8 Reviews

I like how simple this is to throw together. I substituted caramelized, diced, white onions instead of green onions. I didn't care for the flavor of the green chilies, so the next time I make this I'm going to either leave the green chilies out altogether, or try diced red peppers. For the buttermilk, I took another reviewer's suggestion and added a big splash of vinegar to regular milk. I also used a regular size of canned corn, splitting it between the layers. It all turned out good and I'm going to try to alter it in the future. Thanks for posting!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
TreeSquirrel February 02, 2011

I got this recipe from Better Homes and Gardens Hometown Cooking, and I like how fast and easy it is. The recipe I have says to serve it with salsa, and I like it with a nice spicy salsa. For the buttermilk, I just throw in a splash of vinegar with the milk. This is a great recipe when the cupboards are looking a little bare and you don't want to go to the store. Thank you for posting this!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
AmyZoe January 18, 2009

This was good! I added more veggies (red pepper, carrots, celery) diced very small. I also added some cajun seasoning and a few shakes of tabasco to the egg mixture and would add more next time. No green onions.....don't like. I don't often have buttermilk on hand, but I do have powdered buttermilk for baking, so I used that w/ water. Good recipe. Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JD's K9 Queen April 13, 2010

Great Gluten free Recipe! Next time I think I will add more chilies or some peppers to spice it up.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
glutenfreekids January 28, 2010

This is great! I substituted the green chillies for jalapenos, used regular white onions and took AmyZoe's advice about the vinegar in the milk. I also dded salt and red pepper to the egg mixture and it was really delicious. Served with some sour cream and salsa and it was a total hit.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ohNeiko September 26, 2009

We enjoyed this side dish, but it was just a little lacking in flavor. I think a bit of salt added to the egg mixture would have put this into the LOVED IT category for me. Thanks for posting Roxygirl. Made for Photo Forum's May Challenge, please see my rating system as I rate tougher than most.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
puppitypup May 02, 2008

This recipe was so fast and easy and it uses ingredients I keep on hand. I did have to cook mine about 35 minutes. I served it with tamales, and green chili mashed potatoes. Thanks for a delicious and unusual side dish that I will be making again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Junebug June 13, 2006

Tasty, different and very easy to put together. Served this as a side dish with dinner, but it would also be fabulous with brunch. A little fresh salsa is a nice garnish, but it's definitely not necessary. Looking forward to the leftovers for lunch! Thanks, Roxygirl, for a great recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LonghornMama October 10, 2005
Double Corn Tortilla Casserole