38 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This is great..I make this for breakfast only I use sausage..never thought about hot dogs. This really came in handy today..alday at the doctors and we were starved. This fulled the tummy and was so yummy. Thank You

15 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Braunda June 12, 2002

My 13 year old son's favorite. I always brown the potatoes and onion first then add the hot dogs. Make it quicker by using frozen potatoes o'brien or even frozen hash browns. I have also made this with polish sausage and even brats. Always great and super simple! Thanx Inez..

12 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LAURIE September 23, 2002

This is so darn simple, and very tasty indeed! I microwave the potatoes, as they seem to fry better this way. I like soft middles and crunchy outsides! Then put the potatoes in the fry pan first with the onion. Once all is just beginning to brown, I add the hot dogs. This way I find they don't "over cook". Last comes the cheese, just until melted. Oh my, this is good comfort food!! I recommend "Best's Kosher Dogs" or at least a dog that has a good strong flavor.

10 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CinCity June 08, 2002

So easy and tasty! Made it with the suggested hashbrowns to speed up time. Thanks so much!

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
~Bekah~ March 27, 2003

I saw this recipe and could not believe it! ! ! This has been in our family for years, we do not put cheese on it and it is called DEPRESSION DINNER My kids just loved it and now they are making it for their kids. Thanks for the MEMORY

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BarbC March 22, 2002

Even though I forgot the cheese (which makes everything better) this was still an easy, kid friendly meal. Thanks for posting.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Indiana Debbie February 10, 2012

Wouldn't make this again, it was just okay for us.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Classy Gal August 10, 2011

What a wonderful, fast and easy dish! My kids loved it! And my husband and I thought it was pretty tasty, too. I did microwave my potatoes a bit (6 minutes - while the hot dogs were browning) to soften them up some before I added them to the pan (then cooked for 10 minutes). I also added the garlic salt and pepper after I added the potatoes. This will be wonderful to make during the summer when I don't want to heat up the kitchen. Thanks for this recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
5hungrykids May 11, 2010

UPDATE on 4/26/10, This recipe has been made several times since I first tried it on April 11,2005. And it still tastes just as good as that first time.This time I made it just for myself, and it cuts down just fine. This is a great recipe for kids and for the " Kid at heart ". Thank you again for posting :) Original Review April 11,2005 MizzNezz,this is just so good,i changed the way the seasonings were added.after i put in the potatoes,i sprinkled them over the top and stirred them i,but that's the only change i made in this dish.i served it with peas and carrots and it made a complete meal. thank you for a new "comfort food"

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef shapeweaver � April 26, 2010
Dogs And Taters