14 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I found these cookies to be wonderful. I also realized after the first batch that if you cook them for two minutes less (13 mins. in my oven) and let them cool off for the two minutes on the cookie sheet they are easier to remove.

25 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Robin W January 28, 2002

Made these last week. Came out perfectly with no changes. I had 2 neigbors as me for the recipe. One called this morning to say her kids loved them and enjoyed helping to make them. My guess is the one person who revied this that had a problem did something wrong some where as no one else seems to have had one.

20 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LoveToCook March 08, 2002

Lovely cookies, very easy to make! I took away one star from my rating because it was a little too sweet and took longer to bake (almost 1 hour). Next time I'll use 1/2 cup sugar insead of 3/4. Grinding the sugar helps a lot it making a more pliable dough. I made smaller "walnut-shaped balls" and ended up with around 5 dozen cookies! The vanilla adds an awesome flavour :)

15 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Anu December 28, 2001

Just made a batch this morning. They were incredibly easy to make and had a wonderful oatmeal flavour. I will definetly make these again. This one is a keeper!

10 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MyWay March 08, 2002

For the record the original recipe called for HO oatmeal. Mostly now I use Quaker oats as it is easier to find. It is a total puzzle to me why two people would have a problem with this recipe while most others have not. I can't even imagine ending up with just crumbs as for me the oats start to cling to the butter as soon as they are pored on top of the butter kind of like rolling something sticky in coconut. The butter is used cold not melted and the combination with the other ingredients should be like working with modeling clay. Anyway both brands are generically what would be called rolled oats. PS adding all those extra ingredients as suggested by one poster gave me a chuckle. That's not altering a recipe, it's making something different entirely:) if you want a clue as to how this recipe is supposed to work,think about how butter and graham cracker crumbs make the crust of a cheese cake.Same difference here. So if it's not sticking together add a bit more butter. This recipe was printed on the back of the HO oatmeal box durring the late 50's with the title "Ho's Best oatmeal cookies"

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
1Steve November 25, 2002

Thank You "1Steve"! My husband Loved Them! And we had all the ingredients on hand.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Peachypumpkin "e;"e;J. J."e;"e; November 24, 2002

I just tried these and found that they would not stick together in a ball at all. Just dry crumbs. I had to add two cups flour, 3 eggs, 1 tsp baking powder, 1 tsp soda. It must depend on the brand of oatmeal used to make this recipe work!

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
68Ranchero April 22, 2002

I tried it and found it a failure! Does need an egg or something to hold it together. It turned out very fry & crumbly. I re-crumbled what I produced and made you recipe for oatmeal bars ( the one with chocolate and rasins. I adjusted the sugar and butter (1/2 cup instead of 1). It turned out very edible.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
R, Richard Daggett March 05, 2002

These were great!! Very easy. I added a little peanut butter (two spoons full) beacuse of the crumb review and yumm yumm! I plan on making these again and again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
meredith1109 May 12, 2009

I could not get this recipe to work either. Was left with crumbs that would not stick together.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
smody January 24, 2006
Done In A Snap Oatmeal cookies