137 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I have tried several recipes for onion rings lately and this recipe is by-far the best I have yet to try. The baking powder makes the batter puff up around the sliced onion and is um um good! The most difficult part about making them is trying to keep from eating them before they get to the table!

33 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jepayne June 03, 2002

Hi MizzNezz; These are the most scrumptous, crispy and easy to make ONION RINGS. They cooked so quickly and had a nice golden brown color. They are the best that I have ever made or had for that matter. Took me a while to find your recipe. I got a craving for Onion Rings and started to look through the ZAAR, and there you were, how lucky for us. Will be passing your recipe on to all my friends. Thank you for posting and sharing with us. "Uncle Bill"

15 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
William (Uncle Bill) Anatooskin April 12, 2003

Ms. Willenborg: This recipe was great. My family and myself were eating leftover polish sausage and meatballs from the holidays and I wanted to compliment the meal with something other than a potato recipe. As a previous review stated the only thing difficult about the receipe was to keep the rest of the family away while making them. The only thing that I would change about your recipe is to inform the next reader to cut their onion about 1/2 inch. Other than that I would NOT change a thing. Kelly

11 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kelly10 December 26, 2002

5 stars with an asterisk: the first few I fried up were a little bland, so I added some seasonall. Then they were amazing. Next time I'm going to add some cajun seasoning, to give them a little zippy zip. Overall, excellent-crispy, brown, and delicious! Oh, and I did dust the onions with flour before I battered them, the batter stuck on perfectly.

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
specialbekah September 14, 2010

These are excellent onion rings! I had no problems at all with my batter not sticking, they turned about perfect. I could not stop snacking on them as I was frying them.

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sheri-BDB April 08, 2003

Delicious! So so good! I made half the portion for the two of us. They were so light, crispy and not at all greasy. I only used about 2 tbls of oil in the batter, they were wonderful:) thank you!

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jayde700 May 22, 2008

These were great! I use soy milk instead of regular, and added some cayenne, seasoning salt, and paprika. Served with ketchup and ranch dipping sauce. Thanks Inez, for another wonderful recipe.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Miraklegirl November 12, 2003

I cooked this last night and it was wonderful,It was fun to make and at first it was hard to get the batter to stick to the onions but I managed and the end result was an A++ I was very happy with the results.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Happyfrog June 17, 2002

Amazing! I used one large Vidalia onion and there were tons of rings! They were simple and they are delicious. I took the suggestion to add some seasoning salt to the dredge, yummy! I put the dredging flour in a plastic bag, adding the rings, and shook and turned until coated, then I just tonged the rings out and placed them in the oil. Fabulous! Thanks for sharing!

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Momma21 June 16, 2009

Found this one and decided to try it. DH and I are always on the hunt for a decent "do at home" onion ring recipe and boy did this one fit the bill!! Taking notes from previous reviews, we did decide to omit the oil, and honestly they were still incredible. I did fix the recipe and tried a batch exactly as directed, then "doctored" a lil, to our taste. I added another 1/2tsp of salt and a 1/2tsp of cayenne as well as double dipped for the thicker crunch. We're southern and love anything crispy. lol. These are by far, the best tasting onion rings we've found for do at home. A definite do again in our house!! Thanks for sharing. :)

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
I am his Jenni August 24, 2009
Do at Home Onion Rings