15 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This pudding is terrific!!! My husband was reminded of a pudding his Grandmother used to make. It was rich and creamy and oh-so tasty. Thank you Bev, this will be made again and again in our house.

10 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
dayla October 18, 2002

Yum, yum, yum! I doubled this, and all I did differently was let it chill for a few hours in the fridge, instead of stashing the dessert dishes in the freezer. What made this easy, tasty pudding particularly interesting is that not all of the chopped chocolate melted--I guess I didn't chop the chocolate fine enough--which meant there were little chocolate bits in the pudding. I really enjoyed that! I didn't do it on purpose, but was glad it worked out that way. Thanks for the recipe, Bev; it's a keeper!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lennie January 11, 2004

This is my new "go to" chocolate pudding recipe. I don't like overly sweet desserts, so I followed JJRsMomma's rating and cut the sugar down to 1/4 cup. I doubled the recipe and left the vanilla at 1 tsp, which was perfect. I also used 2% milk, as that is what I had on hand. This was smooth, silky and so very chocolatey! Much better than the box, and much smoother than other recipes I've tried with egg yolks.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jmommy209 February 22, 2010

Not bad! I only gave this 4 because it's just too much vanilla and too much sugar. I'll be making this again, because it's so simple, but with my modifications. Thanks for the basis.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
The Veganista December 31, 2009

Ok, so this was my first attempt at homemade pudding...my 8-year-old had to have some really painful dental work done, and had to eat soft foods. (P.S., he is the world's PICKIEST eater! Won't eat mashed potatoes, tapioca, etc. This was all I could coax him into trying!) This was AWESOME!! He ate his entire serving, and my DH, who doesn't even like chocolate, said it was great, too! Definately a make-again recipe! Thanks, Bev!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Pawsfurthought November 11, 2009

This has been THE pudding recipe for us for awhile now. It is super simple to make, and comes out amazing every time. Thank you for posting it.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
PinkPanther October 25, 2008

The best chocolate pudding I have ever eaten! Thick, creamy, intense chocolate flavor. Very easy to make and forgiving with substitute ingredients and preparation. I accidently added all the ingredients (except vanilla) to the pan, so I went ahead and cooked the mixture. Rather than whole milk I used 3/4 Cup 1% milk and 1/4 C heavy cream and substituted 1/2 oz unsweetened chocolate and 1 tbs sugar for the bittersweet/semisweet chocolate. Thanks, Bev!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cowlinguk October 20, 2008

What delicious pudding, very rich and chocolatey. Made just as posted; it was quick and easy; to me, even easier than boxed. Bev, thanks for the KEEPER!....Janet

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jezski August 27, 2008

I used this for a caramel pie, very very good, will put in my permanent file for using in recipes that use chocolate pudding. Thanks you for sharing...

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
FrannieJ January 11, 2008

This was wonderful! I substituted 2 Special Dark miniatures since that was all I had, and it turned out great. Hubby raved about it, and says it tasted like the kind his grandma made. Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
angelgirl70 September 17, 2007
Double-Chocolate Pudding