9 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I joined food.com specifically to write this review.

This casserole is *awesome*!

My wife made it, with a few modifications: she left out the mushrooms, added summer squash along with the zucchini, and cooked the rice for 20 min before adding it in.

Now, I'm not a fan of summer squash, and zucchini was put on earth to give to neighbors. So I wasn't looking forward to this.

But, being the dutiful husband and parental-example, I tried it. *Damn!* this stuff's *good*!

She made it a second time with fewer vegetables - I think it was better when it was chock-full of vegetables. (wait... that's chock full of *summer squash and zucchini*??? wow.....)

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
AlanJayWeiner August 13, 2010

This was one of the best recipes I've made in a long time. I cooked it a bit longer than directed since my rice wasn't quite done, but the finished product was AMAZING. I will definitely make this again. Thank you for sharing such a HEALTHY one dish meal!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
L-Burden September 17, 2010

I made this for dinner tonight and it was excellent. With my daughter and 3 teenage boys here it didn't last long. Next time I make it I will double the recipe. It' so nice to find a recipe that doesn't use a cream soup, and has so much flavor. Thanks for posting it.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Grandma Winnie May 17, 2014

I was a bit skeptical while preparing this meal but it turned to be FANTASTIC! Thank you! A definite keeper!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ComicTragedy August 07, 2013

This dish is scrumptious, healthy, and so easy to make! I mostly stuck to the ingredients and portions listed. I used low-sodium chicken broth and wild rice & I also used a good bit more chili powder (mixed in with the chicken/veg portion as well as tomato topping) because we like things spicy. It definitely needed more time after 1 hour for the rice to finish cooking so I left it in another 30 minutes and it was perfect. The chicken is tender and juicy, the veggies were soft and highly flavorful, the rice wasn't mushy at all and we loved it! I highly recommend this recipe, thanks for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Hotarri June 23, 2011

Complete hit with the entire family! To pull it together quickly, I used pre-cooked rice (cooked in our rice maker), left out the extra chicken broth/water, and used pre-cooked chicken from the night before.. Also left out mushrooms since we had none on hand. Popped into the oven to warm everything and melt Parmesan I sprinkled on top. Thanks for such an easy, and very yummy, dinner recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Girle May 31, 2011

This casserole is good! I will admit, I had my doubts when I put it in the oven for it was appearances were less than appeal. Very versatile with types of vegetables to use, sure to find something for everyone. I will kick up the seasonings a bit, salt/maybe some cayenne pepper for personal taste. Topped with shredded Parmesan after taking it out of the oven. Thank you for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mtnmel February 03, 2011

Awesome!!!! This was exactly the recipe I was looking for! I had leftover chicken and lots of zucchini and tomatoes. I didn't have any rosemary so I left it out and I didn't have any mushrooms so I left those out too. I added about a cup of grated mozzarella cheese to the top before baking. It was great and the whole family loved it....even my picky grandson! :) Thanks so much for this recipe! I will make it again VERY soon!!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
nancy-koop1 August 05, 2008

This was really quite good! I do wish I could give it 4 1/2 stars because I think 1/2 tsp of rosemary is too much, but I rounded up and gave it 5 because it is just so darn flavorful. I used 1/4 tsp of rosemary, and that was fine. With 1/2 tsp, I wouldn't have been able to taste the thyme at all. I didn't have any mushrooms, so I added an extra cup or so of zucchini. Also, I only used 2 cups of chicken, and that was plenty. I served it with freshly-grated parmesan on top, and it was really delicious. I'd like to try it again with brown rice for a super-healthy and yummy one-dish meal. This would also be just fine without the tomato topping. Thanks for posting this one; I'll make it often!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JeriBinNC July 14, 2007
Dottie's Zucchini, Chicken, and Rice Casserole