Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Dorito Taco Salad Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Dorito Taco Salad

    Average Rating:

    18 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-18 of 18

    Sort by:

    • on June 09, 2010

      It was a huge hit!! My sister and nieces came for a visit and I made this and she asked for the recipe. I had to use fritos as the store didn't have doritos when I was there. Must have had a huge sale!! Anyway, delicious....will make this quite often.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 18, 2010

      Yum, yum! This brings me back to my childhood> I forgot all about it an was so excited whn I saw it> My mother used to make this and it was one of our favorites. 20 years later, my teenagers love this! In fact, they are upset when they are not here when I make it!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 01, 2009

      This is a must have for my family, we have made this for years and it started with one of my sisters many my ex boyfriends making this yummy dinner, snack, or take along. We add onions and whatever else salad topping you like.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 10, 2009

      My mom used to make this for us and I had a SERIOUS craving for it but couldn't remember the type of dressing to use. It was so good. The only thing I did differently was use ground turkey instead of beef, just because I don't like beef. Also I do like to use the mild taco seasoning instead of original, it gives a little kick. Thanks for posting, I LOVE this salad!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 26, 2009

      This is REALLY good! I was a little unsure about it, but I decided to try it because it is so different. Boy is it different! In a GOOD way! I LOVED this! It's very different and unique! I saw Paula Deen do one kinda like this, but it wasn't as good. This one is great with ALOT of flavor!! Thanks for a new addition to my family's menu!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 20, 2009

      I had this salad a few years ago at a cookout, and loved it, and have been trying to find the recipe, and am so glad I did! I used ground turkey.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 12, 2008

      Wow, flashbacks to potlucks of the 70's. This is really good, and easy. Our only change is kidney beans, drained and rinsed, instead of the ranch beans. Even the 7 year old DS, who doesn't tend to like salad, has seconds when this is for dinner. Thanks for posting.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 11, 2008

      I was given this recipe by a friend, more than 30 years ago, with the exception being that we don't put any ground beef in it, and it is just as tasty. We use drained, rinsed pinto beans instead of the chili beans, and we add a little fresh cilantro and chopped green onion. You can use any flavor Doritos, but don't substitute plain tortilla chips---the flavor just isn't as good. You can even use fat-free Catalina dressing---it tastes the same to us. I don't add the dressing and chips until it is served, that way everything is fresh and crisp.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 11, 2008

      The best Taco Salad ever!!! This is the way my mom made Taco Salad too!!! I now make this taco salad for my family. I am so glad to see this taco salad recipe posted!!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 06, 2014

      Scrumptious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 22, 2013

      Every now & then I get a huge craving for this- in fact I sometimes make it specifically when my husband isn't home because I'll eat the WHOLE THING myself! I add avocados, sliced black olives, jalapeños, & corn. Making it today & I can hardly wait!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 27, 2013

      I made this for dinner the other night and it was gobbled up by my family. I make my taco salad like this also, except I don't add the beans. I will from now on. They add that something extra. thank you for sharing with us, I will repeat your dish for sure.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 14, 2013

      amazing!! Will be making this for forever!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 20, 2013

    • on August 12, 2011

      This is almost exactly the same recipe I use - only difference is that I mix 1 c. Catalina with 1 c. medium salsa for the dressing - give a bit more "zip". Great recipe and it is always a hit at a potluck - just bring the chips and dressing separate and mix it up right before serving time. Thanks for posting this!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 19, 2011

      So easy & good! I used a lot more lettuce, mixed the ranch style beans and beef together, and topped it with sharp cheddar, onions, and tomatoes. I drizzled the dressing on top of the salad after it was on the plates to avoid using too much. We didn't even use half the bottle and had plenty on the salad. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 10, 2011

      A similar but different recipe was created by the ladies of a church across for NWB in Des Moines,Ia.
      hamburger, red onion, green pepper, drained dark red kidney beans,cheddar cheese, lettuce,
      tomatoes, It was made with corn chips at that time and the dressing was "oil free honey Russian",
      There was no taco seasoning and I don't remember their being anything like Doritos.
      I still make this, everyone still likes it. The only change I have made is the dressing. Can't find the Oil Free Honey Russian anymore. I use the best sweet french I can identify. Enjoy, and thanks to the ladies of St Paul's Episcopal Church at 9th and High, Des Moines Iowa. Miss your
      annual salad luncheon. I drain the hamburger and kidney beans in a colander over night,

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 11, 2008

      My mom makes this too. It's so good, my inlaws asked me to bring it for Thanksgiving and Christmas, though it's more of a Summer treat. The catalina always makes people say HMM what is that. Excellent Recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Dorito Taco Salad

    Serving Size: 1 (270 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 981.5
     
    Calories from Fat 609
    62%
    Total Fat 67.6 g
    104%
    Saturated Fat 15.1 g
    75%
    Cholesterol 71.1 mg
    23%
    Sodium 2157.0 mg
    89%
    Total Carbohydrate 66.9 g
    22%
    Dietary Fiber 7.5 g
    30%
    Sugars 20.8 g
    83%
    Protein 28.2 g
    56%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites