe and only had to grease the pan once.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 16, 2003

      These are fast and easy. A great snack or appetizer if you can stop eating before you are full. I followed the recipe except I added a few dashes of tabasco and a little garlic powder. A winner in my book...recipe book that is.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 27, 2003

      The fact that other reviewers rated this so highly made me want to play with this right away. These are so easy to whip up and taste glorious. I made 2 batches; the first one as the recioe is written, and to the second one I added 1/4 c. each chopped black and pimento stuffed olives and a good dose of cayenne pepper. SO GOOD! It was like the cheese pastry olive balls without the work! The cheese of choice was a sharp Cheddar. Thanks Donna for the recipe. I will make this often!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 15, 2003

      After I saw this recipe I just HAD to try it. Needless to say, they were excellent. I'm going to use suggestions from Kris and add other things the next time I make them...which will be soon. A good snack for in front of the tv, or jazzed up as appetizers. Thanx Missy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 28, 2003

      These were absolutely wonderful Missy,thankyou for posting it,i`m going to make them again Sunday night to accompany "to die for pot roast" I mixed mozzarella,cheddar cheese & a sprinkle of dried onion flakes. Wonderful recipe & so very easy to make!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 14, 2003

      I made these Friday night. I followed the recipe exactly, but mine got a little too brown on the bottom. I also used mild cheddar, since that is all I had on hand. I think a stronger cheese would be much better. I'm not rating this, since I really didn't get to taste them the way they should be. I think I'll lower the temperature next time and try Swiss cheese.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 22, 2003

      These were wonderful, I added chopped anchovies and it was great!!! Can't wait to try more variations on a very good recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 15, 2003

    • on January 30, 2003

      These are great, Missy. straight into My Cookbook. And the suggestions made by Kris and Michelle have got my brain going. I made the olive ones this morning, only a few left hidden in the fridge. Thank you for thise one.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 15, 2003

      These are so easy to put together! The first batch I made exactly as stated. The second time, I added an extra cup sharp cheddar, butter buds, Mrs. Dash, garlic & onion powder and a little italian seasoning and pepper. THOSE were a really big hit! Great snack for the guys, and so much fun to play with. Thanks, Missy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 18, 2003

      Quick and easy - open to many variations to suit your own tastes. I used tasty cheese and a couple of tablespoons of parmesean. The recipe makes a good sized batch. Would make an excellent appetizer/ snack with a warm dip. They were also good to mop up the juices of a casserole. Eat them while they are warm - they get a bit rubbery after a few hours once cooled.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 30, 2005

      Addendum 05/30/05: I made these for a Mother’s Day barbecue and used a mini-muffin pan. The recipe size is perfect for 24 mini-muffins. I baked them for 10 minutes as per the recipe. Original review (posted Feb 16, 2004): I chose these for a Sunday morning Daytona 500-watching get-together because they seem sort of brunch-y. Well, they disappeared so fast I wasn't sure I made them! My version included 1 cup sharp cheddar and 1 cup parmesan. I used buttermilk for the liquid. I have a bag of self-rising flour that is about to expire, so I used that and omitted the baking powder and salt. Thank you for a tasty, easy recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 14, 2010

      Yumbo, these are amazing! I added to the base mix, feta cheese, capsicum (red), diced olives & tiny pieces of bacon. They were absolutely delicious. So much that you can do with this and it is so quick and easy. Thanks so much for this amazing recipe. Cath

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 10, 2004

      These were SO quick to make! Based on the other reviews, I used sharp cheddar, and added in a couple shakes of garlic and onion powder. They are so cheesy and tasted great with our chicken dinner. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 28, 2011

      Super fast! It was a last minute addition to lasagna. Great with sharp cheddar some garlic powder and parsley flakes.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 05, 2011

      I love how easy this is. I serve these for breakfast when we have guests stay the night. It makes it seem like I got up extra early just for them. In reality I make these while I wait for the coffee to drip. To the people who say bland, get some strong cheese and don't fear the herbs! if its bland its your fault.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 24, 2010

      Made exactly as is, and they were wonderful! Definite keeper.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 07, 2004

      Quick & easy--what an excellent combination. I used very sharp cheddar & they were delicious.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 29, 2004

      These are great! I had dinner guests arrive shortly after I got home later than expected, and there wasn't an appy in sight. Remembering this recipe, I pulled it out, whipped up a batch, and had a hot tray of cheese puffs in about 20 minuts. There were none left! This time I used gruyere-manchengo combo, but can't wait to play around with variations. Thank you!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 10, 2004

      I served these with Missy Wombats "Papaya Chutney" #82534 and felt they went really nice together. I think chives would also go well in this recipe. Thanks for a quick and easy recipe that will go with alot of things.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4 5 6

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Downunder Cheese Puffs

    Serving Size: 1 (29 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 18

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 75.4
     
    Calories from Fat 32
    43%
    Total Fat 3.6 g
    5%
    Saturated Fat 2.1 g
    10%
    Cholesterol 19.3 mg
    6%
    Sodium 177.6 mg
    7%
    Total Carbohydrate 6.8 g
    2%
    Dietary Fiber 0.1 g
    0%
    Sugars 0.0 g
    0%
    Protein 3.7 g
    7%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites