Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Don't Throw Away That Turkey Carcass!!!! Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Don't Throw Away That Turkey Carcass!!!!

    Average Rating:

    22 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 22

    Sort by:

    • on December 16, 2002

      Mirj, a good recipe for turkey stock. I did leave a little more meat on the carcass than you suggested, but everything else was the same. The vegetables give the stock another depth which will be wonderful in the soup. Thanks for giving us this wonderful recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 15, 2002

      I made this stock so I could make turkey noodle soup. Thanks for a good basic stock recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 13, 2009

      I threw the spices that I had inserted into my turkey carcass into this mix as well, and it turned out wonderfully well. I strained it, then put it in the fridge for 24 hours to let the fat congeal on top. Then I scraped off all the fat and put the stock into ice cube trays and froze it. Once frozen, I threw it into ziplock bags...5-6 cubes = 1 cup, depending on the size of your ice cubes. I'd measure it the first time, then whenever you need a cup of stock, you'll know how many ice cubes to pull! Thats how I do my chicken, beef, seafood, and veggie stock, and it works great for me! No waste, no fat, and easy to do. Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 12, 2011

      Mirj- this was the perfect ending to the SuperBowl turkey.I ended up throwing the whole thing in an 8 qt stockpot, let it simmer all day on the stove and then strained it last night and refrigerated. I put the broth into 6- 1 qt containers and 4 1/2 qt containers. These will be perfect for making soups through the next few weeks. Today I am going to make Turkey Soup With Leftover Cleanup
      . to offset the 5 inches of snow we received overnight and it is still snowing. Made fror SoupFest2011

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 29, 2007

      Great recipe. When I make it I don't peel the onions and I use brown or Spanish onions. I find the outer skins give the broth a nice golden color. After done cooking, I strain out all the solids including the onion skins. I also add parsley, celery and garlic.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 17, 2004

      This is just like I like to make mine. I hate to throw anything out. The only difference is I like to add a potato, and a few sprigs of fresh parsley from the garden, and a pinch of freshly ground sage. Wonderful, Mirj!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 25, 2011

      Wow.... this was AWESOME!!!!! I added a few things but nothing major..a few garlic cloves, carrots, poultry seasoning, sage and parsley.... not much, just to taste. I LOVED this recipe. Thank you so much for sharing.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 27, 2009

      What a $$ saver this is! I have used the turkey carcass in the past-but never thought to save the carcass as broth! I buy spices in bulk so I used 2 TBSp onion powder and dehydrated carrots. After this cooled, I skimmed the fat from the surface. I measured out 14 oz. per freezer bag (the avg. can size that recipes call for) and now have 9 bags of golden glory in the freezer. I will sub. this for recipes that call for chicken broth. Chicken/Turkey-the same to me. Thank You!!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 26, 2007

      I hate to waste anything so this recipe was great. I didn't have bay leaves so obviously I didn't use them. I did add celery and a little garlic and let everything cook for about and 1-1/2 hours. The broth made a delicious turkey noodle soup. I guess I'll have to try this with the chicken bones next. Thanks.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 25, 2007

      This is great! I also add 1 tsp celery seed. I mash the vegies through a colandar, take out the thyme and bay leaves before you do it. I like the bits of color in the broth. I freeze in cubes, then bags, great for cooking rice, or noodles, or just plain broth for soup.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 29, 2009

      You've motivated me! I've been hording a turkey carcass in my freezer since Christmas. Today I threw the entire thing in its frozen state into the stock pot and fired it up. There's a pleasurable feeling in knowing I have homemade stock ready and waiting. James Brown really said it best, "I FEEL GOOD!"

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 28, 2008

      I made this for turkey soup stock and we had it today for lunch. Delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 24, 2007

      I remember seeing this in my travels through the recipe site, and thank you so much for posting this. My husband with his stacks and stacks of science magazines and New York Times papers, asked if I knew of a recipe using the bones of the turkey. Looked up your recipe and 'voila', we can make use of the bones as well as the rest of the turkey! I thank you Mirj for reminding all of us to use and enjoy every last bit!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 15, 2007

      I love being able to make my own stock. I will be using this method from now on.....thank you....Stephanie

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 24, 2007

    • on November 28, 2006

      I also try to leave a little meat on the bones and then roast them along with the vegetables for about an hour or so. I add garlic cloves and sometimes parsnips when roasting and then throw everything in the pot to simmer with some celery,peppercorns, parsley and bay leaves. Usually the veg are done before the bones so I remove them and wait till the bones are nice and browned. Oh I forgot, I spray with a little olive oil before roasting. I never waste the bones and have even been known to take a carcass home on the plane with me (pre-9/11 of course)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 12, 2006

      Great recipe! I used to do this but....until I spotted your recipe while looking for turkey leftovers.I made a wonderful turkey vegetable soup with 1/2 and froze the other 1/2 for a later date. Thanks for sharing. Rita

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 16, 2004

      I made this in the pressure cooker for 45 minutes. It was wonderful! I will make this from now on. Thank You! I used for soup. :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 09, 2004

      This was so simple. I left a little extra meat on the bones and made baby food out of the stock, meat and vegetables. And still got 2 qts of stock.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 28, 2004

      This is so simple, and good! I boiled mine for 2-3 hours on low, because when I checked it after an hour, there wasnt much broth. I ended up with 4 ziplock quart bags of broth to use for later. Thanks so much for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Don't Throw Away That Turkey Carcass!!!!

    Serving Size: 1 (342 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 138.4
     
    Calories from Fat 4
    38%
    Total Fat 0.5 g
    0%
    Saturated Fat 0.1 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 93.0 mg
    3%
    Total Carbohydrate 32.3 g
    10%
    Dietary Fiber 7.1 g
    28%
    Sugars 15.1 g
    60%
    Protein 3.5 g
    7%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    turkey carcass

    thyme

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites