Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Dog Treats Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Dog Treats

    Average Rating:

    34 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 34

    Sort by:

    • on January 14, 2009

      Puppies love them... I used a bone shape cutter and thought it best to put three hole in the mid-section, I used a toothpick, to even cooking. It worked great. Thanks for the recipe!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 31, 2009

      I made these as written though found a needed a little extra water to be able to roll it out. I made 60 small treats and baked them for about 30 minutes. They are quite hard though, when I make them again I'll have to keep that in mind and keep a closer eye on them as they bake. Friday has scarfed down two already - her apparent enjoyment, the health benefits and cost savings are all good reasons to make these again.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 06, 2009

      This is Rascal's favorite new doggie cookie! I followed the recipe exactly and it came together nicely. They were a breeze to make using a few simple techniques. I hand kneaded the dry ingredients into the wet ingredients. I also lightly sprayed my work surface with Pam before I rolled out my dough so it wouldn't stick. Rascal and I thank you Carole, for this easy to make, tasty treat.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 20, 2008

      Ive been looking for a dog treat with pumpkin as I lost my recipe. Pumpkin has ENORMOUS health benefits for peolpe and animals. I remember feeding pumpkin pie to my grandmother dying of brest cancer complications in the hospital. First of all it's a GREAT source of Vit.A(beta-carotene)(about 300% per can of Libby's Pure Pumpkin-not the pie mix) which is beneficial to antioxidants, night vision(lutein and zeaxanthin-they help the lens of the eye)Therefore, they may help prevent the formation of cataracts and reduce the risk of macular degeneration, a serious eye problem than usually results in blindness, cell growth, and reproduction. Pumpkins have a lot of common nutrients, like Vitamin C, potassium, iron, zinc, and fiber. Iron is needed by red blood cells. Zinc deficiency may be related to osteoporosis of the hip and spine. And fiber is important for bowel health. So now that you know how benefical pumpkin is for your dog .... get an extra can and make a pie or some yummy pumpkin bread for yourself, and of course look on 'ZAAR for the recipes! It also maintains the health of the skin (prevents acne and dermatitis)and mucus linings. These linings are the body first defense against infection that is why vitamin A helps fight colds and infections, particularly in the mucous membranes of the eyes, ear, nose, throat, lungs and bladder. It may also reduce breast cancer. The Native Americans used it as both a food and a medicine

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 25, 2013

      Very easy. My dog loves them!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 23, 2012

      My son and I made a double batch for a bake sale. Very easy recipe, pretty much fail-proof for a 9 year old! My hubby had to do some of the final mixing as it got to be a bit tough for us. Rolled out easily, cut out beautifully, and our golden lab loved testing them out for us! Of course we saved a good portion for him as well. They sold like hot-cakes! Will definitely be using again both for our dog and for bakes sales!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 13, 2012

      I doubled the recipe making 140 small heart shaped treats. Darcy is a 13 week old GSD and I'm pretty sure she said "put more pumpkin on the grocery list". She loves them & has plans to share with her friend Maggie. I rolled mine a bit on the thin side and baked for 18-ish minutes. I opened the oven door to let it and the treats cool-they came out perfect. Thanks for posting a great, healthy "I know what's in them" doggie treat recipe! Two dew claws up!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 16, 2011

      I made pumpkin waffles for the family and used some of the leftover pumpkin for these treats for Trinket, our very small Malchi. I used the small Creative Cutters from Pampered Chef, the perfect size for her mouth, and the recipe made a ton. Both the family and Trinket were happy! (31)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 25, 2011

      Our 8 yr old chocolate labrador retriever absolutely love these treats! I made them exactly as the instructions with one change. I "underbaked" and left them in the oven with the door propped and they turned out perfect. Our boy is even more obsessed with his treat bowl and cannot stop whining for a treat. These treats will help us provide a healthy treat for our beloved boy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 20, 2010

      They were easy & fun for my kids to make for Christmas gifts. The neighbor's dogs loved them! Although, I did omit the cinnamon--wasn't sure if the dogs could eat it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 20, 2010

      Both my boys love these!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 18, 2010

    • on May 14, 2010

      Geneveive [my dog] LOVES treats esspecially these!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 25, 2010

      My lab Bella is a very picky eater when it comes to her treats. Up until now the best thing we have found that she loves is Bare Bones Oatmeal Cookies. I found your recipe and took a chance. She LOVES them. Thanks so much. I get a lot out of the recipe because I use a smaller cookie cutter. Just awesome!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 15, 2010

      These are dangerous, made them last night for Phydeaux and lost two fingers>>just kidding. The dog loves them. Thanks so much.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 14, 2010

      I made these as a x-mas gift for my friends and relatives that have dogs. They were a big hit! My neighbor's dog keeps coming over for more. Thanks for a great recipe... it's a keeper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 10, 2010

      Okay, these make my dogs drool! And they smell pretty good while baking. Thank you Carole!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 04, 2010

      My two dogs enjoyed these treats. They were easy to make with pantry staples. I made them in two sizes, small and large. The small were crunchy while the large ones resembled a soft cookie. I will make these again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 13, 2009

      Doggie Treats - this should be called WOW treats. I've made several doggie treats here and while DGS's Zeus liked them all he really LOVED this one and gives it 5 GOLD stars. He was begging at the kitchen counter as we were making them. They even smelled great while they were cooking. I did add one tablespoon of honey while mixing and had to add a about 3 tablespoons of extra water to get it to where I could roll it out and use my bone cookie cutter, I also followed another reviewer's idea and put 2 small holes in each cookie with a toothpick - but other than that followed the directions exactly. Went together so easy my 10 year old DGS did most of the work himself. This will be our go to doggie treat from now on. Thanks Carole for a winning recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 04, 2009

      WOW!!!! My dog and my dog cousin loved these!! and they are soo healthy for them. For extra flavour I added about two Tbsp. of peanut butter. thank you soo much for this recipe!! I also had to substitute 1 cup of all purpose flour and 1 cup of whole wheat flour for the 2 cups of whole wheat flour because i ran out. I also used the tip of pocking holes on the treats for them to cook more even. Thanks again!! :D

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Dog Treats

    Serving Size: 1 (551 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 84.3
     
    Calories from Fat 22
    26%
    Total Fat 2.4 g
    3%
    Saturated Fat 0.2 g
    1%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 20.4 mg
    0%
    Total Carbohydrate 14.1 g
    4%
    Dietary Fiber 2.3 g
    9%
    Sugars 0.3 g
    1%
    Protein 2.5 g
    5%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes