Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Dixie Stampede Homestyle Cream of Vegetable Soup - Authentic Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Dixie Stampede Homestyle Cream of Vegetable Soup - Authentic

    Average Rating:

    40 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 40

    Sort by:

    • on February 24, 2010

      As I was cooking this and getting a really good look at the ingredients, I was thinking that it wasn't going to have enough flavor. I was so wrong. It was delicious. I did make a few changes, but nothing substantial. I used 1/2 of a medium onion and 2 cloves of garlic for the onion and garlic powders. I also used 2 cups of chicken broth instead of splitting it up between broth and water. I wanted to use up my heavy cream so I used 1 cup of heavy cream and 1 cup of half-and-half. I left out the corn syrup because we didn't have any. My veggies were fresh carrots and potatoes, finely diced, and cooked for awhile in the broth before adding the creams. Finally I did take out a bit of the broth/cream mixture and mix 1 tablespoon of cornstarch with it then added it back to the soup to thicken it up. I just can't tell you how pleased we were with the final product. This is definitely a keeper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 17, 2009

      I am enjoying this soup now and it is wonderful! I followed the recipe and started with a roux and it turned out just the same as at the Dixie Stampede. The only thing I did do was my husband said he wanted it thicker so I added some potato flakes and he LOVED IT!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 04, 2014

      I have never been to Dixie Stampede, but upon finding this recipe and reading all the reviews, I had to try it. 3 out of 4 adult family members loved this recipe. I served with the Dixie Stampede garlic-cheddar biscuits. In my opinion, the soup itself had a wonderful stand alone flavor. The garlic biscuits were too much (and we like garlic) I felt the biscuits took away from the soup. I will definitely make this soup again, and I might even make the biscuits to go with it, but they will be cheddar as I will omit the garlic. Wonderful soup... thanks for sharing:) For the record, I used Veg-All and followed the recipe exactly.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 25, 2013

      Giving 5 stars because I used home made stock and whole milk as liquid. I omitted water. <br/>it was a four star flavor for us. We enjoyed it. I gave the option of adding chicken meat from the stock pot to use as garnish.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 02, 2012

    • on August 06, 2012

      I don't know what I did wrong when I made this recipe, but it did not taste anything like I thought it would. I am going to try it again next time with Veg all. This time I used frozen veggies and cooked them first.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 10, 2011

      GREAT recipe!! i did need to add 4 teaspoons of corn starch to thicken it up, and a couple extra tablespoons of flour. absolutely delicious though!! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 09, 2010

    • on January 11, 2010

      DH and I LOVE this soup! I didnt have white pepper so I just used regular black pepper. This was very easy to make and its delicious. DH and I both hate vegetables but love this soup, you can't even tell it has veggies in it. Thanks for posting i'll definitely be making this one again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 07, 2010

      This is the ONLY receipe I use now for this soup! It is amazing and yummy to no end. My kids and I are NOT a veggie soup perple, but we all love this soup. If you didn't make it, you wouldn't know it was veggies in it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 29, 2009

      Oh my! I am dining alone tonight so I thought I would give this recipe a go. This was so yummy! I used carrots, asparagus and diced potato in my soup. I took my sweet time with the roux so it was nice and white. I followed the recipe as written and it was wonderful. I then added a little more white pepper and it was AWESOME. DH will get the leftovers in his lunch tomorrow. Thank you Dove! ;) UPDATE: I packed up the leftover soup for DH's lunch yesterday and he called and said it was good - VERY good, nice and creamy and wants it in the lunch box rotation! Thanks again Dove. 8) UPDATE: I pureed the soup with my whiz stick and we just loved it. UPDATE NOVEMBER 29, '09 - I seem to be making this soup or variations of it twice a month. I made it with home-made chicken stock last week and it was soooo good!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 07, 2009

      PERFECT!! I tweaked very little bit on this recipe but perfect!! Finally I can have this soup anytime I want. THANKS for POSTING

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 29, 2009

      I just made this soup & it was delicious! I followed the recipe exactly & I think it turned out great. I used frozen mixed vegetables but the next time, I will use the entire bag & not just 3/4 cup. My family is thrilled because we loved the Dixie Stampede soup but the one in Orlando closed. I ordered the soup mix online from the Dixie Stampede website but it was VERY EXPENSIVE! ($30 including shipping for 3 batches). It was good but I'm so happy to have a recipe I can make myself for a fraction of the cost now!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 29, 2009

      This is GREAT! I tried it and yes, it is the same stuff, thanks for this information, it really did help me, now I can have my Dixie Stampede Soup.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 28, 2009

      I tried this recipe and it came out nothing like intended. I made it with potatoes and carrots as the veggies, whipping cream for extra creaminess, and even made a roux like noted. It turned out horrible - too bad to eat. And the smell...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 18, 2009

      Tasted pretty good! I think it was a bit too onion-y, but that's my only complaint! I had to add a bit more salt, probably because of the chicken broth I used. Served it with cheddar biscuits and roasted chicken! Everybody...STAMPEDE!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 13, 2009

      The taste was pretty good! I doubled the recipe and used 2 cans of mixed veggies and I think next time I will use 3 or even 4. It seemed to taste too creamy for me, but I think more veggies would do it. I put the veggies in the blender for a few pulses before adding them. I also needed to thicken it-I used cornstarch/water. Thank you for sharing it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 02, 2009

      Thanks for sharing this recipe. It is quite simple to make. It is especially good with butter crackers, like Ritz or Club. Just like someone else mentioned, I, too, added more corn syrup. If you like the Dixie Stampede's soup, I suggest you give this recipe a try.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 30, 2009

      I absolutely loved this soup. And SO easy!! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 19, 2009

      This turned out excellent. I am very glad that you updated with a helpful hint about the roux. I did not add anything except an extra pinch of pepper, onion powder, and garlic poweder ( again just a pinch). It turned out very creamy. I, too, used heavy cream which made it ultra rich. I did not need to add anything to make it thicken up, I was just patient and it did it. I am serving this tonight with the other Dixie Stampede menu items for my fiance birthday. Thank you for posting this recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Dixie Stampede Homestyle Cream of Vegetable Soup - Authentic

    Serving Size: 1 (261 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 264.5
     
    Calories from Fat 203
    76%
    Total Fat 22.5 g
    34%
    Saturated Fat 10.4 g
    52%
    Cholesterol 44.4 mg
    14%
    Sodium 536.2 mg
    22%
    Total Carbohydrate 11.4 g
    3%
    Dietary Fiber 0.2 g
    1%
    Sugars 0.7 g
    2%
    Protein 4.9 g
    9%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    vegetables

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites