Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Down to Earth Granola Weight Watchers Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Down to Earth Granola Weight Watchers

    Average Rating:

    21 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 21

    Sort by:

    • on September 21, 2008

      THIS IS NOT 4 POINT FOR A CUP! I calculated with with honey, oil, nuts, Splenda 1/2 brown sugar and oats only, no raisins, etc. At 9 servings at 1/2 cup each, this calculates to 5.48 points, so a cup would be more like 11 points. Confused as to why the notes say 4 pts for a cup, but the recipe makes 12 servings, doesn't calculate. It's 2320 calories for the recipe I calculated - 1200 of them coming from the oats, 160 from the honey, 480 from the oil, 380 from the nuts and only 100 from the Splenda/sugar. Total fat is 106g, total fiber is 38. I'm so disappointed, I had planned to bring this in to my Weight Watchers group to share, and have made this several times for myself. BTW, I'd love to be proved wrong. This does taste delicious if you're not on a diet tho.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 04, 2011

      I also put this in the points calculator for weight watcehrs and it is 7 points a serving on the Points plus plan. I am looking for a recipe for granola that is less points. This one does sound good. I have not tried it.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 20, 2013

      It's a good recipe, but WAY off on the points. Putting this into the WW recipe builder--and noting that there are 7 cups of bulk items, so 7 one cup servings, the points value for one cup of this granola is 13. I love granola but I'm not going to use almost half my points on it.... even if you take out the cooking oil and use spray oil it only knocks it down to 11 points for a 1 cup serving. The recipe as-is at a half a cup is 6 points. That's fairly standard for any type of granola points.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 22, 2013

      I know nothing about ww, and calculating points, but what I can tell you is this is delicious granola. I omitted the salt, and added raisins and cranberries with a handful of coconut because I love coconut. I also used Mexican vanilla because I love the flavor. Kinda a pain to stir every 10 minutes, but worth it....might as well make a double batch.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 20, 2013

      I love this recipe, and have added many ingredients, but I decrease the salt a little and add an egg white to the recipe after the honey and oil mixture to help the granola clump together. Also letting it cool completely in the pan before breaking it out to put it in the container helps it to stay together better:)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 28, 2010

      Yummy! The only change I make is the ratio of honey to oil. I add a little more honey and a little less oil. This is perfect in my yogurt! I love that it's much lower in fat than store bought granola and I can add to it with other fun ingredients, like mini choc chips for a splurge!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 16, 2010

      This is really great granola! I used 1/4 cup peanut butter instead of the oil, and sunflower seeds instead of the almonds. I think the possible variations are endless. Thanks for sharing your recipe

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 26, 2010

      This is ABSOLUTELY FANTASTIC! I too was suspicious about the WW points values, but since I'm pregnant, figured it didn't matter enough to not give it a try. The flavors are amazing - it's better than any store bought granola I've ever had! In order to make it "clump" more, I added in a whipped egg white at the very end and let it cool completely before breaking it up. It worked like a charm and I have very nice sized chunks for snacking!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 29, 2010

      Redsie, this is AWESOME! It is perfect paired with plain yogurt (Homemade Yogurt) and drizzled with a little bit of honey...mmmm! This recipe is so easy, that there will be no excuse for me to buy store bought granola again! Also, I used Splenda brown sugar with great success (in case anyone was wondering about trying it). Thanks for the great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 10, 2010

      This is a very satisfying granola. Just sweet enough, without tasting like candy, and the hint of vanilla is wonderful. I really like the tart bite of the cranberry along with the sweetness of the other ingredients. I just wish it stuck together a little more, for ease of eating out of hand.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 03, 2009

      This recipe is awesome! I made the granola and shared with friends. Everyone loved it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 14, 2008

      No rating, as I did not make, but according to the WW recipe builder this would be 5 points per serving. I don't know how much it makes, but if you divide it into twelve servings each would be five points.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 06, 2008

      This is good. I used chopped walnuts. Also, I reduced the sugar to 1/4 cup and added a splash of milk. Very tasty! I like the caramelized flavor given by the brown sugar.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 05, 2008

      This is delicious and so easy to prepare. I used dried cranberries and stored it in the freezer.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 08, 2008

      OMGOSH! This granola is dynamite. I have never made any type of granola before. I love it. I will up the vanilla and cinnamon a tad, per my taste. This is most definitely a keeper. I used almonds and cranberries-the possibilites are endless.........

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 27, 2008

      A simple delicious granola. I left out the brown sugar because I used some maple sweetened oatmeal. Everything else kept the same with mixed dried berries as the add in. This will be great with my light vanilla yogurt in the morning!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 22, 2008

      I loved this granola. I didn't have almonds on hand so used chopped pecans instead and also used a dried berry mixture rather than raisins. The vanilla is an especially good addition.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 16, 2008

      Oh my Redsie, you have an absolute winner on your hands w/this one. No more buying granola from Costco for this girly. I did as suggested and stuck in the freezer and will take out as needed. What a great combo of flavors and oh so simple to make. I used a combination of craisins and raisins. I'd give more stars if I could:-) Made for 123 Hits 08!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 09, 2008

      OMG! We loved this recipe. One cup is incredibly filling. 1/2 cup is just about right. I only had 1/4 cup sliced almonds, so I added a 1/4 cup coconut. I was about 1/3 cup short of the old fashioned oats, so I substituted quick cooking oats. Yum! It makes 7 cups...so I'm not sure where the 12 servings comes from...it would make 7-1 cup servings or 14-1/2 cup servings.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 04, 2008

      Tagged 1-2-3 Tag 2008. This is very good! I made granola for the first time and am goad I did. I shared with my students and they really loved it as well and requested this be made again. (and it definitely will be made again)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Down to Earth Granola Weight Watchers

    Serving Size: 1 (70 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 12

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 276.2
     
    Calories from Fat 74
    26%
    Total Fat 8.2 g
    12%
    Saturated Fat 1.0 g
    5%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 103.4 mg
    4%
    Total Carbohydrate 48.4 g
    16%
    Dietary Fiber 3.9 g
    15%
    Sugars 25.8 g
    103%
    Protein 4.9 g
    9%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites