Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Dixie Stampede's Cream of Vegetable Soup Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Dixie Stampede's Cream of Vegetable Soup

    Average Rating:

    14 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-14 of 14

    Sort by:

    • on September 17, 2009

      I adore this soup at Dixie, but this one tastes nothing like it. Like a previous reviewer, I had to make a bunch of changes, but once I did, it ended up being a (completely new) good recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 04, 2008

      I made it and it had no taste.. tripled the garlic/ onion powder.. added butter/ garlic salt/ and had to thicken with flour because it was runny!! Then it was good!! With the garlic cheese biscuits of course.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 03, 2007

      I can't rate it higher, because it's not the same. It tastes similar, but the texture is all wrong. This is actually the copycat recipe that's all over the internet. I broke down and spent the $30 for Dolly's cookbook, and it's arrived. Ciao!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 03, 2006

      This is a fantastic soup. The Dixie Stampede soup is actually thicker, which is why I deducted one star. I guess you could make a roux or add cornstarch to make it a bit thicker. Still, a wonderful soup that I'm sooo glad I made tonight! Thanks 1Steve!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 21, 2005

      This was a nice and easy recipe and the first creamed veggie soup I've made. I used vegetable broth instead of chicken, also added chopped asparagus and cauliflower. I found that it needed more flavour so I also added 2 tsp. fresh basil chopped.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 22, 2005

      I have been looking for this soup since my husband first took me to Dixie Stampede. I even requested the recipe from them & was told I couldn't have it because it was one of Dolly's family recipes. I'm going to fix this tommorrow night & will post my results. Thank you to whomever got the recipe and posted it. Now I don't have to pay to enjoy the soup!!!!!!!! I can go and know that I can still have it @ home.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 12, 2005

      After having the soup at the Stampede I had to come home and find the recipe. This recipe was wonderful! I took a bowl over to my mom and dad and they both really liked it as well. My dad said that he thought it would make a good clam chowder and he asked for the recipe so he could make it and add clams next time. The only problem I had making the soup is that it did not thicken to the consistency that the Stampede's soup had. I even added a few tablespoons of flour. I'm not sure how to fix that but it doesn't really matter because I will definitely be making this again! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 14, 2005

      Oh yum, very very good and tastes just like my favorite soup at the Dixie Stampede. I look forward to that soup every year when we go. Thanks so much for this recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 10, 2004

      I made this recipe with the following changes: Once the broth and vegetables were to the simmering point, I added a 4 oz package of instant potatoes and simmered an additional few minutes before adding just 1 (one) cup of the cream. No salt was needed and I did add a little fresh ground black pepper. My husband could not tell the difference between the Vegetable Soup served at the Dixie Stampede and mine. With the addition of the potatoes, it makes the soup thick and creamy. Now I'm off to duplicate their chicken.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 15, 2004

      This was really good and tasty. I thickened up the liquid a bit just because we like it that way. Very homey taste and quite delicious. So simple to make, too. I'll be making this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 14, 2004

      I wasn't happy with the texture, the veggie pieces stayed in the bottom and the soup wasn't as creamy as it should have been. Any suggestions?

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 20, 2003

      This soup is great, and very easy to make. We just got back from the Stampede and really enjoyed it greatly and loved the soup. So I was very happy to find the recipe for it. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 16, 2003

      very good soup. Thanks so much for posting. Works really good for my 9 month old who doesn't have teeth, but wants table food, I know she is getting the veggies she needs. Only thing I did different was to cook my veggies together and I used 4 heaping tbls. of flour at the end to thicken! Keeper!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 10, 2002

      my kids love to go to the dixie stampede just for this soup, and i tried this tonight and it was perfect my 12 year old son just about died. thank you, thank you, thank you!!!!!!!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Dixie Stampede's Cream of Vegetable Soup

    Serving Size: 1 (266 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 259.4
     
    Calories from Fat 208
    80%
    Total Fat 23.1 g
    35%
    Saturated Fat 14.0 g
    70%
    Cholesterol 81.5 mg
    27%
    Sodium 584.7 mg
    24%
    Total Carbohydrate 8.2 g
    2%
    Dietary Fiber 1.3 g
    5%
    Sugars 2.2 g
    8%
    Protein 5.7 g
    11%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes