54 Reviews

I made these for a dinner party. I didn't have "shortening" and used butter instead. These rolls were heavenly!!! I served them with garlic olive oil and herbs so we could dip them. It was my first time making rolls (or any bread-type for the matter) and these were so simple! I will be making these again VERY soon!!!

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LauraTracey January 26, 2003

These are super easy to put together when time is short. They raise into light airy rolls & can take a meal of leftovers a step higher--to planned overs!

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Iron Bloomers April 12, 2002

Loved these! They look like muffins but are really wonderful, fluffy dinner rolls. These will be on our table often.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Karen Bell July 25, 2002

Very easy rolls, and very yummy!! So much better than store bought rolls!!

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Pam Bayne April 21, 2002

Wow. These rolls were great and had great texture. Soft not chewy and only took me an hour and 40 min from start to finish. It would have been quicker, but I wanted to bake them in an 8x8 pan, so I had to roll out 12 balls which was a sticky mess so I had to pull apart and flour each one so next time I'll just add enough flour to the dough until it's no longer sticky before the first rise. That'll make it a lot easier and a lot less messy. Anyways, my first rise, I let rise 30 min on a warm oven and after I rolled the balls, I let them rise 20 min in a 140 degree oven. They were so pretty after I buttered them and came out perfectly. Some family members ate 3 rolls. I wanted another but was too full lol. Also, I added 1/4 cup sugar total and 3 TBSP butter in place of shortening.

*UPDATE*
These rolls are delicious and are my go-to rolls from now on. I had another one this morning for breakfast and I could really taste the flavor and appreciate the texture of these soft, buttery (thanks to my addition) rolls. Its a keeper for sure! I personally think adding a 1/4 cup of flour or more to the dough and rolling the dough in balls and placing them close together in a pan gives it a much prettier appearance and they'll actually look like rolls ;)

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
thirdsplease June 28, 2012

I have to admit that I was skeptical of these easy rolls but I was proven wrong...they are easy AND really tasty. They make a GREAT sub for regular yeast rolls. Instead of shortening, I used butter. I also increased the sugar to 4 tablespoons and I think next time I will add even more because I really like a sweeter dinner roll. I LOVE that these can be made in one bowl AND that I can have a homemade roll with supper on a weeknight. I also like that this batch makes 12 rolls, my regular dinner roll recipe makes at least twice that and sometimes that leads to waste. Thanks!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Laura123 October 15, 2009

Great rolls. Still trying to figure out why they stuck to my pan even though I sprayed it with Pam. Definitely a keeper! Thanks for sharing the recipe!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Carrie September 15, 2004

Amazing! These rolls are soft and chewy on the inside and nice and crispy on top. I made these as a last minute side for dinner and I'm glad I did. My husband loved them! I made a few changes to suit my personal taste. I used raw honey instead of sugar. I also added some Italian seasoning, crushed red pepper, black pepper, garlic, and fennel to my dough. Once they finished baking (15min in my oven) I brushed the tops with garlic butter. I will make these again! They are great with and without my changes!!!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
karamtello July 10, 2016

I forgot to give my rating! 5 stars for sure!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Elaine101 February 16, 2014

These worked beautifully. Followed pumacreek and used whole wheat flour (2c) and 1/4c wheat germ. Also had no shortening so used olive oil. So simple and no kneading!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ladymedic March 04, 2010
Double-Quick Dinner Rolls