Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Do at Home Onion Rings Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Do at Home Onion Rings

    Average Rating:

    136 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 136

    Sort by:

    • on June 03, 2002

      I have tried several recipes for onion rings lately and this recipe is by-far the best I have yet to try. The baking powder makes the batter puff up around the sliced onion and is um um good! The most difficult part about making them is trying to keep from eating them before they get to the table!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 12, 2003

      Hi MizzNezz; These are the most scrumptous, crispy and easy to make ONION RINGS. They cooked so quickly and had a nice golden brown color. They are the best that I have ever made or had for that matter. Took me a while to find your recipe. I got a craving for Onion Rings and started to look through the ZAAR, and there you were, how lucky for us. Will be passing your recipe on to all my friends. Thank you for posting and sharing with us. "Uncle Bill"

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 26, 2002

      Ms. Willenborg: This recipe was great. My family and myself were eating leftover polish sausage and meatballs from the holidays and I wanted to compliment the meal with something other than a potato recipe. As a previous review stated the only thing difficult about the receipe was to keep the rest of the family away while making them. The only thing that I would change about your recipe is to inform the next reader to cut their onion about 1/2 inch. Other than that I would NOT change a thing. Kelly

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 14, 2010

      5 stars with an asterisk: the first few I fried up were a little bland, so I added some seasonall. Then they were amazing. Next time I'm going to add some cajun seasoning, to give them a little zippy zip. Overall, excellent-crispy, brown, and delicious! Oh, and I did dust the onions with flour before I battered them, the batter stuck on perfectly.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 08, 2003

      These are excellent onion rings! I had no problems at all with my batter not sticking, they turned about perfect. I could not stop snacking on them as I was frying them.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 17, 2002

      I cooked this last night and it was wonderful,It was fun to make and at first it was hard to get the batter to stick to the onions but I managed and the end result was an A++ I was very happy with the results.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 16, 2009

      Amazing! I used one large Vidalia onion and there were tons of rings! They were simple and they are delicious. I took the suggestion to add some seasoning salt to the dredge, yummy! I put the dredging flour in a plastic bag, adding the rings, and shook and turned until coated, then I just tonged the rings out and placed them in the oil. Fabulous! Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 22, 2008

      Delicious! So so good! I made half the portion for the two of us. They were so light, crispy and not at all greasy. I only used about 2 tbls of oil in the batter, they were wonderful:) thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 12, 2003

      These were great! I use soy milk instead of regular, and added some cayenne, seasoning salt, and paprika. Served with ketchup and ranch dipping sauce. Thanks Inez, for another wonderful recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 24, 2009

      Found this one and decided to try it. DH and I are always on the hunt for a decent "do at home" onion ring recipe and boy did this one fit the bill!! Taking notes from previous reviews, we did decide to omit the oil, and honestly they were still incredible. I did fix the recipe and tried a batch exactly as directed, then "doctored" a lil, to our taste. I added another 1/2tsp of salt and a 1/2tsp of cayenne as well as double dipped for the thicker crunch. We're southern and love anything crispy. lol. These are by far, the best tasting onion rings we've found for do at home. A definite do again in our house!! Thanks for sharing. :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 22, 2003

      The batter really sticks wonderfully to the onion and cooks up light and crunchy! The next time I make these I will perhaps add some cayenne to the batter for a little extra "kick". These look diner perfect and taste fantastic!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 19, 2013

      I've tried a number of onion ring recipes, all of which seem to fall short of the mark. Make this recipe, and it was very good, but we like crunch onion rings. After the first batch came out of the fryer, I topped the batter with Panko bread crumbs. OMG.......they were amazing. Even my DH (a self appointed connoisseur of all things fried), raved and said..."top shelf", "best onion rings ever". Thanks for a great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 29, 2013

      Just a few minor changes, but otherwise I stayed true to the original. I added a bit more salt and after the wet batter I did a soft dusting of Panko onto the ring, it really added a well needed crunch! I agree, best homemade onion ring batter/mix I've ever used. Definetly a keeper, though a bit messy to make :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 26, 2010

      I agree with everyone else and 94 reviews don't lie. It was the best, my family enjoyed it and I actually look forward to making this again real soon. Have to limit my fried foods but for this recipe, I will make the sacrifice.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 23, 2003

      EXCELLENT RECIPE!!!!!! I could not make them fast enough for everyone. I used seasoned salt in the batter and used a little more than 1/2 tsp, but then again, I am constantly accused of being a salt-aholic. I will definately be making this again. Thank you MizzNezz!!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 15, 2003

      very good made them for my husband for fathers day. The first batch I did not leave in long enough as the kids pointed out that the onions were still raw!! After that batch I got the hang of it. Thanks a bunch! Paula

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 09, 2003

      Finally a recipe that the batter sticks to the onion ring. Thanks!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 01, 2013

      We decided to try this recipe and we did not like it too much. I think we made the batter to thick. It cooked okay and it got nice a brown quickly when deep frying in a wok but I would not recommend using these sweet onions use the normal onions because we could barely taste the onion under the batter.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 07, 2011

      Why have I never made onion rings at home before - these are SO EASY and quick and with all store cupboard ingredients

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 19, 2009

      Very good! I have been trying different onion rings for years and these are by far the best!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4 5 6 ... 7

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Do at Home Onion Rings

    Serving Size: 1 (210 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 378.5
     
    Calories from Fat 158
    41%
    Total Fat 17.5 g
    27%
    Saturated Fat 3.6 g
    18%
    Cholesterol 55.0 mg
    18%
    Sodium 433.0 mg
    18%
    Total Carbohydrate 45.9 g
    15%
    Dietary Fiber 2.5 g
    10%
    Sugars 3.3 g
    13%
    Protein 9.2 g
    18%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites