Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Down South Chicken Fingers Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Down South Chicken Fingers

    Average Rating:

    16 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-16 of 16

    Sort by:

    • on July 11, 2009

      Since there weren't any measurements on the spices,I used the following: 1 egg,1 c milk,1 c flour,1 tsp poultry seasoning,1 tsp garlic powder,1 tsp paprika,1 tsp salt & pepper & I used 10 tenders it worked out great :) Thanks for posting

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 03, 2008

      I'm not giving this any stars because I don't know how they would have turned out if I had followed the recipe instructions and fried them. I followed another reviewers suggestion and baked them and it did NOT work. Even with a good coating of cooking spray, the flour mixture stuck to the sheet and I basically ended up with plain chicken. Also, I think it would be helpful to have a starting point for measurements on the spices.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 13, 2008

    • on April 30, 2008

      These were very good, a little too salty for our taste, but it was hard to figure out the right amounts of ingredients, so next time I will cut down on the salt. We used about 1 teaspoon of each spice.We also added some parmesan cheese. Otherwise, it was a good recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 05, 2008

      Easy and Fantastic! The kids go nuts for this one. Paired with coleslaw...yum!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 31, 2007

      I rarely eat meat but was craving chicken fingers - these were great! While frying the first few I thought they were ready to turn at a minute and a half, which worked out fine, but the ones I fried 2 minutes on each side turned out a perfect golden brown. My husband told me the secret to frying chicken is to avoid turning more than once, which I don't know much about, but I took his advice and using this recipe I served up some scrumptious chicken fingers. Thanks butterup0009!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 11, 2007

      This was good...will try adding more seasoning the next time. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 18, 2007

      What a great easy weeknight meal! I could think of many things to make this for too. Football and baseball TV watching comes to mind instantly LOL I did not use the paprika and put in a pinch of cayenne pepper. I followed the directions otherwise. Outstanding!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 17, 2006

      The chicken fingers were moist and tender. I used just a small amount of each spice to start with but next time I will use more. Thanks buttercup0009. Bullwinkle.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 16, 2006

      I loved these. I cooked them at about 400 in a deep dish electric frying pan with about 1/2 inch of oil. They were super easy and so tasty. Because I didn't put too many in the oil at once they didn't get greasy. Will make again for sure.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 04, 2006

      These were very good and very easy! I used a packaged of chicken tenders (no prep work!). I wasn't sure what temp med-high was (I was using an electric skillet) so I did 325. Next time I will cook at a higher temp and double dredge them so they are even crispier. These were also great as sandwiches the next day. Thanks for the great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 23, 2006

      this was really a very nice coating for chicken strips.as another poster stated, i started with 1 teaspoon of each seasoning.and from there i added about 1/2 more of each seasoning,i added that to 1 1/2 cups of self-rising flour.i didn't have any poultry seasoning,so i crushed 4 chicken bouillion cubes and used that instead.and i "double dipped the chicken in the egg and flour.it took a little longer than 2 minutes per side,but maybe i just had my temp. a little to low, but after cooking one i had to do " a quality control test" and it was very good.this will be made again,thank you for posting. — Jan 23, 2006

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 20, 2006

      This was a great hit for dinner last night. Following the suggestion of another poster I double dredged them and also added @ 1 tbl of essense. The breading stayed put and was nice and crispy. Way better than a restaurant!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 01, 2005

      Perfect for homemade chicken fingers, better than any fast food version! My whole family loves these! I don't fry them, I bake them with just a little drizzle of olive oil for about 25 minutes at 425 turning over in 15 minutes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 31, 2003

      My family (and friends) really enjoyed these. I think that it does need more salt - I just sprinkled on some salt after they were finished cooking. I also double dredged them - I dipped them in the milk, then the flour, then the milk again, and then the flour. It made them extra crispy. I will definitely be making these again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 24, 2003

      Simple and delicious. I used about 1 tsp of all spices and then deep fried them. This is a keeper in our house.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Down South Chicken Fingers

    Serving Size: 1 (84 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 3

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 135.5
     
    Calories from Fat 38
    28%
    Total Fat 4.2 g
    6%
    Saturated Fat 1.2 g
    6%
    Cholesterol 186.6 mg
    62%
    Sodium 97.8 mg
    4%
    Total Carbohydrate 0.2 g
    0%
    Dietary Fiber 0.0 g
    0%
    Sugars 0.2 g
    1%
    Protein 22.3 g
    44%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites