18 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

After reading the other reviews, I made some adjustments to make this a bit more gooey. I used applesauce instead of butter for the cake layer, which made it more moist when baked, but also sticky to spread in the pan, so be prepared for that. I sprinkled 1/2 c. chocolate chips onto the cake layer before adding the cream cheese layer, making this triple chocolate, yum! I used a 9x9" pan instead, making these thicker and definitely more like cake than bars. And the part about not cooking too long is so important - I only had to bake for 35 min., the center was gooey perfection! This is very rich, small servings go a long way. Thanks, J9!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Rebekah of SFD September 30, 2012

My family calls these gooey "bars" because they're definitely more of a bar or brownie than a cake. I made these with Pillsbury Devils Food cake mix, which I would not recommend. They turned out dry and crumbly. These are like rich brownies with a chocolate cream cheese frosting that bakes right on top. The kids really like them. The bottom layer should be the consistency of playdough when you press it in the pan. If it's crumbly, add more moisture. If not, the brownie layer will be dry. I love that these can be made in so many variations. My usual is yellow cake mix with a layer of mini chocolate chips or toffee bits and the top layer minus the cocoa. For Thanksgiving, try it with pumpkin!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MamaLeigh October 10, 2009

This stuff is INCREDIBLE! It does have more of a brownie texture than cake, but it's so delicious that it really doesn't matter!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
tank_girl April 30, 2008

This was great. It was more like a brownie. I served it with vanilla ice cream. I will make it again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Carol Elizabeth April 29, 2008

this was in this months Ladies home journal along w/ other Paula Deen recipes.So I HAD to make it. It is so yummy. The bottom was like a brownie & the top was like cheese cake.Sooooo good!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jt*s_mom October 26, 2007

2 words: SINFULLY DELICIOUS! This is Paula Deen's recipe, as mentioned by anther member. I am not a real sweet tooth, but these little treats are to die for. Not for anyone counting fat or calories, but decadant, rich, yummy. Small bites will satisfy your fix, but I must admit, they are addicting! Have to agree with Beckas: This cake is very rich and has a creamy texture on the top and a chewy texture on the bottom. It tastes and looks very much like a brownie. I will definitely take these to all gatherings now!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
flightnurse August 29, 2007

Paula Deen featured this recipe on her TV show--just wanted to mention that so others who collect Paula Deen's recipes would know this is the same (to avoid duplicates).

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sharlene~W January 26, 2007

I love chocolate, but I found the flavor of this cake to be way too much like butter, and not enough like chocolate. I baked mine for 45 minutes, which may have been too long because the entire cake was not really gooey. I used a Betty Crocker triple fudge cake mix (which I would suggest not using).

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Horshem December 13, 2006

SO very good. This will be a keeper. The girls loved it- made it today for the bakery- brought some home and it was a hit. Thanks for sharing this one !

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
staceyelee October 23, 2006
Double Chocolate Gooey Butter Cake