Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Double Coconut Cake With Fluffy Coconut Frosting Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Double Coconut Cake With Fluffy Coconut Frosting

    Average Rating:

    23 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 23

    Sort by:

    • on July 11, 2010

      EXCELLENT! This cake rises beautifully and retains both it's moisture and flavour (even 3 days later!!). The frosting (a boiled frosting like my Mama used to make & I never could!) is supurb!!! Easy to make (use a candy thermometer for a proper temp reading - it's essential! A heavy bottomed saucepan is your best choice here) and the flavour is magnificent!! My husband actually asked for a 2nd piece (he never asks for 2nds of anything!!!) As a variation, use maple flavouring and top a chocolate cake - WOW!! THANKS for this excellent recipe, one I'll be making again and again!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 09, 2011

      The cake is super moist (I used full-fat coconut milk) and light. We used a coconut cream cheese frosting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 07, 2009

      Really good cake, the icing amount was perfect to have it high and fluffy. I didn't have any cream of tartar on hand so I substituted it with 1tsp of lemon juice and it turned out great.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 22, 2009

      The best coconut cake I have ever had. Well, actually, I didn't make a cake - I made cupcakes! Strangely enough it made 14 cupcakes, which turned out to be a good, large size (except I halved the frosting since I didn't want too much) . I made them for my dad for Fathers Day and I'm definitely going to keep this recipe. Well worth the time and effort!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 29, 2008

      I made this cake to take to my in-laws house for Christmas dinner. It was great! It was very easy to make and the icing was amazing. Based on other reviews, I made a half batch of icing but, for my preferences, I should've made the full amount - I had to really scrape the bowl to cover the cake in a minimally acceptable way. Also, my newly bought baking powder was a YEAR out of date (AGH!) so my cake didn't rise, but I actually got a lot of compliments on it's smooth, pound cake-like consistency. So score one for terribly stocked grocery shelves!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 15, 2008

      Excellent cake and surprisingly easy to make!! We made it just as stated and, like others, ended up with twice the amount of frosting needed. The recipe doesn't indicate to have the frosting 'set' but I think next time I will place it in the fridge for a bit before frosting the cake. The frosting was great but seemed too thin and needed to thicken a bit. Next time I think I'll split the batter into 4 pans and make more (but smaller) layers - - this would use up all the frosting too :). Oh - I didn't measure the coconut; we just played it by ear. We added coconut to the entire outside of the cake - top and sides and it was great. Thanks for sharing!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 13, 2008

      This is not just the best coconut cake I've ever had, it's the best cake I have ever made - period. I made it for my husband's birthday and he's not a big sweet eater, but he ate 3 slices! The cake itself, without the frosting would be fantastic, but with the the yummy, fluffy frosting, it's just crazy. I ended up with much too much frosting, so next time I'll probably only make half. YUM!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 06, 2007

      Being a chocoholic, I made this cake cuz my sweetie pie had a craving for coconut. This was sinfully delicious. I think I am now a convert. I found the directions incredibly simple. I did make a few changes though. I used eggs from chickens. When I set the oven temperature to 350, I then turned the other knob to the on position. Duh.2 The frosting was no chore at all for my stand mixer. It whipped up those egg WHITES in no time. This is better than any store bought or box cake ever! Got any more? Chocolate maybe?! Chocolate-Coconut?

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 19, 2005

      I gave this 5 stars, after making 4 of these. I had to tweak the recipe a bit, and made it better. This is really good, but play with the flour, I didn't sift mine the last time and I added 1/2t more of baking powder, it rose just fine. I think next time I'll reduce the sugar just a little, because I used 1c. coconut milk and 3/4c. of Coco Lopez, mixed well. The Frosting is heavenly and a breeze to put together. Thanks a bunch Kiddo.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 10, 2004

      Mine didn't turn out well. 1. The cake didn't bake for some reason. I thought I followed directions but it just didn't cook in the middle. I'm more of a novice so maybe some "trick" I should have known was taken for granted here? I even baked it for an extra 5 minutes (the toothpick always came out with cake on it).I was afraid it would overbake so I finally removed it anyway. Grr. 2. The frosting was nice and frothy until I added the sugar and water. It became runny. What did I do wrong? A tiny bit of egg yolk spilled into the whites - could that be it? Anyway, I see that it had a lot of potential but I had to throw it out. I'm new to baking and didn't know cakes were so difficult from scratch.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 19, 2003

      This cake is incredible, dream-like and perfect!!! I made it for my mom for Mother's Day and everybody loved it. The icing is wonderful!! Definately making this again soon....

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 03, 2011

      I was going to rate this 4 stars thinking "It's really good but maybe not the best I've ever had." but then every single person I served this to as dessert said "This is delicious!" So I figure the recipe deserves 5 stars. I think the frosting really takes it from a 4 star recipe to a 5 star recipe. It is perfect for the cake. I made the cake 2 days in advance and stored it in the refrigerator. The frosting held up perfectly. I served the cake at room temperature. This is one of the few instances where I recommend using a clear vanilla extract, even if it is imitation vanilla. It helps keep the frosting pure white and the taste is not compromised.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 03, 2010

      I loved the cake but not the frosting. It is light and fluffy and pretty healthy though so no complaints, just not what I was looking for. I could eat the cake on it own though it is so moist and tasty.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 04, 2010

      Oh MAMA!!! I am IN LOVE with this cake! Moist and light, this cake has a wonderful subtle coconut flavor with fluffy light frosting that just makes this cake PERFECT!!! This is definitely my new favorite cake and I dare not be left alone with it... :)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 26, 2010

      I give the cake 5 stars... but not the icing..i guess i really messed the icing up so now i have to use the one from the store...which sucks cause its full of trans fat :( but the cake came out excellent great texture.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 08, 2010

      I made this recipe for a baby shower... mom-to-be LOVES coconut. I added a little coconut extract to the bake batter, and doubled the coconut extract for the icing. The cake has a denser lovely texture, with a light not at all overpowering flavor. And the icing... AMAZING!! Almost reminds you of creamy marshmellows. Wonderful recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 11, 2008

      This definitely passed the pregnant woman's "OMG YUM!!!" test!!! This is THE best coconut cake I have EVER had! Delicious! Thanks for sharing!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 12, 2008

      Made this for a birthday and everyone loved it. So moist and great flavor. Will make again for sure.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 26, 2007

      Very good. This was a first at coconut cake. I only made the cake part. It was moist and had good flavor.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 13, 2007

      This cake turned out beautiful, tasted wonderful, and was a huge hit for my dad's 50th birthday party. The texture of the cake is amazing, it is moist without being sticky. It was firm enough to handle but tender enough that it almost melted in your mouth! My cake only took 20 minutes to bake and I ended up with way too much frosting. I think next time I'll 1/2 the frosting recipe and it will still be plently. I didn't sift my cake flour and I used super-fine bakers sugar for the cake and the frosting. I was suprised how easy it was to make this recipe. The frosting looked like it would be a challenge but was really pretty simple.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Double Coconut Cake With Fluffy Coconut Frosting

    Serving Size: 1 (98 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 14

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 324.8
     
    Calories from Fat 73
    22%
    Total Fat 8.1 g
    12%
    Saturated Fat 4.8 g
    24%
    Cholesterol 91.3 mg
    30%
    Sodium 234.1 mg
    9%
    Total Carbohydrate 58.3 g
    19%
    Dietary Fiber 0.5 g
    2%
    Sugars 40.2 g
    160%
    Protein 4.7 g
    9%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    light coconut milk

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes