11 Reviews

I'm giving this five stars because it's a great basic recipe. I read all the reviews prior to my first attempt...so I added one egg to the mix to help avoid the dryness complaint. I also used two small bananas-not bothering to measure but I'm sure it was a bit more than the 1/2 C. called for. I think the most significant switch I made was using buttermilk instead of regular milk! (This also allowed me to slightly decrease the baking soda.) I used an 8x8 pan and the taste and texture of this cake was phenomenal! (I omitted the lemon juice, too) I wish I had more "dying" bananas so I could make it again right now!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Singin'Chef February 03, 2009

Delicious! I was looking for a chocolate version of a banana treat and found this. I didn't measure the banana, but just used two large ripe bananas. It turned out moist and fluffy! I'll try applesauce next time to try to make it a little healthier ;)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LindsayJenkins October 07, 2013

Nice cake! Reminds me of my Chocolate Zucchini Cake (Chocolate Zucchini Cake), but with bananas instead of zucchini. Nice alternative to making banana bread every time you have bananas to use up. I used spelt flour and almond milk to suit our dietary needs and it turned out fine and very moist. Next time I may try subbing the applesauce for the butter as others suggested. I did only bake this for 30 minutes and it was done in that time.
NOTE: Today I used applesauce instead of the butter and it worked out well. I also chose to make it into mini muffins this time. I baked them at 350 for about 8 minutes. I got about 5 dozen mini muffins.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
berry271 June 26, 2012

Easy to make and darn good too. I varied from the recipe a little bit - only 3/4 c sugar, added extra cocoa powder and one egg (followed comments from other reviewers). Worked out quite well. Will make this one again. Thanks for posting Deb :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
TwoManyDogs December 06, 2010

This is an easy cake to make with good results. I subbed applesauce for the butter and no one was the wiser. Thanks for the recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cilantro in Canada October 25, 2009

I used 1c whole wheat flour, 1/2c Splenda, 2 medium-sized bananas, and added the liquid from the defrosting bananas to total the 3/4 cup milk. It came out nice! I would add more cocoa next time as it is a very light brown color and hardly tastes chocolatey except for the chips.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ellen Vig September 17, 2008

This was a quick & easy tasty cake. The texture was a little dense and dry, though.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Debbb December 30, 2007

Nice light cake...perfect for when you want something sweet but not too heavy. I put in two bananas which equaled about 3/4 cup and exchanged some of the sugar for splenda. The cake was done in my oven after about 30 mins. Wonderful recipe! Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Vino p.o. prn December 12, 2007

this is a great cake,I have had this same recipe for years but mine calls for 1/3 cup melted butter which makes the cake very moist. hope this helps

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cookin In Texas November 04, 2006

This makes a nice snacking cake. I may have been a bit shy of bananas due to the fact that the cake was a little dry. I used 1/2 Splenda and 1/2 sugar and a full cup of milk. I would suggest making this the day before you plan to serve it as the flavor gets better after it has a chance to sit overnight.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
PaulaG November 22, 2005
Double Chocolate Banana Snack Cake