Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Done In A Snap Oatmeal cookies Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Done In A Snap Oatmeal cookies

    Average Rating:

    14 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-14 of 14

    Sort by:

    • on January 28, 2002

      I found these cookies to be wonderful. I also realized after the first batch that if you cook them for two minutes less (13 mins. in my oven) and let them cool off for the two minutes on the cookie sheet they are easier to remove.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 08, 2002

      Made these last week. Came out perfectly with no changes. I had 2 neigbors as me for the recipe. One called this morning to say her kids loved them and enjoyed helping to make them. My guess is the one person who revied this that had a problem did something wrong some where as no one else seems to have had one.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 28, 2001

      Lovely cookies, very easy to make! I took away one star from my rating because it was a little too sweet and took longer to bake (almost 1 hour). Next time I'll use 1/2 cup sugar insead of 3/4. Grinding the sugar helps a lot it making a more pliable dough. I made smaller "walnut-shaped balls" and ended up with around 5 dozen cookies! The vanilla adds an awesome flavour :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 08, 2002

      Just made a batch this morning. They were incredibly easy to make and had a wonderful oatmeal flavour. I will definetly make these again. This one is a keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 25, 2002

      For the record the original recipe called for HO oatmeal. Mostly now I use Quaker oats as it is easier to find. It is a total puzzle to me why two people would have a problem with this recipe while most others have not. I can't even imagine ending up with just crumbs as for me the oats start to cling to the butter as soon as they are pored on top of the butter kind of like rolling something sticky in coconut. The butter is used cold not melted and the combination with the other ingredients should be like working with modeling clay. Anyway both brands are generically what would be called rolled oats. PS adding all those extra ingredients as suggested by one poster gave me a chuckle. That's not altering a recipe, it's making something different entirely:) if you want a clue as to how this recipe is supposed to work,think about how butter and graham cracker crumbs make the crust of a cheese cake.Same difference here. So if it's not sticking together add a bit more butter. This recipe was printed on the back of the HO oatmeal box durring the late 50's with the title "Ho's Best oatmeal cookies"

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 24, 2002

      Thank You "1Steve"! My husband Loved Them! And we had all the ingredients on hand.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 22, 2002

      I just tried these and found that they would not stick together in a ball at all. Just dry crumbs. I had to add two cups flour, 3 eggs, 1 tsp baking powder, 1 tsp soda. It must depend on the brand of oatmeal used to make this recipe work!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 05, 2002

      I tried it and found it a failure! Does need an egg or something to hold it together. It turned out very fry & crumbly. I re-crumbled what I produced and made you recipe for oatmeal bars ( the one with chocolate and rasins. I adjusted the sugar and butter (1/2 cup instead of 1). It turned out very edible.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 12, 2009

      These were great!! Very easy. I added a little peanut butter (two spoons full) beacuse of the crumb review and yumm yumm! I plan on making these again and again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 24, 2006

      I could not get this recipe to work either. Was left with crumbs that would not stick together.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 25, 2005

      We had a lot of fun making these (and eating the batter with no eggs!) but they really did not stay together when they cooked. Very very crumbly even though I mixed and mixed and mixed. Enjoyed though we were mostly eating crumbs!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 06, 2003

      Hummmm....wanted to give this recipe 4 1/2 stars, but there is no 1/2 star option. The recipe worked for me "as is." I used Quaker Quick (1 minute) Oats and Land O Lakes butter (cold from the fridge). My taste testers (DH & DS) preferred the addition of about 3/4 teaspoon of cinnamon and a pinch of nutmeg to the dough, for the flavor that they are accustomed to in an oatmeal cookie. This recipe produces a "crispier" cookie, as opposed to the chewy variety I usually make (which DH & DS prefer).

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 06, 2003

      Dear Steve, you will have seen my other comments, good basic recipe but I really think you have to use melted butter and a wooden spoon to mix. I made some in a rubber cup cake tray, pressed the mixture down real well, cooked them for 10 mins, didn't touch them tillcooled then took them out, really nice.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 01, 2003

      I also couldn't get these to work. I tried cooking a small batch and they were just little piles of of dry looking mush on the cookie sheet. I played around with it a bit and turned them into oatmeal bars.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Done In A Snap Oatmeal cookies

    Serving Size: 1 (628 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 1489.8
     
    Calories from Fat 707
    47%
    Total Fat 78.6 g
    120%
    Saturated Fat 45.4 g
    227%
    Cholesterol 183.0 mg
    61%
    Sodium 496.5 mg
    20%
    Total Carbohydrate 177.0 g
    59%
    Dietary Fiber 14.8 g
    59%
    Sugars 77.4 g
    309%
    Protein 25.0 g
    50%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes