8 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Muy, MUY bien!! Despite the fact that tomatoes aren't in season and I had to use all canned, this was just bursting with fresh flavor! The steeping definitely makes a difference. My children have very adverse reactions to cilantro, so I substituted oregano with excellent results. Thanks for a wonderful recipe!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
highcotton November 30, 2004

Yum! I didn't have any crushed tomatoes, so I used a 14.5oz can of petite diced tomatoes with green chilies. I used 2 jalapenos (1 red and 1 green), a banana pepper, a tomato and fresh parsley and basil all from my garden. Although I didn't quite follow the recipe, I give it 5 stars anyway for helping me make my own salsa.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Andrew Mollmann August 09, 2009

I love good restaurant style salsa and HATE the storebought stuff! This is delicious, restaurant quality, and so much better and cheaper than any storebought brand. I make this for partys all the time...there's never any left and I get lots of requests for the recipe. THANKS!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
F-16 momma December 27, 2008

I used this recipe for canning salsa last summer and will again this summer. Even after several months in a jar, this salsa was wonderful and got rave reviews.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
erinconroy August 26, 2007

This was fabulous! Theres no need to buy salsa in a jar anymore. My only regret was that I only made half the recipe and it was all gone in one sitting. Thank you!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Liara April 02, 2007

I made this for a cocktail party and people raved. Restaurant quality and so easy to make. I used a 15 oz can of petite diced tomatoes (drained) rather than the fresh and used canned jalapenos. Even DH liked this and he doesn't like cilantro, but it wasn't too cilanto-y. Made it the night b4 I needed it, which I recommend. This made a BIG batch (I guess also 'cause I used the canned diced tomatoes) but I am not worried. This is a great recipe, not much harder than opening a jar of the store bought but so much better, I'll make it often. Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ilysse December 17, 2006

Absolutely first class!! I used diced canned tomatoes and it worked fine. The food processor took care of the onion, jalapeno and some garlic I used. A great simple salsa. So glad this was posted. Thanks DeSouter

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Tebo July 20, 2006

This is so wonderful, I wish I could give it more stars. I had to give my whole family the recipe. Even my 5 year old loves it...I just make his share "mild". This recipe makes a lot. (Much to my delight!!)Thanks so much.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jaymee July 15, 2005
Don Emilio's Salsa - Muy Bien!