Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Double Chocolate Banana Snack Cake Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Double Chocolate Banana Snack Cake

    Average Rating:

    11 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-11 of 11

    Sort by:

    • on February 03, 2009

      I'm giving this five stars because it's a great basic recipe. I read all the reviews prior to my first attempt...so I added one egg to the mix to help avoid the dryness complaint. I also used two small bananas-not bothering to measure but I'm sure it was a bit more than the 1/2 C. called for. I think the most significant switch I made was using buttermilk instead of regular milk! (This also allowed me to slightly decrease the baking soda.) I used an 8x8 pan and the taste and texture of this cake was phenomenal! (I omitted the lemon juice, too) I wish I had more "dying" bananas so I could make it again right now!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 07, 2013

      Delicious! I was looking for a chocolate version of a banana treat and found this. I didn't measure the banana, but just used two large ripe bananas. It turned out moist and fluffy! I'll try applesauce next time to try to make it a little healthier ;)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 26, 2012

      Nice cake! Reminds me of my Chocolate Zucchini Cake (Chocolate Zucchini Cake), but with bananas instead of zucchini. Nice alternative to making banana bread every time you have bananas to use up. I used spelt flour and almond milk to suit our dietary needs and it turned out fine and very moist. Next time I may try subbing the applesauce for the butter as others suggested. I did only bake this for 30 minutes and it was done in that time.
      NOTE: Today I used applesauce instead of the butter and it worked out well. I also chose to make it into mini muffins this time. I baked them at 350 for about 8 minutes. I got about 5 dozen mini muffins.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 06, 2010

      Easy to make and darn good too. I varied from the recipe a little bit - only 3/4 c sugar, added extra cocoa powder and one egg (followed comments from other reviewers). Worked out quite well. Will make this one again. Thanks for posting Deb :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 25, 2009

      This is an easy cake to make with good results. I subbed applesauce for the butter and no one was the wiser. Thanks for the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 17, 2008

      I used 1c whole wheat flour, 1/2c Splenda, 2 medium-sized bananas, and added the liquid from the defrosting bananas to total the 3/4 cup milk. It came out nice! I would add more cocoa next time as it is a very light brown color and hardly tastes chocolatey except for the chips.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 30, 2007

      This was a quick & easy tasty cake. The texture was a little dense and dry, though.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 12, 2007

      Nice light cake...perfect for when you want something sweet but not too heavy. I put in two bananas which equaled about 3/4 cup and exchanged some of the sugar for splenda. The cake was done in my oven after about 30 mins. Wonderful recipe! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 04, 2006

      this is a great cake,I have had this same recipe for years but mine calls for 1/3 cup melted butter which makes the cake very moist. hope this helps

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 22, 2005

      This makes a nice snacking cake. I may have been a bit shy of bananas due to the fact that the cake was a little dry. I used 1/2 Splenda and 1/2 sugar and a full cup of milk. I would suggest making this the day before you plan to serve it as the flavor gets better after it has a chance to sit overnight.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 11, 2005

      This was just a nice simple easy to make cake. The touch of banana added to the taste of the cake. Good simple recipe. Thanks Debra.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Double Chocolate Banana Snack Cake

    Serving Size: 1 (952 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 3072.7
     
    Calories from Fat 1000
    32%
    Total Fat 111.1 g
    171%
    Saturated Fat 67.3 g
    336%
    Cholesterol 188.1 mg
    62%
    Sodium 3075.5 mg
    128%
    Total Carbohydrate 507.1 g
    169%
    Dietary Fiber 19.9 g
    79%
    Sugars 281.3 g
    1125%
    Protein 40.9 g
    81%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites