Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / "Don't Knock It Until You Try It" Beet Cake!! Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    "Don't Knock It Until You Try It" Beet Cake!!

    Average Rating:

    20 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 20

    Sort by:

    • on December 12, 2003

      Wonderful!!!! I am always trying to make something new. I thought this was the perfect b'day cake for my MIL (I was in charge of baking it for her b'day) It was out of this world. I will definitely make it again. The only thing I did different was add the zest of one lemon and use one cup of whole wheat flour with 1 cup of plain flour. This is definitely a keeper and I thank you for the wonderful addition to future birthdays. Cheers! Fay Almeida

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 15, 2008

      I am definitely NOT a cook and found this recipe impossible to screw up :-) I made it 3 different ways and each time it was fantastic. First , I stayed with the recipe other than using millet flour instead of a wheat flour. It came out awesome! Keeping the millet substitute on the 2nd trial, I used pulp discards from juicing beet root, carrot, apple, and a small amount of ginger (3 cups)----again, fantastic! Everything stayed the same on trial 3 except I had no walnuts. I substituted chopped almonds and pine nuts and again (the only nuts I had) and used the juice pulp discards as before. The batter seemed a bit dry this time, so I mixed a small amount of juice back in. It's not quite as "fabulous" as the first 2 results, but is still a totally yummy cake. Thanks for such a versatile, delicious, and goof proof recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 07, 2013

      I can't believe how yummy this cake is! Yes, I altered the recipe slightly based on what's in my cupboards; I used ginger and nutmeg in place of cinnamon (And always will now) I added a touch of molasses (1/8 C) and 1/4 C of cocoa. MissNezz, hugs and kisses for this recipe?a new favorite!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 02, 2005

      This was a wonderfully moist surprise!!! Not only could you NOT taste the beets but you could not see them either. They baked up light brown and so tasty. I had teens and toddlers eating their veggies. (Note I tried this with well drained canned beets-thinned sliced and diced--worked fine)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 23, 2004

      This cake is delicious even with out the vanilla which I forgot to add. Next time I'll have both coffee's before I start to bake!Really easy to make & looks lovely in a bundt pan. (Add about 20 min. baking time)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 22, 2013

      Fabulous. Only problem was that I used a pan that was too small and had some problems with the baking. But the taste was amazing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 19, 2013

      Wow!! This is definitely the moistest cake I have ever made. I increased the cinnamon & added nutmeg, cloves & ginger, topped it with cream cheese icing & it's a winner!! Thank you for sharing this recipe

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 08, 2013

      Very good recipe. It's kind of like carrot cake. For our taste, though, it was too sweet and not spicy enough, so when I make it again (and I will), I will use less sugar (maybe 1/2 cup less), more spices, and will also probably add more nuts and raisins as well. I think this recipe would also make great muffins.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 05, 2012

      I made this almost as written. I came up half cup short on the beets, so I grated up a small zucchini fresh from the garden to make up the difference. I mixed the eggs with sugar, added vanilla, then added the beets. Next I added gluten free flours, and the other dry ingredients. Stirred until all was moist and baked for 35 to 40 minutes. After it cooled, I frosted this thinly with cream cheese frosting. Then I put it into the fridge to chill for a couple hours. The kids loved this!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 19, 2011

      Got some beets in my weekly CSA and didn't want to make salad. Found this recipe and tried it exactly as written. SO GOOD! Very moist with a slight earthy hint (though this goes away the day after). Tastes a bit like carrot cake's cousin. Would be amazing with cream cheese frosting!
      Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 04, 2011

      What a great cake, and simple too. We always have way to many beets left over. This is a great way to use them up, and my family loves it. Will definitely use it again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 22, 2008

      A pleasant cake to use up some beets. I substitute mashed banana for half of the oil, and reduce the sugar by 1/3, so it's a little more nutritious. A little more cinammon, or pumpkin spice, adds some subtle flavor, or chopped dried fruit for little falvor bursts. The batter is very pink, but that color goes away in baking. Shred the beets as fine as possible, to help them stay evenly dispersed through the batter.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 06, 2007

      This is a great recipe!! I added some ground flax seeds and oatmeal and 1 cup of wheat flour I eliminated white flour it came out a little flat but it is still GREAT! Very easy to make. Be careful the beets will stain everything if you are not careful

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 14, 2007

      Very good and good for you. You don't even have to like beets to enjoy this cake.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 08, 2006

      This cake is awesome. Don't let the beets fool you. It is so moist. My family love it so much I didn't actually get any myself!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 09, 2006

      Love it! We have been getting beets for several months now from our CSA box, and we do love beets but it has been hard to find ways to use them. This recipe is great! Hubby was a bit worried when he found out what I was up to, but he loved it as well. It is reminiscent of carrot and zucchini cake. The recipe is easy to make and uses ingredients that I generally have on hand, which is a plus. I used whole wheat pastry flour, which worked great. Will make again for sure.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 24, 2005

      this is good you can also add coco powder about 2tablespoons for a different twist beets are fun to cook with i learned this this year with a bumper crop of beets lol

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 05, 2005

      This was good and bakes up pretty too. It reminds me a bit of carrot cake but with a bit more spicy tang to it from the beets. It's moist and very good. I did use a too-sweet and thick frosting. Next time I make it I'll opt for something lighter on top.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 19, 2004

      Other than omitting walnuts (for allergy reasons), I followed this recipe as posted. This is a surprisingly delicious cake. It is similar to a zucchini bread in texture and in that it's great with a cup of coffee/tea. No need for frosting, the flavor is sweet enough. Thank you for sharing this unusual yet very enjoyable keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 21, 2004

      I followed the recipe but exchanged almonds for the walnuts as I have a walnut allergy person at home. I drizzled almond flavor frosting....yum! Jeneen

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for "Don't Knock It Until You Try It" Beet Cake!!

    Serving Size: 1 (143 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 12

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 474.6
     
    Calories from Fat 237
    50%
    Total Fat 26.3 g
    40%
    Saturated Fat 3.5 g
    17%
    Cholesterol 62.0 mg
    20%
    Sodium 275.2 mg
    11%
    Total Carbohydrate 55.3 g
    18%
    Dietary Fiber 2.1 g
    8%
    Sugars 37.1 g
    148%
    Protein 6.4 g
    12%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites