Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Dixie Corn Bread Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Dixie Corn Bread

    Average Rating:

    10 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-10 of 10

    Sort by:

    • on January 02, 2011

      Delicious corn bread, just the way it's supposed to be, with corn meal the main ingredient, not flour like so many on here seem to be. I made a pot of Hoppin' John and then this recipe into muffins and it was the best dinner. Only change I made was I added a tbsp of maple syrup for a just a hint of sweetness and because I love maple with corn bread :). Thanks for the awesome recipe Chef Caro!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 29, 2009

      Oh my, this is like a little piece of heaven!! I've never made corn bread this way before but I'm never going back to the old standby! Thank you for sharing : )

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 29, 2013

      This recipe made a delicious corn bread with a denser texture as old timey corn bread used to be . I made it with Quaker corn meal as I always have it on hand for use as a coating for fish or corn meal mush. I sprayed the skillet with baking spray, added a teaspoon of melted bacon grease to the skillet, poured in the batter, and baked it at 425 degrees. I don't know that I will always use the bacon grease because spraying the pan is all that is actually needed, but bacon helps with the flavor. The recipe is southern corn bread as it requires no sugar and needs no sugar. Thanks for sharing. This is a keeper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 23, 2013

      Very good! We happened to have a lot of cornmeal in the house so I used that instead of a pre-mix. Had to add about 1/4 C more cornmeal to get texture right. Also made the buttermilk from scratch using apple cider because I was out of white vinegar-and then my fiancee didn't know I had already added the vinegar, he added juice from a hand squeezed lemon. I was very concerned about that but had to proceed anyway. <br/><br/>Because we like spicey stuff, I added about 3 TBS of a gingery habanero sauce to the mix. <br/>Beyond delicous. Didn't even catch the heat of the habanero sauce! I topped it with some agave nector to give the top a nice sheen. Beyond awesome!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 18, 2012

      I have this recipe that is pretty much the same from my southern mother in law. Best MIL in the world. Bacon grease is the choice over shortening and the cornbread goes great with a fresh mess of pinto beans.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 07, 2010

      So good I'm going to get me a cast-iron skillet to make it even better.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 26, 2009

      Thank you! This is REAL corn bread just like my grandmother made it and my father grew up on. They were very poor so they usually made it without the buttermilk, which was added for special occasions. My grandmother and her generation died without ever writing down the recipe. I remembered it indistinctly and have looked for it ever since. This is it! THANK YOU!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 27, 2009

      This was heavier than I expected, but tasted pretty good. I did add 1 tablespoon of sugar as we like a little sweeter cornbread.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 13, 2009

      came out great i did not change any thing

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 01, 2009

      If you like cornbread, you'll love this recipe. Easy to make & delicious outcome. I had to go to 5 shops to find buttermilk (not a common ingredient in the UK!) which seems to be just very thin yogurt. I wonder if diluting yogurt with some milk would produce a good substitute?

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Dixie Corn Bread

    Serving Size: 1 (97 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 206.3
     
    Calories from Fat 62
    30%
    Total Fat 6.9 g
    10%
    Saturated Fat 2.1 g
    10%
    Cholesterol 34.2 mg
    11%
    Sodium 705.6 mg
    29%
    Total Carbohydrate 30.2 g
    10%
    Dietary Fiber 2.3 g
    9%
    Sugars 4.1 g
    16%
    Protein 6.6 g
    13%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites