Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Double Chocolate Chunk Biscotti Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Double Chocolate Chunk Biscotti

    Average Rating:

    24 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 24

    Sort by:

    • on January 17, 2003

      Great recipe but I will make some minor alterations in the cooking temperature and times next time I fix it. The ingredients don't need to be altered, in my opinion, just the cooking directions. I made two batches of biscotti, this recipe first and then a batch of lemon-ginger biscotti from the cookbook that came with my food processor. I followed the directions exactly on both batches and this batch was overcooked for the first baking which made it to dry and it was very crumbly when i was trying to cut it before the second baking. The other recipe didn't cook quite as long and at a lower temperature for the first baking and turned out beautiful--it looked like a professional had made it. The alterations I will make are as follows: For the first baking bake at 325 degrees for 22 minutes. Remove from the oven cool only for 10 minutes and then cut at 1/2" intervals (this made it easier to cut and each biscotti was perfectly shaped). Arrange slices on the baking sheet (cut sides exposed) and bake for 20 to 25 minutes until they begin to turn golden and crispy. I turned them once through that baking even though the recipe didn't require it. Enjoy!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 17, 2013

      This is the first and only biscotti recipe I've ever tried and they are so good, I don't want to try any others. Be sure and use butter and not margarine, tastes so much better. I also put sliced almonds in the dough before mixing, they break up in the dough and make it prettier. I've given these to friends and family and everyone loves them.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 24, 2012

      It's good half baked--I know that's not really biscotti, but I don't like the idea of dipping stuff into my drinks. I just wanted something that wasn't a brownie and wasn't a cookie but was nice and chocolaty. This did the trick (at 350 as some reviewers suggested). I used chocolate almond bark instead of white chocolate [which I don't like and didn't have]. Turned out nice, but I'll want more chocolate in it next time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 21, 2010

      I made these for a baby shower. They were a huge hit... Nt one was left and they tasted fabulous!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 05, 2010

      5 stars for taste... but i'm quite disappointed. i needed to make 80... so i decided to triple the recipe. it says it makes 32, but i only got 18... which took me from 3 batches to 5. (not to mention i broke 3) i've made two batches, but i give up. i don't have enough chocolate left to make the extra 2 batches. i'll make this again for my family, it really is very yummy... but i definitely wouldn't make it for a big crowd.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 16, 2009

      While these came out tasting very good, even following Madi's alternative baking instructions they crumbled quite badly when cutting them and I ended up with a lot of small pieces.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 15, 2009

      Yum!! These were my first attempt ever at making biscotti. I followed your directions exactly and the resulting cookies were wonderful. I left mine out after cooling for an addtional 2 hours (covered by some parchment paper) before storing and this resulted in the perfect crispness for dunking in coffee. I shared some with friends but will be making another batch to stash in the freezer for future indulgences. Thanks Nancy Van Ess. **Edit - I made the second batch and used Hershey's Special Dark Cocoa (a blend of natural and dutched cocoa) and was amazed that this recipe could have even more flavor - and the color was intense too.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 14, 2009

      Thanks to the other reviewers for their suggestions. I upped the cocoa and lessened the flour, lowered the initial baking temp. Turned out great, albeit a bit crumbly when slicing. I need a better serrated knife, I think. Good recipe! Next time thinking of hazel nuts or almonds or maybe mint extract.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 08, 2008

      These were wonderfu!!! I did take some of the advice from others and lower the oven temp for the first baking. Also I was having problems with the dough sticking to my hands while forming the logs so for the second batch I sprayed a little cooking spray on my hands and it did the trick. I will definitely make these again! They may even be my holiday treat to give out to friends and family next year!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 26, 2008

      I've used this recipe several times, making some changes for my own tastes. SInce I don't like white chocolate, I like to add craisins and/or walnuts instead. I've also added slightly more cocoa in place of some of the flour to give it even more chocolate taste. They always turn out great!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 12, 2008

      My wife loved it! Great recipe, easy to make.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 06, 2008

      Wow! This was my first attempt to make biscotti for my husband and he was impressed. They turned out exactly like the store bought kind.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 03, 2007

      I love biscotti, and this recipe has the perfect texture and flavor! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 22, 2007

      I have been making many different biscotti recipes over the last year hoping to find one that had texture like the ones in my favorite coffee shop. This has come the closest. I didn't have a white baking bar and only had about a 1/8 cup of chocolate chips. So I added a chopped up Hershy Candy Bar and some pecans (trying to clean out the cupboards :) and it worked out well.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 23, 2007

      Unfortunately I did not have much luck with this biscotti recipe. The flavor was great, but it was very crumbly and did not keep it's shape.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 20, 2006

      This is a great recipe, but I did alter it somewhat. First off, I took the advice of other reviewers and turned down the temp (350 and then reduced to 325 for the second baking). Also, I chilled the dough before baking, as it made it easier to shape it. I also added slivered almonds and dried cranberries and instead of putting the white chocolate in the dough, I melted it and drizzled it on after baking and cooling. I put these in jars and intend to give them away as Christmas presents. Thanks for an easy and great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 12, 2006

      I, too, had trouble with them being too crumbly when slicing. Otherwise, great flavor, hits all of the chocolate receptors!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 21, 2004

      Chocolate biscotti & coffee... heaven! This is a good biscottti recipe. The directions are clear & resulted in a nice, crispy biscotti. I used white chocolate chips & bittersweet chocolate chunks, as that was what I had in the pantry. I spread melted white chocolate on part of the biscotti to dress them up for Christmas presents.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 29, 2004

      Excellent - and much easier than I expected! I do a bunch of baking, but I had never tried a biscotti or mandelbread before. This was great! Only modification: I didn't have any white baking bits so I used nearly 2x the chocolate chips called for. Yum!! I like chocolate better anyway... Would probably be even better with 1 tsp of instant coffee granules mixed in to enhance the chocolate flavor. Will try that next.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 01, 2004

      Sooo good! I only had semi sweet chocolate so I used that in place of the white. We really loved them, and they're not overly sweet. I even sneaked a piece before the second baking, and it was like a soft cookie. After the last baking, it was crunchy, and very good dunked into a big glass of cold milk.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Double Chocolate Chunk Biscotti

    Serving Size: 1 (23 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 32

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 96.9
     
    Calories from Fat 44
    45%
    Total Fat 4.9 g
    7%
    Saturated Fat 2.9 g
    14%
    Cholesterol 17.4 mg
    5%
    Sodium 48.1 mg
    2%
    Total Carbohydrate 12.8 g
    4%
    Dietary Fiber 0.8 g
    3%
    Sugars 6.3 g
    25%
    Protein 1.8 g
    3%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites