Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Double Mushroom Barley Soup Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Double Mushroom Barley Soup

    Average Rating:

    8 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-8 of 8

    Sort by:

    • on January 13, 2013

      Well, I didn't notice when I tagged this recipe that a pressure cooker was needed, so I improvised and used my dutch oven. Even though I used vegetable broth, the soup took on the typical coloration of mushroom barley soup made with beef stock. This occurred because I used baby portabella mushrooms primarily. I also used shiitake mushroom caps as well. We loved the combination of flavors, and it made for a delicious lunch on this raw day in January. Made for Casual Veggie tag January 2013.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 28, 2010

      This is a delicious soup. I used the dried mushroom soaking liquid in addition to the broth. I did dice the carrots, but otherwise made as directed on the stove top since I don't have a pressure cooker. This is so tasty, you'd never know it was low in fat and calories.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 09, 2008

      This was very tasty, but I still need to tweak it just a bit. I used a combination of mushroom soaking liquid, chicken and beef broth and cooked this in the slow cooker on high - about four hours. I don't care for the texture of cooked celery, so I kept it in large chunks that I could fish out. I used dried porcini and crimini mushrooms and fresh dill. I liked it with a spoonfull of sour cream on it, also.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 02, 2008

      This is a very good Barley soup that has bold mushroom flavor. I deviated from the recipe just a little. I made this using a soup pot as I do not have a pressure cooker. I did not halve the carrots, I just chopped them. I also chopped up a little bacon and cooked that over low heat with the onion until the onion was lightly carmelized (I like my soups to have a little color plus this brings out the sweetness of the onion). For the mushrooms, I used 6 ounces of Portabella's that I diced and 1/2 ounce of dried Porchini's. I soaked the Porchini's in 2 cups of warm water and used that water in the soup (I ran it through a coffee filter to make sure there was no grit in it). I cooked the soup a total of 1 hour as I thought the longer cooking times suggested would result in mushy vegs, and the fact that Barley cooks in about 50 minutes. I put the pre-soaked dried mushrooms in at the start but did not put the fresh ones in until the last 30 minutes of cooking. I will make this again, next time without the bacon. One final thought, the flavor of this soup is very much influenced by the type of mushrooms used.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 08, 2007

      made this for my Ladies Night(5 friends to dinner) a great success

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 06, 2007

      this was wonderful for a cold winter day. i cooked this the old fashioned way in my le creuset pot on the stovetop. i was out of dried porcini but i did have dried black trumpet and dried chanterelles so used those along with fresh mushrooms. cooked it for 2 hours and it was quite good. i enjoyed the dill flavor and so did my future sil, he took the leftovers home.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 07, 2006

      I love it, I love it! Ok, I left out the dill but I loved the soup without the dill. It's warming, hearty and stick to your ribs. This made a perfect lunch for a day when we had to be out and about in cold and snowy weather. Using the pressure cooker was wonderful. To be honest I'd forgotten I had one till I found this recipe. It made a long cooking time into just a few mins. It really blends the flavors while cooking also. Sharon, thank you for another winner.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 12, 2006

      Sharon this soup is delicious! I used turkey broth in place of the vegetable broth, increased the garlic to about two heaping tablespoons and used all fresh mushrooms, I made this on top of the stove and simmered it for about 1-1/2 hours. I also threw in some cooked chopped turkey that I had leftover from Thanksgiving in my freezer. Thanks for sharing hon!...Kitten:)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Double Mushroom Barley Soup

    Serving Size: 1 (158 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 124.0
     
    Calories from Fat 17
    14%
    Total Fat 1.9 g
    3%
    Saturated Fat 0.2 g
    1%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 38.6 mg
    1%
    Total Carbohydrate 24.6 g
    8%
    Dietary Fiber 5.0 g
    20%
    Sugars 5.0 g
    20%
    Protein 3.9 g
    7%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    vegetable stock

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes