Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    More Go-To Meal Ideas

    25 All-Time Dinner Winners

    25 All-Time Dinner Winners

    Make Tonight's Meal a Knockout
    Grilled Cheese, 25 Ways

    Grilled Cheese, 25 Ways

    It's Sandwich Night!
    25 Five-Ingredient Dinners

    25 Five-Ingredient Dinners

    Start With 911 Meatball Subs
    You are in: Home / Recipes / Down Home Macaroni and Cheese Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Down Home Macaroni and Cheese

    Average Rating:

    53 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 53

    Sort by:

    • on July 28, 2008

      This worked very well for me. I have struggled in the past at making mac and cheese. I used a can of evaporated milk and then top off with 1% milk to make 2 cups. Unfortunately, I didn't have any breadcrumbs but I bet it is even better with them. I did add a little dry mustard, but other than that followed the recipe. This recipe is very good. Thanks! Couple of hints for those who had texture problems....make sure you let the milk, flour, butter mixture thicken before adding the cheese. Also, a hint I picked up from another recipe - remove the thicken milk, flour, butter from the heat before adding the cheese in. That way the cheese doesn't "break" and give a grainy texture.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 29, 2014

      A thousand calories a bite! Good cold comfort food. Been making this same recipe for years and never any complaints.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 01, 2013

      In the words of my DH, "This is the best Mac-n-cheese I've ever had!" And I couldn't agree more! I topped it with crushed club crackers combined with the butter. Thanks for this keeper!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 08, 2012

      This is wonderful. Its creamy and cheesy and the breadcrumb topping with the cheese is fantastic. Thank you so much for sharing this comfort food with us.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 13, 2011

      Ohhhhh yummmmmm...... I'm eating as I'm typing... fantastic mac n cheese... I made the recipe as written, the only thing I did not add was the bread crumbs on top... I baked mine until the cheese on top was golden brown and alittle crispy... pure comfort! thank you!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 17, 2010

      I have made this for many years. We all love it. It is requested over and over again. It is so creamy and delicious. Thanks for posting this recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 01, 2009

      There are about 5 recipes that I have come back to my account for CONSTANTLY over the past 3 years and this is one of them. Everyone that I've made this for, LOVES it. I get asked for the recipe years later. It's delicious. Thank you for posting, it is absolutely one of my favourite dishes :)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 31, 2009

      Made this for 4th of July and everyone asked for the recipe. Made a different one for the next party because I couldn't find this recipe and nobody said anything at all!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 28, 2009

      Wonderful mac-n-cheese! The sharp cheddar gave this great flavor, and the velveeta made sure it stayed nice and creamy. I did use evaporated milk for part of the milk and used the optional bread crumbs. Great recipe - thanks for posting!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 04, 2008

      Had this along with bbq chicken and baked beans, and everyone loved this dish! Creamy and cheesy, just the way we like it. Excellent mac n cheese!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 26, 2014

      Very Good! And very easy!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 02, 2013

      This is definately a winner! Made this for dinner for my mom (she loves mac-n-cheese pure comfort food) and we all enjoyed it. I cut the recipe in half and used evaporated milk and a little less Velveeta cheese and added some onion powder, garlic powder and a little hot sauce for kick. Definately one I will make again. Thank you for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 05, 2011

      DH loved it. I used skim milk and low fat Velveeta. I added bk pepper and garlic powder. Not being a pro with Mac and Cheese I cooked and combined everything and left it on the stove to put in the oven 1/2 hr later. It got kinda dry, but DH said no, he loved it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 24, 2011

      Very good mac and cheese! I added a can of fiesta cheddar cheese soup and used ritz/townhouse crackers instead of bread crumbs. It still wasn't THAT creamy, so add whatever you like to make more creamy. You'll be happy you did-maybe some sour cream, along with the cheese soup I added!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 07, 2010

      Oooooh yummy!!
      We love macaroni cheese, and this recipe is just delicious! I used skimmed milk, and skipped the breadcrumbs just to help the calorie count a little.
      The sharp cheddar really lifts the flavour, and I added a dash of garlic powder too (personal preference).
      Another top recipe from your collection Sweets!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 14, 2010

      My little one wanted macaroni and cheese and this one sounded good. When it was done she gobbled it down in about 2 minutes and asked for more! A new favorite with all of us!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 01, 2010

      This wasn't our favorite, unfortunately - it turned out a little dry, the family overall preferred our usual recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 10, 2010

      Wonderful, wonderful mac and cheese recipe. Creamy, cheesy, melt-in-your mouth delicious. I used fat free milk and a small can of evaporated milk. Thanks for sharing this top-notch recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 19, 2010

      This was great, I've made it twice and once you get the bechamel sauce down, this is wonderful! Add the cheese after you take the sauce off the heat and you won't get a grainy mess. Thanks SweetsLady! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 29, 2009

    « Previous 1 2 3

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Down Home Macaroni and Cheese

    Serving Size: 1 (190 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 477.0
     
    Calories from Fat 250
    52%
    Total Fat 27.8 g
    42%
    Saturated Fat 17.4 g
    87%
    Cholesterol 86.2 mg
    28%
    Sodium 1010.8 mg
    42%
    Total Carbohydrate 36.2 g
    12%
    Dietary Fiber 1.2 g
    5%
    Sugars 2.6 g
    10%
    Protein 20.2 g
    40%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes