Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Dot's Cheese Bacon Puffs Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Dot's Cheese Bacon Puffs

    Average Rating:

    22 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 22

    Sort by:

    • on September 02, 2010

      I just finished making these delish puffs. After reading the reviews of flattening, I decidedd to experiment and I think I have got it. I added 3 tablespoons additional flour which help it to stay together, ( the look like bon bons). I used a small ice cream scoop and used a silpad. After taking them out of the oven, I immediately had one and found that it was bland and was missing something.I had some leftover bacon grease from breakfast and decided to brush the tops with bacon grease and sprinkled with coarse sea salt and coarse pepper. It made them perfect. Next time I make them I will add the salt and pepper in the batter, plus more cheese and maybe a dash of hot sauce. Yummo I hope this helps.

      Sorry, I forgot to mention that I halved the recipe on everything except the egg.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 20, 2010

      Hey MissMaggie, how come you got this recipe and not the rest of us? Sounds great and I will try it to take on the boat this weekend. . What others do you have up your sleeve? Dotsdaughter

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 08, 2011

      This was a wonderful after school snack that could be whipped up in just a few mins. I did as other reviewers suggested and added extra flour(3 Tbsp) as well a using an ice cream scoop . They puffed up beautifully. They were gone in half an hour . I used regular cheddar cheese and thought they needed a bit of salt but that's subjective. Next time I'm going to add chopped chives . Thanks for sharing.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 04, 2014

      I made these for new years, doubling the recipe.They were a hit! I'm planning on making them a bit smaller next time, and adding both salt and pepper. They did flattened out, so I'll use more flour next time. Otherwise, they were perfect!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 20, 2011

      What can I say that has'nt been said,,,DELICIOUS!!!,,sorry that's already been said,,I know, but they are!
      I used gluten free flour mix and a teaspoon of baking powder instead of self raising (for obvious reasons) and they were perfect. Great for an on the go snack. Thank you MissMaggie, and thank you Dot.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 02, 2010

      These are very good and easy to make. Mine also flattned out, but went great with the soup we had for dinner tonight. Thank You. Made for ZWT6 Zingo. No-Nonsense Nibblers.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 28, 2010

      Wow, these are so good! Mine also spread out, they were more like little mini-biscuits. I think these would be great with soup or a salad. A new family favorite! Made for ZWT6 Zingo.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 27, 2010

      These are a mouthful of cheesy, smokey goodness and everyone loved them. As you can see by the picture for some reason, mine did not stay in nice little balls like everyone elses photo so don't know what I did wrong there. Next time I think I'll use my mini cupcake pan so that the shape is retained. That little problem (and it's mine I know) didn't take away one iota from the great taste. Made for ZWT6 ZINGO

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 27, 2010

      I wish I would of known Dot! Adored these and I agree with the other reviewers, the aroma from the oven despite being almost 100 degrees here on the farm, still brought everyone coming home and banging the front door. I followed this exactly and even used wonderful grainy mustard that I saved for a special occasion. Made for ZWT 6 2010

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 26, 2010

      Yummy and so easy! I just ate the first one right out of the oven because they smelled so good I couldn't wait! I used Homemade Self-Rising Flour - Substitute as I didn't have any at home. Oh and I made a little boo boo - I used grainy honey dijon mustard by mistake, but they're still fantastic! Now where to hide them so my BF doesn't eat them all himself... Made for ZWT #6!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 26, 2010

      WOW these are great and addictive! They were gobbled up and everyone wants them again so I think I will be making this recipe again this week. Thank you for posting. It went straight into my favorites folder!! ZWT6

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 25, 2010

      These are really good, couldn't stop eating them!! I did put in less onion (about 1/2 of a large onion) since I have to DS's that do not like onions (so they think). There was still enough onions to give these a wonderful flavor. Made for ZWT6 Zingo.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 25, 2010

      These were wonderful! My family gobbled these up in no time flat. Great flavor and very easy to make. Made for X-tra Hot Dishes ZWT

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 25, 2010

      These are REALLY good. I wasn't sure if I should cook the bacon first... I didn't and it cooked just fine in puffs. I HATE cutting onions, so like always... I used dried onion flakes (about 1/4 cup). I also had no self-rising flour, so I added 1/2 tsp of salt and 1 tsp of baking powder and they rose just fine. I love these! Very easy to put together. Made for ZWT6 - zingo

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 23, 2010

      Great appy, MissMaggie! I loved the fact that they were baked instead of fried. I have nothing personal against frying, mind you, but I do like to lighten up when I can. I think I would, also, like to add a little bit of jalapeno. Thnx for sharing your recipe. Made for the Voracious Vagabonds of ZWT 6.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 22, 2010

      I thought this might be a little too much onion, so I decreased it....but the onions around here are large! Otherwise, I made as posted. They were oniony enough, so I didn't decrease the onion too much. A really good appetizer. I'll add jalapenos next time...I felt it needed some heat. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 22, 2010

      This is my kind of snack/appy! I did cut the recipe in half and also used finely chopped green onions (with the green tops too.) I wonder how well they would freeze? Thanks for posting MissMaggie. Made for ZWT 6.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 22, 2010

      These were great! I used a mix of gouda and cheddar cheese and a little less onion. The result was delicious. They would be a hit at any party. I could see adding some chopped jalapeno next time. Thank you for sharing! Made for Swizzle Chicks and ZWT6.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 22, 2010

      Lovely little morsels of oniony-cheesy-bacon goodness. Easy to make, too. Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 07, 2009

      I thought the amount of onion in this recipe might be a bit off. I used one medium-small onion finely chopped and it measured 3/4 cup. As it was, it was very oniony. I may try it again with 2 scallions instead. Pretty little puffs though.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Dot's Cheese Bacon Puffs

    Serving Size: 1 (772 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 64.2
     
    Calories from Fat 28
    44%
    Total Fat 3.2 g
    4%
    Saturated Fat 1.7 g
    8%
    Cholesterol 15.1 mg
    5%
    Sodium 173.6 mg
    7%
    Total Carbohydrate 5.7 g
    1%
    Dietary Fiber 0.3 g
    1%
    Sugars 0.4 g
    1%
    Protein 3.0 g
    6%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites