8 Reviews

I've made these many times over the last several years and love them. I do make a few changes based on a review on another site where I first got this recipe. I reduce the splenda by 2 TBLS. Increase cocoa by 2TBLS. (This will add 40 calories.) I also add 1 teaspoon coconut extract and 1 tsp butter extract. These are wonderful and help me diet withought feeling deprived.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Blueberry September 22, 2008

Yummy! I followed I Can't Believe It's Healthy's suggestions and used 1/2 c ww flour with 1 c flour and 1/2 sugar instead of Splenda. Very good! Thank you. Reviewed for Healthy Choices ABC tag game.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mliss29 November 29, 2009

These are amazing muffins! Fudgy! I had the fortune of having oat flour to use instead of regular flour--lower in carbs & a nice healthy grain, too. I also used the applesauce & loved the sour cream part (I always have extra to use up!) Tasted great; the black bananas are perfect for this recipe. Thanks so much for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LUVMY2BOYS July 31, 2009

Wow! These baked up like a dream --they were great. I easily got 12 muffins (and not flat ones, either). I did substiture low fat sour cream, because I didn't have fat free.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kim S. January 28, 2009

oh goodness! I made these the other day and LOVED THEM! they kept well, even after a week! I used 1 cup white flour, 1/2 cup ww, as well as 1/2 cup regular sugar instead of splenda. will make again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
I Can't Believe It's Healthy September 12, 2008

I made these muffins this morning as part of the Zaar game Healthy Choices ABC 2008. I made just a few changes because of what I had on hand: 1) I used unsweetened applesauce instead of the oil 2) I used light sour cream because that is all that I had 3) I used regular sized milk chocolate chips as I did not have any mini size ones. 4) My baking time was exactly 20 minutes and they were perfect! I brought the batch to work (by the way, I got 12 muffins out of the batch) and only came home with one! That's good though because I think my daughter will love it! They are very moist, chocolatey and bananaey and I will give them a five star review. I posted two photos this morning. Thanks so much for posting. How fun!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
senseicheryl July 25, 2008

I was hoping and hoping that these would not have the weird texture taste that sometimes comes along with all splenda sweetened baked goods. And luckily, it was very very mild! My husband and I really enjoyed them, though the kids thought they were just a bit "off." I have old muffin tins which are small and this easily made a dozen for me. I'm glad I tried it, though I don't think it will replace my usual chocolate banana muffin recipe. Thanks so much for posting! Made for Healthy Choices ABC.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ladypit May 04, 2008

I used dark chocolate chips & dark cocoa, also sub'd yoghurt & cornstarch (per Zaar suggestion) cause was out of sour cream. Mine made 11 full sized muffins in a 12 muffin tray. Still have some more bananas so will make more tomorrow..think I will add a little coconut in place of chips for a change of pace. EDIT Did make again with the coconut & 1/2 teaspoon double strength vanilla extract. They were great. I think the vanilla brightened the chocolate flavor.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
vaflnc October 23, 2007
Double Chocolate-Banana Muffins (Healthy)