14 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I usually have a stock pot going for my dogs, to make gravy for their dry food. But at the weekend, I fished out one lonely hamburger patty that was languishing in the freezer, and prepared this gravy for them! Very much appreciated, they said thank you, Paula!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Karen Elizabeth September 28, 2009

It didn't take long to give this one 5 stars. Chloe is STILL eating! I think she's decided to sleep with her dish tonight. A super easy, fast, cheap recipe to make and the puppies love it! To add a wee bit of nutrition to it, I added some garlic and I can even see opening up some capsules and adding glucosamine in there for joint help. Thanks for posting a keeper!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Axe September 10, 2009

Made for All New Zaar Cookbooks Tag. We had some hamburger patties in our freezer that came from a meat bundle that we bought. I never really used them because they were so thin and very greasy. This was a great way to use them up and the dogs really enjoyed the addition to their dry food and like one of the other reviewers we don't like to give them canned food too often (usually once a week) and this was a great sub for canned food. My doggies thank you Paula!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LARavenscroft June 01, 2009

I found some pre-formed hamburger patties at an unbelieveable price ($1/4 patties!) and bought them for the sole purpose of fixing my Boxers this treat... They love canned dog food but I don't like feeding it to them too often... They loved this meaty gravy... They are so spoiled... I actually warmed it each time before serving to take the chill off.. My fur babies thank you for a delicious addition to their meals!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
atlfitgirl March 11, 2008

I can't believe you have 595 posted recipes, and this is the one I tried--how embarrassing! But...this broth turns persnickety dogs into chow hounds. Our pups give it two paws up! Now to try some of your other yummy sounding recipes...thanks, Paula.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ladyfingers March 10, 2008

Well I finally found something that Dink loves. We have tried and tried to put some weight on her and she just isn't interested in food. Put some of the doggie broth on a bowl of her dog food and she ate the entire bowl. A first for her. Thanks so much Paula for another great recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
~Nimz~ March 07, 2008

OMG! My dogs go nuts for this at dinner time! When I reach in the frige to get the bottle, they all get so excited. I have 3 dogs and was giving them Iams gravy at dinner time. This is such a money saver and they love it! Thanks for a great idea. This is a permanent staple in their diets. I put a little garlic powder with the pattie. Thank you, thank you, thank you!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Wildflower5150 February 05, 2008

Both Popcorn the dog and Buster the cat love this broth. Thanks for posting. It's great for those times that I don't make their food and use kibble.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dreamer in Ontario January 14, 2008

Thank you from my Mexican Cutie, Penny Lane. All 3 lbs of her shivers when I pour this over her food. It's tough trying to fatten up a Type A Chihuahua!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kizzikate May 13, 2007

Both Cassy and Noxxy are sending you five big WOOFs! My two lab/hound mix dogs (both weigh approx. 115 pounds) love this. The vet warned us against making their dry food soft so we only use 1 cup of broth over their 4 cups of dry food, but it is "hoovered" up in a matter of minutes. Thanks for sharing - now there is less begging for people food in our house.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kat's Mom January 28, 2007
Doggie Broth