Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Dorito Casserole Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Dorito Casserole

    Average Rating:

    19 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-19 of 19

    Sort by:

    • on April 26, 2003

      Excellent and easy. I didn't have plain Doritos, so I used plain tortilla chips. I also tossed in some olives with the sauce. Actually, I was eating some Nacho Cheese Doritos and wondering what to fix for dinner when I remembered this recipie. DH liked it and had two huge platesfull. Too easy and the ingredients are usually in the pantry.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 27, 2007

      i have been making this forever, but i use shredded chicken instead of beef...i will be trying it with beef next time!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 06, 2007

      This was a nice recipe. It was pretty easy to assemble. The nacho flavored tortilla chips we used made it a bit too spicy for the kids (combined with the Rotel tomatoes). I topped mine with sour cream to cancel some of the "heat." I did find some gaping holes in the recipe once I started making it. For example, were we supposed to use standard (10.75 ounce) or larger cans of mushroom soup? (I think 10.75 ounce cans were the right size.) Second, were we supposed to drain the tomatoes? I did not. How big of a bag of Doritos did you use? We had a jumbo bag and did not use all of it. A single-serving bag would be too small. What size was intended? Lastly, what size casserole dish would you suggest? I used a 9 x 13 glass casserole and had no problem. I used the single cup of cheese, but it was too sparse for my casserole size, so the cheese turned brown, as did the Doritos style chips that were not hidden under cheese. I would double or even triple the cheese for a casserole dish as big as mine. I will likely experiment with this recipe to see what works for us. For instance, I am curious to try it with cream cheese in place of mushroom soup. That sounds yummy! I will also add in a layer of beans (pinto or black beans) to add another dimension. I will not start with a layer of Doritos since my bottom layer came out as mush. Lastly, this is not a 2 serving recipe. This will serve 4-6 easily. This was not a "pretty" dish and was not multi-dimensional, but it has good potential.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 27, 2007

      Delicious! I substituted ground turkey for the ground beef and used nacho cheese flavored doritos. Next time, I think I'll used baked Nacho Cheese Doritos to reduce the fat content even more. This definately makes 4-6 servings, not 2 as listed in the nutrition box. I'll make this again.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 17, 2006

      It has been along time since I have had this casserole. Our former Pastor's wife made this for potlucks. I added a 15 oz. can of drained and rinsed pinto beans since that is how she made hers. It tasted just liked I remembered. Thanks Julesong. Bullwinkle.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 02, 2006

      This recipe was good and very easy to make. I think the servings are off, it easily serves 4-6 people which is a good thing since the calories for 2 servings is over 1200 (not even including the chips)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 19, 2005

      This is a winner! Yet another easy recipe with wonderful taste. I added the cheese at the last 5 mins of baking. Served myself with a spoonful of Sour Cream on top. I am very happy with it. I had some left over Soup/Rotel mix left over: so I thought it would be wonderful with some chips later. I just love recipes you can use in other ways. Thank You, Hugs

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 05, 2014

      made this with velveeta instead of shredded and seems like it worked better..covered doritos on top layer much better. Also used our local grocers skillet mix ground beef mixturem(ground beef thats pre seasoned) and its super cheap. #lbs of it cost 4 dollars and its good in casseroles like this , chili, spagetti etc. I loved it. Great quick/cheap emal for a family of 4

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 15, 2014

      It's amazing!!! It's best when you use half cool ranch doritos and half nacho cheese doritos :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 07, 2013

      Now that I'm done with school, I cook more, and I love this one! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 15, 2013

      I've been making this with my husband for a few years now and always like to add new things and change it up. I like using shredded beef (to make it more of a tamale pie), homestyle potatoes sometimes, beans, salsa and shredded cheese during the last few minutes of baking. so easy and so good! Everyone I know thinks it's gross until they actually taste it

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 23, 2008

      What an excellent dish for kids. They love the "dorito" ingredient. Leftovers were welcomed the next day. The cream of mushroom part kind of sounded different, but it was the perfect ingredient, because it tasted awesome!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 23, 2006

      My SO liked this alot...but he liked the leftovers even more.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 18, 2006

    • on May 10, 2006

      have never made this before but i am going to make it again. the kids loved it. many thanks for a great family meal.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 27, 2006

      This was a great easy meal. Very tasty. Thank you for the Recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 25, 2006

      I've seen this sort of recipe alot, but have never made it till now. We love it!! We all had second helpings and dh ate the remainder the next day. I didn't have 2 cans of cream of mushroom, so I had to use a cream of celery too, but that didn't seem to affect the flavor any. Very good recipe and really easy! Will definately be making this one again and putting it in my perminent recipe book. Thanks!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 20, 2006

      Not a fan of this dish. I did not rate it because I had to make a couple small changes to suit my picky bf. I used Cool Ranch Doritos because they're the only kind he likes and I used regular tomatoes without any heat. Neither of us cared for it. I will not be making again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 18, 2006

      I also used plain tortilla chips. I love how easy this is and that you can make it from pantry staples. I omitted the beef and added sauteed onion, garlic and red bell pepper. Very adaptable recipe. Would also be good with a can or two of drained beans layered in.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Dorito Casserole

    Serving Size: 1 (1205 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 2

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 1986.4
     
    Calories from Fat 1067
    53%
    Total Fat 118.6 g
    182%
    Saturated Fat 36.6 g
    183%
    Cholesterol 213.5 mg
    71%
    Sodium 4304.0 mg
    179%
    Total Carbohydrate 151.0 g
    50%
    Dietary Fiber 10.5 g
    42%
    Sugars 16.7 g
    66%
    Protein 78.3 g
    156%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites