Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Dog Treats Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Dog Treats

    Average Rating:

    26 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 26

    Sort by:

    • on February 19, 2009

      Great recipe. As suggested by Pismo, I mixed in food processor - so easy. Also, like Mommyoftwolittleones, I added a couple tablespoons of wet dog food. Then I spread on a cookie sheet - didn't quite fill the cookie sheet. I baked for 10 minutes, cut with a pizza cutter into small squares. Baked another 15 minutes, broke up and then baked another four hours at 250 degrees as I wanted them very crunchy. My three litle dogs loved them - everytime I opened the oven door, they were right there begging for a treat. Thanks for a great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 03, 2013

      My dog really liked these! He's a little guy so I'm only giving him one treat a day, but he gets really excited as soon as he sees them- much more so than when he sees store-bought treats. I also used a food processor to mix everything up, and I added a small jar of beef baby food to the mixture (I think that ingredient is what he likes most). Even my two cats wanted to try them, but the treats were too big for them to eat. Next time I make a batch, I will make tiny ones so the cats can enjoy these treats as well!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 17, 2012

      Trinket, our little Malchi, loves these! She was in full begging mode after her first one! We did change the recipe a bit to go with what was onhand. We used Very Vanilla Silk soy milk in place of the skim milk, 1/2 cup of ground oatmeal and 2 cups regular flour in place of the whole wheat flour, and a banana just because. We got about 100 small, 30 medium, and a few large dog bone size treats. (25)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 10, 2011

      What a wonderful Fur Baby Treatie! I made these this morning, for the boxer boys weekly treats. In place of the sugar I used honey, and added a bit of cinnamon.
      Perfect!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 19, 2010

      Just got done making my first batch and they turned out great! I had a cookie cutter shaped like a dog bone so i used that. I also baked mine about 24 minutes and they came out firm with just a touch of softness. Very easy to make and the food processor was the easiest way to go.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 08, 2010

      These are great! I mixed in food processor also, so easy.. I rolled and cut with cookie cutter and my dogs sit by the treat jar and stare at us.. lol they love them. thank you

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 31, 2008

      These treats were SOOO easy to make !! I bought a bone shapped cookie cutter and my 11 year old daughter and I made them for our doggies for Christmas .... they love them! Takara (our 2 1/2 year old red sesame Shiba Inu) and George (our 5 1/2 month old German Shepherd) thank you very much for the recipe :-)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 12, 2008

      Oh my goodness! My dogs love them! I tried them for the first time tonight and gave them each one. Now they are here just staring at me wanting more. Thanks for the great easy recipe that obviously tastes great! I too left them in the oven once I turned it off..works great!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 12, 2008

      o.k. long story short... we took in a pure sheppard with issues she's 4 and mostly a good girl. brought in a trainer and now we use some kinds of food as training and rewards (cheese, chicken, tortolini that kind of stuff) that can get pretty $$$, well she loves peanut butter so we gave this recipe a try. needless to say she has oven issues. the smell when i was making these drove her nuts, she was under my feet. they were in the oven she was in front of it. i took one out while they were cooling she was in love. they are her fav treat. i can't go near were they are stored. she sits and waites. if i try to ingore her she rolls over. so from her i would say that these are 10 stars. from me i gave them 4 because i added more peanut butter and i thought the dough was dry when trying to roll it, i added a touch of water and it rolled much better. they cooled in the oven for extra crunch. will make again and again i'm sure. i used a shot glass and got about 55-60. these are a keeper. Maggie Mae and i thank you with tails wagging!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 16, 2008

      in reference to what hopkins said, i used a small jar of baby food (i think it was veal something or other) instead of the peanut butter, my dog loved it! i wasn't brave enough to try it but it went over great with my poodle "frodo" :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 02, 2008

      I used all purpose flour instead and cooked them 20 min, flipped half way, cooked another 10 min, turned off the stove and let them completely dry out in the oven. Nice and crunchy! I would add more peanut butter b/c there was only a slight hint of flavor in these but Wrigley still loved them. Thinking about trying to do other flavors as well, if anyone else has tried a different flavor, send me an email/suggestions.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 23, 2007

      These were a HUGE hit with my pooch and he gave them as Christmas presents to his 2 dog friends. Easy recipe - I ended up doubling it. I only needed to bake them for about 20 min. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 17, 2007

      The recipe is easy. The dough is very elasticy and hard to roll out but worth the work. My picky Min Pin loves them.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 12, 2007

      I made a batch of these for my two dogs and not only did they love them, but my husband came in as they were baking and thought I was making peanut butter cookies! They were easy to make and a big hit! Thanks for a great recipe! I will be making these again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 08, 2007

      These are a winner! Easy to make and my dogs loved them! Thanks! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 13, 2007

      Made these to ship to my Grand-pups. I had no problem at all with the dough. The report back was that they appreciated my efforts! I left them in a warm oven all day to dry them completely. I did not want them to mold waiting for the USPS to deliver them. Thank you for sharing the recipe. Ill continue to use this recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 13, 2007

      Well, my dog loved them! At least the ones that he could get. They were so delicious that i had some issues containing myself(shh!) I plan on making them in the very near future becasue they were very easy. Healthy too which my overweight dog and I enjoy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 26, 2007

      I made these on Sunday afternoon. The girls loved these treats. The recipe made 4 dozen star shaped (in honor of "Oscar" night) treats for me. I tasted one and I liked it too. It was like a nutty tasting cracker. Thank you for posting this recipe. I'm sure that I'll be making these again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 23, 2006

      I was trying to find a recipe I could use that would go on a Christmas "Dog Treat" platter for my dogs and my sister-in-law's dog. I only cooked mine for about 20 minutes because I wanted softer cookies. I used crunchy peanut butter b/c that's all I had and also used a food processor for all the mixing. It was very easy and turned out great. Both of my dogs loved them and I'm sure my little nephew dog will too!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 10, 2006

      Nikki loved these! I love the fact that I could make them with ingredients I easily had on hand. I used a small glass and cut them into 2-inch rounds. Easy, affordable, and apparently delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Dog Treats

    Serving Size: 1 (619 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 69.2
     
    Calories from Fat 31
    45%
    Total Fat 3.5 g
    5%
    Saturated Fat 0.7 g
    3%
    Cholesterol 6.2 mg
    2%
    Sodium 77.2 mg
    3%
    Total Carbohydrate 8.0 g
    2%
    Dietary Fiber 1.2 g
    4%
    Sugars 0.3 g
    1%
    Protein 2.2 g
    4%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes