26 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Great recipe. As suggested by Pismo, I mixed in food processor - so easy. Also, like Mommyoftwolittleones, I added a couple tablespoons of wet dog food. Then I spread on a cookie sheet - didn't quite fill the cookie sheet. I baked for 10 minutes, cut with a pizza cutter into small squares. Baked another 15 minutes, broke up and then baked another four hours at 250 degrees as I wanted them very crunchy. My three litle dogs loved them - everytime I opened the oven door, they were right there begging for a treat. Thanks for a great recipe.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Connie Lea February 19, 2009

My dog really liked these! He's a little guy so I'm only giving him one treat a day, but he gets really excited as soon as he sees them- much more so than when he sees store-bought treats. I also used a food processor to mix everything up, and I added a small jar of beef baby food to the mixture (I think that ingredient is what he likes most). Even my two cats wanted to try them, but the treats were too big for them to eat. Next time I make a batch, I will make tiny ones so the cats can enjoy these treats as well!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
rpgaymer June 03, 2013

Trinket, our little Malchi, loves these! She was in full begging mode after her first one! We did change the recipe a bit to go with what was onhand. We used Very Vanilla Silk soy milk in place of the skim milk, 1/2 cup of ground oatmeal and 2 cups regular flour in place of the whole wheat flour, and a banana just because. We got about 100 small, 30 medium, and a few large dog bone size treats. (25)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JPsBarbie June 17, 2012

What a wonderful Fur Baby Treatie! I made these this morning, for the boxer boys weekly treats. In place of the sugar I used honey, and added a bit of cinnamon.
Perfect!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MaMere June 10, 2011

Just got done making my first batch and they turned out great! I had a cookie cutter shaped like a dog bone so i used that. I also baked mine about 24 minutes and they came out firm with just a touch of softness. Very easy to make and the food processor was the easiest way to go.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cofender April 19, 2010

These are great! I mixed in food processor also, so easy.. I rolled and cut with cookie cutter and my dogs sit by the treat jar and stare at us.. lol they love them. thank you

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Shamrockluver January 08, 2010

These treats were SOOO easy to make !! I bought a bone shapped cookie cutter and my 11 year old daughter and I made them for our doggies for Christmas .... they love them! Takara (our 2 1/2 year old red sesame Shiba Inu) and George (our 5 1/2 month old German Shepherd) thank you very much for the recipe :-)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
City_Gurl December 31, 2008

Oh my goodness! My dogs love them! I tried them for the first time tonight and gave them each one. Now they are here just staring at me wanting more. Thanks for the great easy recipe that obviously tastes great! I too left them in the oven once I turned it off..works great!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
luvmyfurrbabies December 12, 2008

o.k. long story short... we took in a pure sheppard with issues she's 4 and mostly a good girl. brought in a trainer and now we use some kinds of food as training and rewards (cheese, chicken, tortolini that kind of stuff) that can get pretty $$$, well she loves peanut butter so we gave this recipe a try. needless to say she has oven issues. the smell when i was making these drove her nuts, she was under my feet. they were in the oven she was in front of it. i took one out while they were cooling she was in love. they are her fav treat. i can't go near were they are stored. she sits and waites. if i try to ingore her she rolls over. so from her i would say that these are 10 stars. from me i gave them 4 because i added more peanut butter and i thought the dough was dry when trying to roll it, i added a touch of water and it rolled much better. they cooled in the oven for extra crunch. will make again and again i'm sure. i used a shot glass and got about 55-60. these are a keeper. Maggie Mae and i thank you with tails wagging!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jules211 September 12, 2008

in reference to what hopkins said, i used a small jar of baby food (i think it was veal something or other) instead of the peanut butter, my dog loved it! i wasn't brave enough to try it but it went over great with my poodle "frodo" :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
molynn March 16, 2008
Dog Treats