9 Reviews

This is a TEN STAR recipe, both in ease of prep and the rave reviews. I'm making 2 to take to a party tomorrow because everyone whined that they didn't get any last year! I have a few changes: I use either Valhrona 70% or if I'm feeling wealthy, Amano 73%. Guittard's 'Burgundy' chocolate (avail. @ baking suppliers) is my 'go-to' chocolate that I use for everything with superb results. But when cooking for chef or foody friends, I use the 'spensive stuff. I use 1/3 cup palm sugar for a deeper, more sultry flavor, and I use 2 knives to 'slice' through the eggs w/o incorporating air. DO NOT use margerine (for anything). Serve w/heavy whipping cream (try to get the stuff w/o additives) and I add in 1/4 cup whole milk or goat yogurt and a bit of sugar. Superb, and NEVER any left over! Garnish w/ sugared basil or mint leaves, raspberry/cointreu coulis, and a serene smile.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
dbcreates June 22, 2011

this is tasty, that rich chocolate I was looking for. I used the glaze which was really thick but tasted nice & instead of the whipped topping I just used whipped cream.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bake Em N Take Em March 19, 2011

This was delicious! And a little slice satisfied my sweet tooth so it lasted long and kept me from eating too much- great great recipe! I skipped the glaze and used a glass tart dish

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Pritha June 14, 2010

Made this for Pirateman restaurant outside Rusutsu Resort this ski season. Customers RAVED about it, couldn`t get enough. Cake comes out of the oven very high and light (thought I`d done something wrong at first) but condences down to a dense rich texture as it cools. The glaze is delicious enough to eat on its own. After glazing, I sprinkled it with sliced almonds and it really looked lovely. This is definitely going to be a keeper.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
David43515 January 12, 2014

Very easy, very decadent. I think it cooked for more like an hour, and I'm not positive it was completely done, but it seemed fine when we ate it and nobody got sick :) I think I my glaze got a little too cool before I finished spreading it because it looked more like cake frosting than glaze when it dried, but it was so yummy it really doesn't matter. I used Ghiradelli semi-sweet chips and I think that was just the right balance between high quality chocolate and a good value. I really recommend making at least 18-20 servings out of this. I made 20 and each piece is still a lot to eat. I may try this again with some different flavorings. Mocha, amaretto and Irish Cream will probably be in the near future. Thanks for a very impressive crowd-pleasing dessert.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Reeces Pieces July 21, 2008

ABSOLUTELY OUTSTANDING! This recipe is soo easy! I love that you don't have to make a crust. The flavour was out of this world! The glaze is wonderful-easy to spread & makes a nice chocolate "crust" on top. This is a fantastic, impressive cake that will be made again & again! Thank you very much!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
um-um-good October 30, 2007

This cake was WONDERFUL. it came out perfect. I made it for a dinner where there was a gluten allergy and everyone loved it. Next time I'll try it with a better quality chocolate (I used Bakers).

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LadyBell April 04, 2007

Easy to make, and worth the day wait to enjoy. Definately one of my favorites.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
carmen March 06, 2007
Double-Chocolate Mousse Cake