Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Dogs And Taters Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Dogs And Taters

    Average Rating:

    38 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 38

    Sort by:

    • on June 12, 2002

      This is great..I make this for breakfast only I use sausage..never thought about hot dogs. This really came in handy today..alday at the doctors and we were starved. This fulled the tummy and was so yummy. Thank You

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 23, 2002

      My 13 year old son's favorite. I always brown the potatoes and onion first then add the hot dogs. Make it quicker by using frozen potatoes o'brien or even frozen hash browns. I have also made this with polish sausage and even brats. Always great and super simple! Thanx Inez..

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 08, 2002

      This is so darn simple, and very tasty indeed! I microwave the potatoes, as they seem to fry better this way. I like soft middles and crunchy outsides! Then put the potatoes in the fry pan first with the onion. Once all is just beginning to brown, I add the hot dogs. This way I find they don't "over cook". Last comes the cheese, just until melted. Oh my, this is good comfort food!! I recommend "Best's Kosher Dogs" or at least a dog that has a good strong flavor.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 27, 2003

      So easy and tasty! Made it with the suggested hashbrowns to speed up time. Thanks so much!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 22, 2002

      I saw this recipe and could not believe it! ! ! This has been in our family for years, we do not put cheese on it and it is called DEPRESSION DINNER My kids just loved it and now they are making it for their kids. Thanks for the MEMORY

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 10, 2012

      Even though I forgot the cheese (which makes everything better) this was still an easy, kid friendly meal. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 20, 2011

    • on August 10, 2011

      Wouldn't make this again, it was just okay for us.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 11, 2010

      What a wonderful, fast and easy dish! My kids loved it! And my husband and I thought it was pretty tasty, too. I did microwave my potatoes a bit (6 minutes - while the hot dogs were browning) to soften them up some before I added them to the pan (then cooked for 10 minutes). I also added the garlic salt and pepper after I added the potatoes. This will be wonderful to make during the summer when I don't want to heat up the kitchen. Thanks for this recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 26, 2010

      UPDATE on 4/26/10, This recipe has been made several times since I first tried it on April 11,2005. And it still tastes just as good as that first time.This time I made it just for myself, and it cuts down just fine. This is a great recipe for kids and for the " Kid at heart ". Thank you again for posting :) Original Review April 11,2005 MizzNezz,this is just so good,i changed the way the seasonings were added.after i put in the potatoes,i sprinkled them over the top and stirred them i,but that's the only change i made in this dish.i served it with peas and carrots and it made a complete meal. thank you for a new "comfort food"

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 23, 2010

      I started making this for the kids a few years ago but forgot to rate to (sorry) They are both teens now and still love it ! It's very easy and very yummy! Thank you for sharing it!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 19, 2009

      I made this and it was very good. Potatoes didn't cook as well as I hoped so I did throw the whole thing in the oven for 15 min on 350. Next time I try this, I'm going to cook the potatoes first then add hot dogs.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 12, 2009

      I was looking for a kid pleasing dish for when my 6 year old step daughter came to visit. This came together very quickly and was a hit with all. I don't especially love hot dogs but I actually found myself going back for seconds. Not much else to say. Simple ingredients, simple preparation and wonderful flavor. Thanks MizzNezz

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 01, 2008

      This is a tasty and easy way to use up some leftover hot dogs. I ended up putting this in a 350 Oven for about 30 minutes after following steps 1-5. even though I precooked Potatoes in the microwave they still had to much bite. Covered it with Aluminum foil before baking. Thanks for this nice and easy recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 27, 2008

      This was pretty good for a quick & easy dinner.After hubby said it needed more flavor,I relized I forgot the garlic salt.Wont forget next time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 30, 2008

      My husband really liked this and it was so easy! I did nuke the potatoes a bit before adding to the skillet (and I'm glad I did!) I also used turkey franks to make it a bit lighter. Yum! Thanks so much for the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 31, 2008

      Super good and quick. I used frozen hashbrowns and garlic pepper. Outstanding for my kiddos. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 05, 2008

      I made this for the daycare children today and they loved it! I baked french fries and then put them into a casserole dish and covered them with the cut up, cooked hotdogs and then the cheese. I didn't add garlic or onions...but it may have been even better! I just added ketchup to the top. It was great! Thanks! Linzi

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 03, 2007

      This is a great recipe to play around with. I did saute the potatoes and onion for several minutes before I added the hot dogs. My husband has requested that the next time I make this I try it with some curry powder for a different taste. I can easily see how you could throw in some red or green peppers, use different sausage or a different potato style (hashbrowns or what ever). Thanks for a great (easy!) recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 29, 2007

      The kids loved it and so did DH. Easy to make...I cooked the potatoes first, left out the onions, used garlic powder no pepper and added sliced "dinner" size hotgogs only a few minutes b4 serving. Thanks for posting this recipe, it will be made often. I also wanted to add that the leftovers were a happy treat for my kids with eggs for breakfast. There is little difference btwn this and hashbrowns and sausage, so why not? They enjoyed every bite and saved me time in the morning.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Dogs And Taters

    Serving Size: 1 (485 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 695.6
     
    Calories from Fat 347
    49%
    Total Fat 38.6 g
    59%
    Saturated Fat 12.7 g
    63%
    Cholesterol 50.6 mg
    16%
    Sodium 881.1 mg
    36%
    Total Carbohydrate 70.0 g
    23%
    Dietary Fiber 8.6 g
    34%
    Sugars 6.1 g
    24%
    Protein 18.9 g
    37%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites