Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Downeast Maine Pumpkin Bread Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Downeast Maine Pumpkin Bread

    Average Rating:

    14 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-14 of 14

    Sort by:

    • on September 12, 2011

      i love this bread. i changed the sugar to 1/2 white and 1/2 brown and make this with 3/4 cooked, mashed carrots to 1/4 pumpkin and it came out great too. the kids liked it better with the carrots than they did with all pumpkin. either way, you can't go wrong. this is a recipe you can play with!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 17, 2010

      I can't say how often I make this recipe- I'm shocked I had not rated it until now! I LOVE this, as do so many of my friends now! I make a few changes, but not many! I use a cup of applesauce and cut the sugar and oil by 1/2 cup each. I also increase the pumpkin by two cans (get those veggies in!) sometimes, and when I do I cut the oil to 1/3 cup and the water to 1/2 cup.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 31, 2013

      My mom makes this recipe every Thanksgiving. It's so moist and indulgent that I often eat it after dinner for dessert with some freshly whipped cream. Yum.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 18, 2012

      This is a great pumpkin bread! So moist and the spices are just right. I made half of the recipe in mini loaf pans and got 4 small loaves. Great taste of autumn - thanks for sharing the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 17, 2011

      AMAZING! sweet, spicy, moist! milk chocolate chips in this are great!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 13, 2011

      I have been making this bread since 2005 when I found it on Allrecipes. It is by far the best pumpkin bread out there. I make it in 3 smaller loaf pans, I think their 7'' by something pans. They always turn out beautiful, perfectly spiced and delicious.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 07, 2009

      Thank you so much for posting on this site. I made this often last fall :) A definite keeper! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 31, 2008

      I found this on Allrecipes originally and made it for a Halloween breakfast here at the office. It was a hit! It was super moist and the smell of baking pumpkin lingered in my apartment for days! I found a recipe for ginger cream frosting here on Zaar and added it to the bread after it cooled then sprinkled the frosting with cinnamon and it turned out to be a beautiful presentation! 10 stars!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 26, 2008

      I too found this recipe on Allrecipies but wanted to rate it here so everyone would know how outstanding this recipe is. Made me feel like a kitty with catnip...wanted to take a bite then rub my face in it!!! My husband loves it too, this is the second day he has taken extra slices to work to share with coworkers. I made a few changes but nothing to affect the flavor...I used egg substitute, splenda blend and 1/2 applesauce 1/2 vegetable oil. Next time I will cut back a little on the splenda (it was really sweet) and try all applesauce and no oil. Figgure worst that could happen would be for it to fall...then I will spoon it in a dish, put a spoonfull of whipped cream on top and call it pumpkin pudding!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 13, 2008

      I would give this 10 stars! I made this for Christmas, thought I had reviewed it...but turns out I reviewed the one posted on Allrecipes, since that is where I got the recipe from. But I have to say, this is a great bread. It gets better the second day. I prefer the plain one, without the chocolate chips. I made it both ways, and everyone that was here for Christmas voted on the original plain, with no chips. My son asked me about this bread yesterday, and that is why I finally thought to review it here on recipezaar. This is great!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 02, 2007

      I actually first found this recipe in a fundraising cookbook from our local highschool....it is the most delicious pumpkin bread I've ever tasted and has become a Fall staple in our home! My son even asked for it for his 5th birthday cake last November! I usually end up with two loaves of the bread and I wrap it in foil before it is completely cooled. It stays moist even longer!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 28, 2007

      This is a wonderfully moist, perfectly spiced pumpkin bread. Fresh out of the oven it is great, a few days later it is even better. It seems to get moister and better with age, if you can wait that long.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 13, 2007

      This recipe is from Allrecipes.com submitted by Laurie Bennett. Its one of the highest rated recipes (1068 ratings to date)on the site. The pumpkin bread is great, flavorful and super moist. I added 1 cup of semi-sweet chocolate chips and divided the batter into two 9X5 pans. Took me approx. 40 mins. Try it, its worth all the ratings.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 30, 2007

      This is, by far, the best pumpkin bread I have ever had - SUPER MOIST and PACKED with SPICY Goodness! I make it all of the time. Recipezaar is becoming my favorite online recipe source! Try the bread -- it's the best!!!!! Oh, and if you want to make/bake the BEST BANANA Bread ever -- try the VERY MOIST BANANA BREAD by Peppermintkitty -- it's equally delicious!! Sandee

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Downeast Maine Pumpkin Bread

    Serving Size: 1 (114 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 18

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 347.9
     
    Calories from Fat 121
    34%
    Total Fat 13.4 g
    20%
    Saturated Fat 2.0 g
    10%
    Cholesterol 41.3 mg
    13%
    Sodium 350.9 mg
    14%
    Total Carbohydrate 53.7 g
    17%
    Dietary Fiber 0.9 g
    3%
    Sugars 33.7 g
    134%
    Protein 4.1 g
    8%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites