Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Double Thumbprint Cookies Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Double Thumbprint Cookies

    Average Rating:

    12 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-12 of 12

    Sort by:

    • on September 17, 2013

      These were very good--though I may stick with more of a shortbread for my next batch of thumbprint cookies. (The technique for making the hearts worked very well!) The cookie base almost tasted like a Newton to me, which is not what I was going for! Thank you for the cute cookies!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 17, 2013

      I made this recipe for Valentine's Day with my 3-year old and our family loved the cookies!

      First and foremost, these cookies do not need to be as labor intensive as written! Just make a little bigger ball and press thumbs in twice to make the heart shape. Make sure you make deep impressions because the cookies puff up a little when baked. After baking, I used a spoon to press the impressions again to make them a little deeper.

      I made the dough as written but subbed almond extract for the vanilla. I also used cherry preserves because these were for Valentine's day and we love cherry!

      This recipe was very easy and my 3-year old helped make the dough and his attention was held the whole time! He enjoyed running the stand mixer.

      Great recipe! A keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 13, 2013

      Please note that I am reviewing the method of forming the cookies, not the recipe, as I used a different Thumbprint recipe. I made these for Valentines Day, some for my husband and I, some for him to share at work, and some to take to a dinner. I was very happy with the results. They are soooooo cute. Slightly labor intensive, but it was for a special occasion so that's ok. I rolled out 1/2 inch balls, as I was working with a different recipe and needed a slightly smaller size. They still turned out great.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 09, 2011

    • on September 08, 2010

      These are absolutely amazing. I am so happy I decided to try this recipe. I was concerned at first as my dough was extremely crumbly. (It may be the weather here, the batch of snickerdoodles I made failed and that has never happened before). I rolled them into balls, baked and filled with strawberry jam. I agree with Krista. I had never made thumbprint cookies before but I won't be looking for a different recipe. Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 19, 2009

      I LOVE this recipe. I've never made thumbprint cookies before so I don't know if this is a 'standard' recipe but I'm not going to find out by trying any others!! I used my homemade strawberry freezer jam that never really set properly. The super sweetness of the jam was the perfect compliment to the cookies and the fact that the jam didn't set well actually worked out in my favor. It was no problem to spoon it into the wells. Next time, I'll definitely make a double batch as these disappeared quickly.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 23, 2008

      These are really yummy, so I award 5 stars, but I did make 2 small adjustments, which I think might help others who try this recipe: (1) Maybe I am just lazy, but after putting the 2 dough balls side by side, thumbprinting, & then shaping them into 1 heart-shaped cookie, I got a little frustrated. Instead, I made the balls as directed, but put 2 thumbprints in each ball, to create a heart-shaped "well" for the preserves. (2) I heated the raspberry preserves in the microwave for about 30 seconds to increase its viscosity & make it easier to spoon into the wells. With these 2 adjustments, my cookies still had that heart-shaped center (where the preserves were). Thanks for posting! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 10, 2008

      WOW!! These are good. I made these with my homemade strawberry jam. We (DH and I) have almost eaten all of them tonight!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 28, 2007

      These were very tasty! I think I made mine a little bit too big, but they were still yummy, anyways. I want to try the drizzled glaze on top next time. Sounds good!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 15, 2005

      Thank you so much Pumpkinhead for sharing this great cookie recipe. I made these little darlings for Valentines Day...they brought a big smile to my DH's face...The cookies taste great, were very quick and easy to make, look wonderful and make you feel special...I will certainly be making these again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 02, 2005

      I had a lot of fun making these, and they were very tasty. I didn't have raspberry preserves on hand, so I added a few drops of red food coloring to my blakberry jam. These will be great for V-day.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 23, 2005

      These are wonderful cookies that look as pretty as they taste. I enjoyed making and serving these. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Double Thumbprint Cookies

    Serving Size: 1 (26 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 24

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 101.8
     
    Calories from Fat 37
    36%
    Total Fat 4.1 g
    6%
    Saturated Fat 2.5 g
    12%
    Cholesterol 18.0 mg
    6%
    Sodium 102.5 mg
    4%
    Total Carbohydrate 14.6 g
    4%
    Dietary Fiber 0.3 g
    1%
    Sugars 5.9 g
    23%
    Protein 1.4 g
    2%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites