40 Reviews

To be such a simple recipe, it was reallly tasty! We grilled our buns, and we really enjoyed this recipe. Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Wife2uRick February 04, 2013

I am NOT a mayo and ham person, and the picture made me gag, BUT I wanted to try this as Andi wrote. Well, now I'm a mayo and ham person. I used Pam in the pan, and then a little butter. I had a big slice (thin) of onion and now such how much ham, but quite a stack. I used a potato bread hamburger bun and warmed it. This was SOOOOOO good. I didn't wrap it tonite, but I may try it just to have the "whole experience", but this is going to be one of my favs. Loved, loved, loved it.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
~Bliss~ December 09, 2011

OH YEA!!!! This is very good. I love to make paninis in the winter with a bowl of warm soup. I usually do ham for DH but had not done it with the grilled onions and mayo inside. So Andi followed your recipe and it was fantastic! Reminded me of grilled bologna and onion sandwich only better! DH was 5 stars all the way and actually called me yesterday from work to see if I would make it again for his lunch as he was coming by the house. YOU get 10 stars for this. Next time I will do the same with my turkey sammie and grill those onions for that. It took no time at all to prepare and was well worth the extra minute to slice up onions. Wonderful! Made this on my new cast iron grill pan so your recipe broke it in. Perfect sammie for the new grill pan. MAde for AUS/NZ Swap 48

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef1MOM-Connie January 06, 2011

Absolutely excellent! I prepared these for as finger food for a NY Eve party. I took mini sub rolls, placed a slice of swiss cheese, mayo and the mixture on the roll. Then cut the roll into three parts and wrapped in foil. I placed them in a crockpot on warm to keep them warm for serving. They were a hit! Very easy. To prepare a large quantity, I used 80 oz of boiled ham and 8 medium onions. This made plenty. Make sure you use enough onion. I think that is the key. Used the left overs for breakfast on bagels for the teenagers. Warning --- they are addictive! Thanks so much for sharing!! I can't rave enough about this simple, scrumptious recipe. Definitely a keeper!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
rnmommy02 January 01, 2011

Yummy - the ham and onion combo is just right. A fast-to-prepare weeknight dinner. Such a simple idea, but so good!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Viclynn November 30, 2010

I made this using leftover ham steak and served to DH. He liked it a lot and I will make it again for him. I will also make sure there is enough for me! Thanks for sharing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
VA October 12, 2010

Ohhhh heaven. I wish I would have added a little more onion (only because DH and I love onion) but what a simple and perfect sandwich. I did put a thin slice of swiss cheese on the ham and onion mixture and toasted the bread (I had some rye bread) and wrapped in wax papper and foil and let sit for a few minutes. Cheese melted over the ham/onions. Ohhhh! Thank you for a simple and wonderful recipe. Made for Think Pink Cancer Awareness 2010.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mama smurf October 09, 2010

I used a leftover of ciabatta baguette I had in the freezer, defrosted it and then toasted it. Cheese would be a great addition to it. Next time I'll try with cheese. I loved the onion with the ham, yummy. And probably some hot jalapeno would be yummy. I know DH would be happy with that. Thanks Andi for a quick lunch :) Made for Holiday tag

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Boomette May 01, 2010

Mmmm, mmmm,mmmmmmmm. These are so good. Easy, fast and gooooood. Thank you for sharing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mommyoffour March 13, 2010

Great sammy Andi, I love the addition of the onion slices and toasting just takes this to another level, will make again soon, thanks for posting!, this was made and enjoyed for KK's Recipe tag game

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kittencal@recipezazz December 30, 2009
Down on the Farm - Fried Ham Sandwich - Longmeadow