15 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

i love this bread. i changed the sugar to 1/2 white and 1/2 brown and make this with 3/4 cooked, mashed carrots to 1/4 pumpkin and it came out great too. the kids liked it better with the carrots than they did with all pumpkin. either way, you can't go wrong. this is a recipe you can play with!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
thefishfamily September 12, 2011

I can't say how often I make this recipe- I'm shocked I had not rated it until now! I LOVE this, as do so many of my friends now! I make a few changes, but not many! I use a cup of applesauce and cut the sugar and oil by 1/2 cup each. I also increase the pumpkin by two cans (get those veggies in!) sometimes, and when I do I cut the oil to 1/3 cup and the water to 1/2 cup.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mama2Ciara March 17, 2010

This was my first attempt. Loved it. I did however use fresh (sugar) pumpkin that I had roasted the night before. Absolutely delicious!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Andrea M. October 16, 2014

My mom makes this recipe every Thanksgiving. It's so moist and indulgent that I often eat it after dinner for dessert with some freshly whipped cream. Yum.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Rebecca Fieldhouse October 31, 2013

This is a great pumpkin bread! So moist and the spices are just right. I made half of the recipe in mini loaf pans and got 4 small loaves. Great taste of autumn - thanks for sharing the recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
loof September 18, 2012

AMAZING! sweet, spicy, moist! milk chocolate chips in this are great!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
snickerdoodle98 October 17, 2011

I have been making this bread since 2005 when I found it on Allrecipes. It is by far the best pumpkin bread out there. I make it in 3 smaller loaf pans, I think their 7'' by something pans. They always turn out beautiful, perfectly spiced and delicious.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ChefWendyMG September 13, 2011

Thank you so much for posting on this site. I made this often last fall :) A definite keeper! :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chez Michelle June 07, 2009

I found this on Allrecipes originally and made it for a Halloween breakfast here at the office. It was a hit! It was super moist and the smell of baking pumpkin lingered in my apartment for days! I found a recipe for ginger cream frosting here on Zaar and added it to the bread after it cooled then sprinkled the frosting with cinnamon and it turned out to be a beautiful presentation! 10 stars!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ms.Kitten October 31, 2008

I too found this recipe on Allrecipies but wanted to rate it here so everyone would know how outstanding this recipe is. Made me feel like a kitty with catnip...wanted to take a bite then rub my face in it!!! My husband loves it too, this is the second day he has taken extra slices to work to share with coworkers. I made a few changes but nothing to affect the flavor...I used egg substitute, splenda blend and 1/2 applesauce 1/2 vegetable oil. Next time I will cut back a little on the splenda (it was really sweet) and try all applesauce and no oil. Figgure worst that could happen would be for it to fall...then I will spoon it in a dish, put a spoonfull of whipped cream on top and call it pumpkin pudding!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
vaflnc October 26, 2008
Downeast Maine Pumpkin Bread